Fiction logo

The door is actually open

The door was closed and silent all around. I wandered outside the door for a long time and finally went up to it.

By AliceParsonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
The door is actually open
Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

The door was closed and silent all around. I wandered outside the door for a long time and finally went up to it.

It was close to midnight, the door to her room was closed, the sound of breathing inside the door came to my ears, and I was indecisive. Tomorrow is her birthday, in the end, should not give her this gift in her hand?

Her name is X, four years younger than me. Since my stepmother moved into my house she has become part of our family. With two more people in the family, Dad's face was always full of happy smiles, while my heart gradually lost its warmth with the arrival of X and my stepmother.

The care and love that my father used to give me had been reduced by half. I began to hate the stepmother and her daughter X. It was the two of them that took away my father's love for me and made me lose my original position in the family. The stepmother is a stepmother, who only knows how to please dad, but does not care about me. This also made me miss my mom even more and the love my mom and dad used to have for me. It was as if I had lost the family and had become an outsider who interfered with their happy lives.

Every time there was something delicious and fun in the house, my stepmother would take it to X, and only after she was tired of eating and playing did I get my share. Whenever that happens, I run back to my room, close the door heavily, and quietly reminisce about the warmth of the old home.

I hated X as much as I hated her mother. I vowed never to return to this home when I grew up. This home was no longer mine with them, but that day, my birthday...

When I walked into the house without looking up, X called me "sister" affectionately, and I wasn't half happy to hear this shout, I just felt sick: "I'm not your sister, don't call me that! "X was frightened by my voice and went to the sofa to continue watching her cartoons.

I still closed the door of the room heavily, venting my displeasure. When my tired eyes fell on the desk, I found a small square box with a small card on it, crookedly written: "Sister, don't be unhappy all the time, smile more, you will be more beautiful oh! Happy birthday to you! "I curiously opened the small box, inside a purple apple, crystal transparent, shining with dazzling light...

Suddenly, I felt that I was wrong to impose my fault on X for my stepmother, who was still just a child, an innocent child. Even though my stepmother treated me badly, what's wrong with X?

Tomorrow is X's birthday, I prepared a gift, is a beautiful music box. But when I was about to push open the door to her room, my heart was worried, I used to treat her like an enemy, with cold eyes all day, but she knows how to accept me with a forgiving heart at a young age, her heart is not as pure as the crystal apple? I'm not qualified to be her sister, will she forgive me for my previous mistakes?

After wandering for a long time, I finally pushed open the door to her room and placed the music box gently on her bedside; looking at her sweet appearance in her sleep, I felt as if I had a glimpse of her innocence and kindness.

The door was open, and if I had pushed it open earlier, the light would have shone into my heart sooner. Although my father's love for me is less, I have more love from my sister, and I understand that giving half of my father's to X is a kind of happiness

The door is open, if you know how to take the initiative to push it open, you will find that there is a world full of love inside.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

AliceParson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.