Fiction logo

The Elixir of Angela

Angela has an intoxicating elixir. Everyone longs to be with her. And they are willing to compete with one another… just for a chance… to be with her.

By Stephen Kramer AvitabilePublished 12 months ago 4 min read
13
The Elixir of Angela
Photo by Patrick Tomasso on Unsplash

Angela has an intoxicating elixir. Everyone longs to be with her. And they are willing to compete with one another… just for a chance… to be with her.

**************

This story was originally published on Medium.

**************

There she is! In all her beauty, she stands just before me. I am frozen.

The light falls just on her face. She looks like an angel. Or what I imagine an angel to look like. Admittedly, I’m not too well-traveled. I don’t get out much. I may not be the best to ask if you want a description of an angel.

But Angela, she may be the perfect description of an angel. And her name, it has the word ‘angel’ in it. It’s perfect.

She’s perfect.

She just better not make me mad.

Pick me, Angela! Pick me! Please!

She scrunches her nose up and squints her eyes the way she does when she is deep in thought. She looks to me… then she looks to my right. Looking farther to my right. Considering all her options.

Oh please, Angela. You haven’t chosen me in many days now. In fact, I’ve been keeping count. It’ll be four weeks tomorrow. She looks to the others to my right… I despise them. Angela has chosen to be with them far more often than she has chosen to be with me as of late.

Look Angela, I don’t even care if you are with the others as well. Just also be with me! I won’t judge! Just to be wrapped around your arms once more, to feel your chest, to be pressed against you. Whether you wear a shirt or not, I long to touch your skin, I long to touch the cloth that touches your skin. What is that? A cotton polyester blend? It looks absolutely luscious. Please allow me to snuggle up to that. To you.

It’s a lovely gray color, I’d match well with it.

Angela extends her arm towards one of the others, touching the others, testing them out. I am jealous. She is not even touching me. These others, ooh boy, don’t get me started. I don’t want to make it something where it’s about color… but it is about color… isn’t it?

Angela chooses to be with them more often than me… because of color.

Angela, this is a dark side to you. I’d say it is an ugly side to you but nothing about you is ugly.

Come on, Angela! Earth tones are in! Choose me! Your favorite green buddy!

Angela lurches forward with both her hands out, latching her hands onto Red… that ungrateful bastard.

She pulls him off the hanger, throws him on her back, sticks her arms through his, buttons him up halfway, and spins to look at herself in the mirror. Red? Really? He so does not go with gray.

I, on the other hand, would look beautiful on you right now.

Angela nods in approval at her own reflection. She is content with Red. Angela has become bold in her jacket choices lately. She is wearing Red often… Blue… Purple… even Orange. I know. It sickens me. Orange.

Angela wants vibrant colors. She no longer desires muted colors.

Angela shuts the closet door, leaving me in the dark with these other ingrates. They smell of her. I do not. I am jealous.

Tomorrow is another day. It will have been four weeks. Maybe Angela will remember our anniversary. Maybe Angela will go for her lovely greeny once more.

What is tomorrow?

May?

Oh no, my season is almost to a close. I don’t have too many chances to be with Angela again, to be able to wrap my arms around hers, feel the cool steel of my buttons on her stomach, her chest…

The memory is almost fading. I need one more hit of you, Angela. One more hit before summer. Give me the sweet elixir of you, Angela… once more… give me one more memory to cling to while I wait out another summer alone in this dark closet… without you… only with my competition.

One more hit, Angela. Please. I need it.

I am nothing without you. Alone, I am just a garment.

With you, I am FASHION.

**************

If you enjoyed this story and want to read more of my work, then please come check out my website where I post all my latest work, plus you can even subscribe for updates!

Short StoryHumor
13

About the Creator

Stephen Kramer Avitabile

I'm a creative writer in the way that I write. I hold the pen in this unique and creative way you've never seen. The content which I write... well, it's still to be determined if that's any good.

https://www.stephenavitabilewriting.com/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran12 months ago

    Not a fan of Green but I agree with him, he matches Gray better than Red. But Red is my favourite colour so I'm with Angela on this one. Though I do feel sorry for Green. And Orange sickens me too, lol! Fantastic story!

  • Jazmin Fernandez12 months ago

    I enjoyed the story :)

  • This is beautifully written and I lived through each line. Fascinating how I've written something similar with the title Ambrosia.

  • Naomi Gold12 months ago

    Aww, I would’ve chosen green. Earth tones are my favorite.

  • You hit all the right notes with this. Here I am, thinking we're in some reverse "Handmaid's Tale" universe, & it turns out to be a jacket. The last line..., priceless!

  • Lamar Wiggins12 months ago

    That was cool, the ending was perfect! 💖

  • Nice❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.