Fiction logo

The Dark Side of Fire

Part I. The Catalyst

By ImperfectlyPerfectPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 5 min read
Like

Prologue : Year 1987

Storm clouds brew in the dimly lit sky of HagerTown, and Miriam can scent the rain before the droplets begin to pore down upon her. She struggles to keep the thick cloth over her face and body, in hopes that she can pull off her male disguise. She knows that female dragons are not to be out alone at night without a male accomplice, but she can't risk anyone else in the village knowing her secret. Not even her own safety could deter her from this journey she's on. This is her last chance to save her boy, her half human boy. She runs at super speed throughout the forest, knowing that she's too close to the human village to dare fly. They would kill her on site. The boy in her arms begins to whine and move about, slipping through her wet fingers. She turns back to grab him and comes face to face with a human woman. "Sir, is this your boy?" she asks. "No, I found him". She gently rubs her talon against his cheek, and she takes off into the night. This moment is bittersweet, she knows she will never see sweet Kai again.

Chapter 1:

Rhea

There weren’t always dragons in the valley; we once hid in the mountains and in other densely populated areas. During the day we take our human form, but at night we freely roam in our animal skin. We are capable of surviving in either form despite the time of day, but the darkness of the night allows us to wander freely with the likelihood of exposure at a lesser rate. If exposed we have feared we would be used as either weapons for the government to fight wars we want nothing to do with, experiments for scientist who want to replicate our DNA, or we face the reality of becoming almost extinct yet again by those who fear what they can’t comprehend.

Not many people know of our existence, and those who did are mostly dead now, either due to age or by our hands. Nowadays, whispers of our existence only exist in fairytales or in campfire stories made to keep campers within a safe distance, but we are not a story. We are legends, warriors, and masters of fire. Despite what you’ve heard, we are real. Very real, and we are tired of hiding. We will no longer hide; we are not our forefathers. We are the new generation, and I am the new queen. We will fight if we must, but this is a battle the common person will not win. We aren’t taking any hostages, only creating casualties. Total domination comes with sacrifice, and for our domination, I'm willing to sacrifice everything. Including my love for him.

As I rest my wings in the middle of the grass, I repeat this storyline to myself over and over again. I feel as if repetition brings about clarity, which will then make me feel like I have made the right decision in betraying the man that I loved. The man that I still love. The first man I've ever really loved. He didn't say a word as I left him open mouthed, staring at me with watery eyes, pleading for me to tell him that I didn't play a part in the slaughter of his family. I couldn't, because it was me who orchestrated the whole thing. How did I get to this point? I don't even remember when the hatred started to eat at me and consume me. I feel his heated stare on my back, and I know he's here to subdue me. But I won't be subdued, I will kill him before I let him cage me.

Kai

I hold my breath, careful not to move even an inch, as I observe her fully in her element. The slightest movement of even the hair on my arms, will send a waft of my scent towards her. Her fiery red her, indicative of her hot nature, billows freely as she sprints through the forest. Her fluid yet controlled movements, show her agility as well as dominance over everything earthly. Even the most dangerous of animals reroute, when they sense what a threat she is. I've managed to keep a measured distance, but her heightened senses still might give me away. As she sits and stretches her arms, they turn into wings mid-stretch. Fully extended, they are as breath taking as the woman, and I find myself having an internal battle between both my hatred and love for her. I slowly lift the tranquilizer gun, prepared to put her down with enough sedative to incapacitate five grizzly bears. I aim and shoot, just as she turns towards me and takes flight. Eyes blazing red and headed straight for me.

Rhea

We aren't the monsters, they've painted us to be. You’ve all heard the legend of the princess being saved by the prince from the mean old dragon. That was us, the fiery creature on the prowl. The truth is, the princess was never in any grave danger. The prince was the dragon. A creature driven by his animalistic instinct to protect and guard his future queen from any and all possible threats, which included other potential suitors. It was said to have been love at first sight, something that started out as nothing more than a momentary glance. Which then turned into longing looks, and eventually a full out courtship. Unfortunately, the princess had no clue of his ancestry/existence and therefore wasn't privy to proper mating etiquette , so she triggered his protective instincts with her coquettish smirks towards many unattached men. Love is such a complicated thing, a catalyst for both the rise and fall of many empires. I keep this in mind ,as I take a deep breath, and unearth as much fire my body will allow. Hurling all of my wrath, towards the man the universe put here to sway me.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

ImperfectlyPerfect

My favorite well known saying: An amateur does it until they get it right, while a professional does it until they can't get it wrong. Don't work to get it right, work to not get it wrong!"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.