Fiction logo

The Canopies Escape

Internal strength can be shared with others

By Blake LockhartPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Canopies Escape
Photo by Casey Horner on Unsplash

Kelley dusted his hands off, his nose bleeding and eyes watery. "You need to leave CJ," he said, staring into the space around him. A tear fell down his cheek and he wiped it off quickly. "Kelley, you were almost just killed! Please let me help you," I said, while stepping in front of him. He wouldn’t look at me, he kept his gaze forward into the night. "I know you don't think I'm strong enough, and I know you don't want me to get hurt, but if you keep trying to do this by yourself Kelley, you're going to die." My eyes filled with tears and I wiped them off quickly. I took a deep breath and added, "How would you protect us then?" He looked up to the sky and let out a deep breath. "Look. at. me." I stated firmly. He slowly turned his head and I looked into his gleaming Purple eyes. I grabbed his head and brought it to mine slowly until I felt his warm, sweaty head on mine. He gently placed his rough hands on mine, his breath becoming slower and slower. My head felt a sharp pain and my body began to throb, I felt like I had just gotten struck by lightning, "Breathe, CJ...breathe." he said softly as he held my hands tight. I began to breathe, but every breath left my lungs dryer. My left eye began to burn and I looked up quickly. My breathing slowed and the pain left. His right eye gleamed purple and his other one Brown,just like she remebered. He studied me hard. "What?" I asked frightenedly. He let out a small sigh. "Your eye… it's Purple again. I haven't seen it like that in a long time." he replied. I looked around in the middle of the woods and I could finally "see" again. The ground was covered with the creatures and their thick, Blue blood splashed everywhere. Fire was on the ground and Black smoke creeped in the air. The air smelled dead and still. The moon lit the night and the trees towered above silently. Kelly reached out and gently touched my back and asked, "Are you okay?" Words wouldn’t come out my mouth, I could only nod my head. "Cj, you have to breathe, you haven't seen like this in a while. Let it process through," he said as he turned my head to meet his eyes again. I was finally able to exhale slowly. "How did you do this by yourself, Kelly?" I asked. "I didn't do this by myself, you helped me. remember?" he said pointing at his eyes. " When you gave me your powers, it... it actually increased mine." The tears that were swelling finally fell from my eyes and he wiped it off softly with a weak grin. He and I embraced for a long moment, his large arms wrapped around my entire waist. The fact that he had fought and killed all them by himself broke my heart. I felt like I betrayed him, and left him alone. He knew I felt this way, but I felt no anger in him as he held me; no bitterness, just tiredness and Joy. His heart was beating fast, but his breaths were calm. "We got to go," he said, grabbing my hands, "We can't stay here long." I nodded my head as he began to guide me into the night. I hadn't seen since we first got married and had forgotten what it looked like. Forgotten how it felt to have powers again, and not just be a plain human.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.