Fiction logo

The Dinner

Always Room for Dessert

By Karli LawPublished 3 years ago 11 min read
Like
The Dinner
Photo by Stephanie McCabe on Unsplash

It only happened every few years, a gathering, a party, always formal. This was a special occasion! Julianne had always loved hosting her friends, after all they were always her friends, never her husbands. She had become quite the professional in the kitchen, using her always creative mind to whip up delicious delicacies.

Her second hand man, Gary, would show up the day of to give her a hand, let's just say he was a 'close friend.' Well lover to be exact but details didn't matter there. Julianne wasn't the beauty she appeared to be, she had her dark secrets that only few were privy too. While she adopted many a disguise in her life, this was the life she had a hard time leaving after all was said and done. Her now deceased husband had left everything to her, how was she supposed to leave all of it behind?

"Jules, I'm here, what can I assist you with?" Always ready to lend a hand, his dark locks fell into his eyes as he gazed upon the countertops full of food items ready to be prepped.

"Well, I just finished baking the cake so I need to let that cool enough to frost, we need to get started on appetizers and I need to prep the shank." Julianne's own dark hair was pulled into a tight bun on her head, her apron adorned as she threw one Gary's direction. "Let's get going." Her smirk evident as she flirted with her beau.

Things progressed quickly as they worked as a team, while this particular party only happened every few years. They work as if they worked in a kitchen every day of their lives, the well oiled machine they had become since their 20's. Their tastes becoming more refined as they got into their 40's, knowing things were going to start to slow down but that there was a whole new generation of participants waiting in the wings. Julianne knew she had to prove herself to the group, as some of the 'older ones,' her and Gary had always made the most beautiful spread.

The morning went by faster than they would have liked and it was well into afternoon when they finally finished the tiny appetizers and side dishes. Leaving the meat last that will be cooked shortly before guests arrive.

"I still don't see why you can't hire help for the serving part of it, everyone else does when they host." Gary shook his head as his arms wrapped around his lover as he watched her work from over her shoulder.

"You know how controlling I am about my spread, let me have this." She turned in his hold and gave him a quick kiss.

"You have got to be the most controlling person out of everyone I know," he smiled as she smirked devilishly.

"You wouldn't have me any other way would you? Plus I think we've got a special guest tonight. News came to me that there would be someone not from our regular crowd, I admit that I am a little nervous." She sighed knowing this wasn't the best time to be hosting a party so close to her late husbands death, it might raise suspicion.

"Rachel is stupid for dating that man, I don't know what she sees in him, he's crude and obviously has different tastes than the rest of us." Gary let her go as they exchanged, giving her a quick peck on her forehead, "I love you no matter what happens."

Julianne nodded and let out a heavy sigh.

"Let's get ready."

By Huy Nguyen on Unsplash

Katherine and Victor were the first to arrive, both classy as always. Katherine's red coils that usually framed her face were pulled into a messy bun, her white gown grazed just above her knee, the black lace embroidery making the whole ensemble pop. Victor, always wearing his little smirk, knowing he was with the most beautiful woman at the party, matching his wife, white tux with black trim.

"You are awfully brave to wear white," Julianne joked with the couple, "you know what I have for dessert."

"You ought to know by now I am not going to let a piece of chocolate cake deter my wearing white on this occasion." Katherine smiled as she hugged her friend. Both Katherine and Victor worked at the hospital, her being an Oncologist...Victor being one of the nurses in the department. They were a scandal at first!

"Please make yourselves at home, there are some drinks at the bar," Julianne smiled and gestured towards the study where the bar was kept.

"Jules!" She heard the shriek of a younger woman coming up her steps, "Oh my God I feel like it's been forever!" Crysta, the younger blonde woman was newer to the group but she fit right it. This was only her second gathering, her partner, Jessie brought her to the last one and she adapted quite nicely with the rest of them. Jessie and Crysta were 12 years apart but it didn't seem to bother either of them. Jessie always had a thing for pretty young things, let's just say she was somewhat of a sugar momma. She had the money and loved to spend it on whatever the young women wanted.

"It's been 3 years, Crys." Julianne gave the young woman a hug as she welcomed both women into her home. "Hello Jessie, long time." She smiled slyly at her old roommate, "I see she keeps you on your toes."

"I've got too with this one, she is so excitable and that's exciting for me. You know my weakness." She smiled at her sociable blonde girlfriend before continuing, "I heard Rachel has a new guy?" She sneered.

"Don't remind me, I guess he's an outsider so I'm praying this all works out in the end." Julianne was nervous to say the least, this would be a first that someone showed up without at least some knowledge of how the evening progresses.

"We can always--" Jessie started.

"Let's not worry about it this moment," Gary slid in at the perfect moment to stop the deviousness that was developing right in the door way. "How about a drink ladies?" Gary took the women to the bar to meet up with Katherine and Victor, Julianne watching the door as she saw the last car roll into the drive. Rachel and Samuel.

A lump formed in her throat as she watched them exit the car, her face stoic as Rachel smiled at her. A tight lipped smile graced her face as she met the couple at the door, "hello dear, how are you?"

"Heya Jules, sorry you know I usually give a warning about a new guest but I kinda wanted this one to be a surprise." The woman eyed Julianne carefully, "this is Samuel."

"Good evening, it's a pleasure," Samuel stuck out his hand and Julianne could not refuse a hand shake, carefully eyeing the man up and down, "Rach tells me you are the best cook out of all her friends."

