Fiction logo

The Dance

Happy Times

By Patrick BramerPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

The Dance

No need to be bummed out about this. I told Jackie that I was going to the game so that’s what I’m going to do. I left the parade even though there was more going on and went home to change for the game.

I got to the football field early just so I could get a good seat to watch Jackie cheerleading. I think I was literally the only person in the stands because no one other than the two football teams was there. Well, I definitely got a good seat. About 10 minutes passed and the cheerleaders came out to put all their stuff on the track (that surrounded the football field) for when they do their cheers. I walked up to the fencing that separated the stands from where the cheerleaders were and got Jackie’s attention. She came up to me and said in a jokingly fashion, “I didn’t think you would be here”. I told her that I didn’t come to watch the football team just her. She smiled and said she had to do her stretching to get ready so I went back up in the stands and sat down.

Jumping ahead to half-time, we were winning 40-0. It was turning out to be a blowout of a game. A person next to me said that the game should go quick in the second half because when a team has a lead of more than 35 points then the clock runs continuously. So, after the football players exited the field, some people were setting up chairs on the 50-yard line for the crowning of the King and Queen. As the lower-class nominees were announced they all stood behind the two chairs that were set on the 50-yard line. It was time to find out who this year’s King and Queen were. I scanned the field and didn’t see Tim so maybe he wasn’t going to be crowned as King. I just couldn’t imagine how that could even be but if he wasn’t that would have been awesome. But then the announcer said the name of the king and it was Tim. Just then when the name was announced Tim came out on the field still dressed in his football uniform. A crown was then placed on his head and he sat down in one of the chairs. The Queen was next to be announced. It was Jackie. I had mixed emotions. I was happy that she was crowned but mad because she is sitting next to Tim. After Jackie was crowned Tim got up and hugged her. I didn’t like that one bit. It seemed like he hugged her for a lifetime and it kind of looked like she was trying to get away from the hug but couldn’t.

After the crowning Jackie walked back to where the other cheerleaders were, I went up to the fence, got her attention, and asked if she was alright because she looked as if she was visibly upset. She nodded her head and turned around to talk to her cheerleader friends. We ended up winning the game with a score of 64-0 and I tried to get to Jackie before she got back to the school but I was not able to find her. Tim must have said something to her while he was hugging her on the field that upset her. If he didn’t have so many friends, I would have confronted him to tell him what a piece of……work he is, but even if someone had that courage, they wouldn’t have a chance to make it through the school year without being harassed. I decided I didn’t want that aggravation.

After pretty much everyone left the parking lot, I was able to drive my car up to Jackie’s to wait for her to come out. I finally saw her come out of the school with some of her friends and she was walking to her car. I got out of my car and I again asked if she was alright. She assured me everything was fine and that she was tired. I told her ok and that I would call her tomorrow. She got in her car and drove away. I really felt like a failure to try and comfort someone. I hope she wasn’t mad at me for not trying harder to make her feel better. I’ll find out more tomorrow.

Love
Like

About the Creator

Patrick Bramer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.