Fiction logo

The End Of The World As I Know It

My Fallen Angel

By Jasmine HarrisPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
The End Of The World As I Know It
Photo by JOHN TOWNER on Unsplash

Opening my apartment door, I stared blankly inside. Slowly I closed the door, took five deep breaths, and closed it again. I walked in not knowing what to expect. Only the darkness flooded my senses. All I wanted to do was go to sleep. As I laid down in bed, I could see a dark figure in the corner of my room. Casually he approached my bed. Calmly he placed himself down on the edge of my bed. There are only 2 things I could see in the dark. The outline of his body and his eyes. His eyes were so unusual and mesmerizing. They were deep purple and glowed like embers. Staring deeply into my soul. It's almost as if he knows I'm watching. Gradually he inched closer till he was only a couple of inches away. I could not move because of fear. Gradually he shut his eyes as he put one hand to my face. As he gently stroked my I drifted off into a dreamless sleep.

As I woke, I could tell that something was off. Everything seemed different. It was as if someone changed the way the world worked. The sky was unusually dark, even though it was almost 10 am. The sun still wasn't visible. The sky was simply dark. There were no stars, and the moon was gone. That wasn’t the weirdest part though. The weirdest part was how quiet it was. There was no panic. There was absolutely no sound. It was dead silent. Were no alarms. It was as if everyone and everything in the world ceased to exist.

I needed to find the dark figure. He had to be behind this. It couldn’t just be a coincidence that this happened right after he appeared. What was he? What did he want? I needed answers to all my questions. He was the key. It didn’t take long for me to find him. He wasn’t exactly trying to hide. I saw him again that night. He was lurking in the corner of my room. He didn’t seem to care that I could see him. It was as if he was just as curious about me as I was of him.

I wasn’t quite sure what to think of him. He had an aura of danger around him, but I wasn’t frightened. Although I probably should have been. He would be the death of me, I was sure of it. It wasn’t that I was in love with him; I just wanted to know why he was there. What was his purpose? Was he there to bring about the end of the world?

Merely hours after the worldwide blackout everything went back to normal. It was as if nothing had happened. In the 2 days that he spent with me, he never spoke a single word. He simply followed me around like a dog whose owner just came back from war. He always wore a hooded cloak as if he were death in a physical form. No one seemed to notice this massive, hooded figure following me. Almost as if he were invisible to everyone except for me.

My curiosity finally got the better of me. I just had to know who or what he was. I needed to know why he was following me. What did he want with me? This was it. It was now or never. As I was heading towards the park near my house I came to a sudden halt. As quick as I could I turned on my heel. I asked the first thing that came to mind. “Who are you and what do you want?” He paused for a brief moment before responding. Finally, after what seemed like ages he responded with. “It’s time to come home, my child. It’s time you took your place as my heir on the throne as ruler of hell.” And with that, he walked around the corner and disappeared. Before I could even breathe, I was plummeting straight down into the bowels of hell

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.