"So I've been told, but it's probably just my controlling nature." She laughed at her own joke, "welcome to my home, there are drinks in the study, I will be finishing up in the kitchen." Julianne walked the couple into the house closing the door behind everyone and gesturing towards the study where the rest of the party was gathered. "My partner in crime, Gary, should be in there pouring out some drinks, I will be with you all shortly."

Julianne excused herself to the kitchen as she gathered her thoughts, she knew exactly who Samuel was and that made this dinner party so much more dangerous. She pulled the cake from the refrigerator, grabbing the bowl of homemade frosting from the counter as she set to work on frosting the rich delicacy that was the talk at all her parties. She could hear laughter as she worked the spatula around the edges of the cake, inhaling the smell of chocolate and spices, mesmerized by the way it smoothed around the curves of the tasty dessert.

Smiling to herself as she finished a job well done, maybe this won't be as bad as I think it will be, maybe we'll have another party sooner than expected.

By Taylor Kiser on Unsplash

"Wow, Rachel was right, you are an amazing chef! I have never had a meal so rich in my life. Tell me you went to culinary school." Samuel had a slight buzz, a full belly and a jolly smile.

"Oh no, I just read a lot and do a lot of research in my free time," Julianne smirked, "it's all about knowing your product, from where and how your vegetables are grown to how the meat is raised and fed." The other guests giggled at her comment as they all sipped their wine.

"Ah a woman with expensive tastes," Samuel nodded, "speaking of expensive tastes...your late husband?"

Julianne swallowed that damned lump that had been in her throat as the table grew quiet, "yes he was older, I won't deny that I married for his wealth, we were truly happy. I gave him what he wanted and vice versa."

"So you didn't kill him?" You could hear a pin drop as Julianne's next words were carefully selected, this wasn't her first ever inquisition.

"Oh Samuel," Julianne sighed as the rest of the table watched the exchange carefully, "why would I have to kill a man who was knocking on deaths door? It was only a matter of time." There was a long pause as everyone eyed one another, not really knowing the next move, "how about dessert everyone? I know you all are anxious, I daresay this will be the best one you've ever tasted."

Julianne rose from her seat as she made her way back to the kitchen, Gary following suit.

"This is a disaster, we've got to do it Jules." Gary was a mess, this whole evening was a cluster, there wasn't the usual banter or flirting with one another. Everyone was on edge and annoyed at Rachel for bringing someone that didn't fit in.

"I know," she snapped quickly, "at least let him have a piece of cake first." She smiled at her love as she took the cake to the dining room, "grab the plates would you dear?"

As Julianne entered the dining room a small round of applause was given as she put her famous chocolate cake in the center for everyone to gawk at. The smell was intoxicating, as well as aesthetically pleasing.

"It gets more impressive every time Jules!" Katherine gave her friend a smile as her eyes glistened with excitement.

"So, Sam--can I call you Sam? How long have you been a detective?" Julianne was brave, the wine surely giving her some courage, the table quieted again as she reached for the knife.

"Going on 4 years now," the retort was quick as Julianne knew how the rest of the evening was going to play out. She nodded in response.

"Am I under investigation for the death of my husband?" The knife dipped into the cake, slicing very precisely, her eyes glazing over at all the thoughts that were invading her mind.

"No ma'am," he was firm in his stance.

"Why do I get the feeling that that is not entirely true?" She raised her brow as she plated the slice of cake, letting Gary place it before him, "we wait for everyone to have a slice before we eat."

"Jules--" Rachel's voice was wavering as she watched Julianne with the knife in the cake.

"Hush now Rachel, I'm just trying to get to know your new friend." She smiled at Samuel again before sitting down and giving a small toast, "well thank you again for coming to dinner, this wouldn't be possible without my late husband. May he rest peacefully now." She toasted her glass and with a chorus of, "may he rest in peace."

Silence filled the room as forks met cake--

"Wow," Crysta was the first to speak, "I--I--this is the best," she sighed in contentment as the rich flavors invaded her mouth, moaning at the wonderful taste, her primal moans drawing attention of Jessie who laughed at her excitement.

"Jules, I just don't know how you always seem to make this work. Tell me what did you use this time? Your secret ingredient?" Katherine, always wanting to know the secrets.

"His liver of course, the iron rich organ pairs well with the rich chocolate, and of course with the wine." She smiled at Samuel who paused, looking at the piece on his fork, before meeting her eyes again this time with a devilish look upon her face.

"Jules!" Rachel screamed, looking at Samuel obviously still in shock, his eyes darting around the table, to the left over spread that was still upon it. She said shank, but not beef, lamb, or pork...all she said was shank...

"You made the mistake my dear, of bringing someone to the party without them knowing or doing your research on who they truly were." Julianne, ever the calm one, the patient, "Gary."

In a swift move Gary jumped from his seat grabbing the detective's head and snapping his neck in a quick move. Samuel's body a lifeless heap on the floor.

"Guess we'll be having another dinner party sooner than we expected." All but Rachel was having a laugh at the woman's expense, they all knew the rules, no outsiders. Screenings must be done far in advance. "Let us know if you need help prepping Rachel, this is your mess, you can clean it up." Julianne finished the rest of her wine in a single swig.

"Jules, this cake is divine, you've got to show me how you do it."

By Kelsey Knight on Unsplash

Mystery
Like

About the Creator

Karli Law

Jack of all trades, know-it-all, call me what you will I prefer to have a little knowledge on all things relatable...or not relatable. I like to call them my Eclectic Adventures! FYI: my music playlists look very much the same.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.