Fiction logo

The devil has a pretty face.

A short story.

By Deborah RobinsonPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
5
The devil has a pretty face.
Photo by Branimir Balogović on Unsplash

''Did you know that the calories don't count if you eat the cake really quickly?'' I smiled as I wolfed down the deliciously rich chocolate cake I had just purchased with my coffee. After a morning spinning class, I thought I deserved a little indulgence.

The coffee shop was just beginning to get busier, and there was a nice, sociable buzz about the place. Jo and I had picked our favourite spot right next to a window, overlooking the high street.

''So tell me about this new job,'' I said as I licked a crumb from the corner of my mouth. ''Is it everything you dreamed it would be?''

''Er, well, Kate, it's just a temporary office job. You know I'm just doing it for the money. Single mothers just do what they have to do.''

I studied Jo as she delicately sipped her capuccino. Her eyes glanced around the cafe, and I could see sadness there. The father of her beautiful daughter, Lucy, had ditched as soon as he found out Jo was pregnant. Lucy was now nine and a wonderful product of her mother's hard work. She was becoming quite passionate about the world around her, glued to wildlife programmes and recently announced she wanted to be a vegan. Jo supported her, and Lucy's good habits were rubbing off on her mother.

''I know,'' I replied, ''But it's good you're getting back out there. I know how bad your anxiety has been. You should be proud, and who knows where it might lead to.''

I cautiously watched Kate to see how she'd respond. She was quiet, and didn't like to talk about her mental breakdown three years ago. She had come a long way since then, getting medical treatment and professional counselling to deal with unresolved childhood trauma.

A beep announced a notification from Jo's phone. She quickly swiped the screen, and I saw a small smile form on her pale face.

''Sorry, Kate. Do you mind if I just respond?''

I watched as Jo continued to smile. Her eyes lit up as she quickly typed in a response to whoever was changing her mood.

''Ok, who was that, and why are you smiling?'' I couldn't help asking. She looked up, and I could see the touch of a blush forming.

''Erm, no-one, really, just a colleague.''

''A colleague? Right, well none of my colleagues make me smile like that!'' I laughed, eye-balling her. I wanted answers!

''Honestly, Kate, it's nothing. We're just friends. Really. Who would want to date a single mother?''

I gasped, about to protest, but suddenly a figure loomed over our table. I could see shock and delight, mixed with embarrassment pass across Jo's face as she glanced at the tall, handsome male. I took in his suave features: the stylish hair cut, the trendy stubble, the casual, but expensive cut of his jeans and shirt, and I knew, just then, I knew that my lovely, vulnerable, self-conscious, beautiful friend was in trouble. I knew this man. I knew his past, and I also knew I was not going to let him slither his way into Jo's life. But I had to be careful. He was dangerous, and she was smitten.

''Oh, Adam.'' I deliberately exaggerated his name. ''Hi. I haven't seen you for a very long time.'' My false grin did nothing to betray the fire in my eyes. To say he hurt one of my close friends was a huge understatement.

''Kate! Lovely to see you again. How long has it been? Five years? Jo did mention you, but I didn't realise it was you she was talking about. Apparently you've been a huge support to her in all she has been through. And you're like an aunt to Lucy. Such a sweet child. She deserves a nice aunt in her life.'' There was menace in his tone. Subtle menace, but I knew this man much better than poor Jo.

He smirked. I could see challenge in his eyes. He was daring me to say something, and he knew I wouldn't just blurt out his disgusting past, here in the cafe, in front of my vulnerable friend. But he knew I would, as soon as I could get Jo away from here. He had also gotten awfully close to my friend, and he already knew too much about her. She had only been working at his office for two weeks.

Jo just stared at the table, her cheeks were burning, and every now and then she'd glance, in awe, at the creep who now had his arm drapped possessively over her shoulder. I could see why she was smitten. He was male model material on the outside, but I had seen the monster beneath that charming facade.

''Do you two know each other?'' Jo looked at us both, questions in her now sparkling eyes.

''Yes'', I said, before he could. ''We go way back, and as soon as Adam leaves, I'll tell you all about it.''

''Ah, that's the thing, Kate. Jo told me she was meeting a friend here, and I offered to come pick her up. We're off to book a holiday, actually. For the three of us. I'm sure you don't mind. I'm sure you want your friend to be happy.'' His pleasant tone didn't fool me.

''A holiday? Jo? Are you sure about this?'' This time I couldn't keep the alarm from my voice. ''Do you even have any holidays built up yet? You've only been there for two weeks, and you barely know this man!''

Jo gazed up at the monster beside her in complete infatuation. He smirked at me, daring me.

''Er, yes, Kate, Adam actually had a word with one of the managers, and he agreed to let me go for a week, and return to work again when we're home. Lucy is so excited, and so am I. I'm sure you're happy for me.''

My heart raced as adrenaline spiked my chest. I couldn't let her walk out of here with him. I felt powerless, and my voice rose, yet betrayed my fear as it wobbled.

''Ok, Jo, well, let me take you shopping to get a few things for your trip.''

''No, there's no need, Kate. Adam has offered to take me. Haven't you?'' She beamed at him in her shy way.

He clutched her arm possessively, but to her it would feel like protection. I knew different.

As she walked out of the cafe with Adam, I felt a lump form in my throat. I had to do something. I had to get to her before he did.

Short Story
5

About the Creator

Deborah Robinson

I'm new to the 'writing for real' scene. Previously, I've kept my poetry and writing under wraps in a fancy notebook, but now I've decided to give it a proper go!

I hope you enjoy my work.

Thanks, Deborah.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.