Fiction logo

The Crash

The beginning of my new life

By Shelbi ThomasPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
2
The Crash
Photo by Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

My chamber was comfortable, I have lost track of time I have been held here, but I have grown accustomed to it. I just float here in this chamber filled with some liquid that is preserving my body while listening to the rhythmic beating of the only form of music I have ever heard. In my curious days, I would outstretch my body to try and learn the shape of my surroundings; in my earliest memories, I could feel nothing, then I was able to grace my fingertips against a wall, and now I feel highly confined as I assume I am growing, soon to be too big from this prison if I do not find a way out. All my nutrition comes from a tube keeping my body alive, but for what? The darkness all around me prevents me from knowing the amount of time that has passed since I was put in this chamber; my memory before the chamber is non-existent; I don’t remember how or why I was put in here, but I am starting to accept the fact that this I will be inside this chamber for the rest of my existence if there ever will be an end.

When I was starting to give up hope of knowing anything other than this dark, liquid-filled chamber, the day finally came for me to escape. I heard a loud noise that startled me, sort of a giant crunching sound of something hard, and suddenly my chamber, my entire world, jerked forward, and my tube, the only thing keeping me alive, was ripped from the chamber. I started to feel the effects immediately. The music beat faster, and I felt my heart begin to race. I knew I would have to find a way to escape my prison or perish here. I twisted my body around, pressed myself against my chamber's walls, and started to push, hoping to break the barriers. I have no idea what I would do if I ever broke through the walls, but I already felt my body growing weak without the assistance of my survival tube, but I know I must push through the feeling of weakness and hopelessness if I am ever going to survive. I dig deep into myself to find all my remaining strength and give it one final push, and I succeed; I have broken through the walls of my chamber and fallen onto my back. I expect to feel some relief, but I still feel my body growing weaker; I must find a way out of this darkness.

I feel around my surrounding, trying to create a mental picture of where I might be; I feel a wall on both sides of me and discover that I am in a corridor with only one other way to travel. I feel my body growing weaker as I start to crawl the length of the hall, hoping that I will find refuge. Just as I was beginning to think that all hope was lost, I saw a faint light at the end of the tunnel, and the excitement and hope that filled my body gave me the strength to continue on my journey to the light.

I finally reached the end of the tunnel, and the light was blinding, but I pushed my way through. I take a deep inhale of the fresh air that my body has never felt before, and I start to feel the strength return. I finally opened my eyes; at first, the light of day I had never seen before was completely blinding, but my eyes soon adjusted. I see a face of a man much bigger than myself, and a part of me wants to fear this man, but another more significant part has fallen in love with this strange giant I have just met. His eyes were as dark as the chamber that had kept me captive for so long, with hair the color of the bright light in the sky that glistened in the light. He had a broad smile of pure joy and relief despite the cuts and bruising everywhere I could see. With the fresh air in my lungs, the light on my skin, and the beauty of the colors of this new world I had just discovered, I became overwhelmed and started crying. My tears became heavy, and I began to scream, not out of pain or fear, but out of joy that I had finally escaped my chamber and out of curiosity because I had never had a chance to use my voice.

As I looked around and saw bright, vivid, flashing colors of red and blue and more people rushing around, I became a little frightened, but that did not deter me. I continue to observe my surroundings as I see a woman being removed from a big, metallic object that had been crushed, possibly what I had heard while encased in what, just a few moments ago, I thought was going to be my tomb. I listen to sounds coming from the people around me, but I do not understand them. I am being handed to the woman with outstretched arms as she is being wheeled on a moving bed away into a larger, non-destructed version of the same metallic object that she was just previously taken out of, except this one is the source of the flashing red and blue lights. The color of it was white and blue, not the dirty mahogany of the smaller one. She looked at me and smiled; my first thought was to question her reason for being happy, as her clothes were stained a brown of dried blood while from her lower abdomen down, there was crimson everywhere from fresh blood still flowing, and I finally understood the reason for her pale, almost white appearance; however, once I looked into her eyes I finally understood the reason for her smile, the rich blue color was such a comfort to me, and I fell in love. She pulled me into her chest with a loving embrace, and that’s when I heard it; it was the same rhythmic beating that I had listened to my entire life in the chamber, and then suddenly, I did something I hadn’t done in my whole life, I relaxed.

Soon I was handed off back to the first man I would ever love as they collapsed the bed into the back of the giant intact metallic object while the man followed and sat in a seat next to the bed opposite the other male and female who was trying to tend to my woman as I felt the metallic object lurch forward as we started to move.

I continued with my thoughts that today was going to be one I will never forget. My horrible memories of that chamber were already starting to leave me. I decided that this day would need a name to commemorate the greatest achievement of my life. I looked up at the face of the first giant I ever saw and loved; he looked down on me to say, “happy birthday, little one, it will be one to remember.” And at that moment, I knew the proper name to call this day; this day shall be forever known as my birthday.

-------------------------------------

This is one of my earlier works. Sometimes it's nice to look back and see where you have come from and how much you have grown. Writing may still be new to me but I am excited to take this adventure.

Feel free to leave your thoughts and maybe check out some of my other work too.

Mystery
2

About the Creator

Shelbi Thomas

Caffeinated and Hyper-fixated

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    This was awesome! I never saw that coming. A very creative story

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.