Fiction logo

The Evolution of Man

Man and Machine, what are the differences?

By Ronin MatthewsPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

In 2000, I was born a fresh, healthy, white cisgender man. I grew up in a loving family, with a mother and father, 2 sisters, and an older brother with a house, a dog, and a white picket fence.

In 2010, I had my feet run over by a car and had to get metal rob installed into my legs. It was a painful procedure, but I recovered. Got to run around attend school and love being a kid.

2020: After serving in the military, my left arm was blown off by a Grenade; I had to get a cybernetic arm installed. It felt wired but recovered. Got to go on a date and have my first kiss.

In the year 2025: I was suffering from chronic kidney failure; I Had to get my kidney replaced; while I couldn’t drink alcohol or caffeine anymore, I recovered. At least i got to see Yellowstone National Park.

In the year 2030: I suffered a Serve Heart Attack, had to get my heart replaced, and could no longer feel my heartbeat, but I recovered. All i do now is lie in bed and watch Netflix.

The year 2035: The years of smoking had taken their toll, I had to get my lungs replaced and could no longer breathe fresh air, but I recovered. Can Run 10Km and never have to take a breath again.

The year 2040: My lower intestines began to shut down. I had to replace my entire lower intestines with machines. I could no longer take a crap without devices, but I recovered. Wish i could wash away my sorrows with a glass of brandy.

The year 2045: My legs have stopped working, I had to replace both my legs with cybernetic legs, can no longer enjoy a walk in the park, but I recovered. Guess shoes don't matter anymore, people never look at me in a good way, anymore, anyway.

The year 2050: My entire skeletal system has rotted and decayed; I had to replace my complete skeleton with metal. It hurts, but I recovered. can't even bend my arms anymore.

In 2055, my nervous system shut down; I had to replace it with wires. Can I no longer feel the cold or anything, but I recovered. pain feels like nothing, boy, what i would kill to feel the cold air on my face.

The year 2060: My right arm had to be replaced, and I installed cybernetics; I recovered. No more flesh arms, picking up spoons is a real hassle now.

The year 2066: My skin has decayed; I replaced it with metal and recovered. What have i become?

The year 2070: My Tongue and Teeth have decayed, can no longer taste; I recovered. The taste of a good steak means nothing to me anymore, it tastes like matter and nothing else.

The year 2075: My eyes, I am blind, replaced, recovered. All i see are pixelated images, may as well live in a phone.

The year 2080: Bye, Bye, nose, and the ability to smell. Nothing, not even the smell of roses or the aroma of lavinda

The year 2085: Sorry, can’t hear yea, ears are gone, replaced, recovered. I only hear the empty void.

The year 2090: My entire body is metal; thank God my brain is still healthy, until dementia hits and then i have lost my humanity.

The year 2095: THERE IS NO GOD!!!!!. Define dreams? what are imaginations? memories are just data now and nothing more.

The year 2030: 0101010101001010101000101010100101001010010100100101010010100101001. Unit 1171609, all systems are functional, systems operating at 100 percent capacity, reporting for work.

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.