Fiction logo

The Cabin Holds All Secrets

By Sidney Smith

By Sidney SmithPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
The Cabin Holds All Secrets
Photo by Florian Haun on Unsplash

The cabin in the woods had been abandoned for years, but one night, a candle burned in the window. It was a dark and moonlit night. There was a foggy haze surrounding the area from the drizzling rain. I had just come back to town after many years of running away. I was apprehensive about returning home. The place always felt off in my opinion, but I felt it was my only option.

This cabin has been here for as long as I can remember. No one ever lived there, yet no one ever had the audacity to tear it down. I was always too afraid to enter it. Although my brothers teased me about being a chicken, neither of us ever had the guts to go in there. But here I was after all of these years returning home, and not wanting to surprise my family just yet. I wondered if it was safe for me to enter... who could be there with the candle in the window. Maybe some sort of squatter?

I felt extremely tired. I thought that maybe I could set up camp but it would be too much work as I had been walking for miles and just wanted to rest. I was now a man in my late 20s and I could defend myself if I needed to. I decided to take the risk of entering the old cabin.

I walked slowly towards the front porch starting to feel the familiar eeriness I used to when I was young, I continued to hold myself together. I put my hand on the doorknob but the door pushed open immediately which startled me. The inside was dark except for the ominous glow that was upstairs from the candle. I took out the flashlight from my backpack and turned it on.

I began to walk and flash it around. The wooden floor creaked beneath me. I flashed the light on the walls which revealed painted portraits of a woman with dark pulled-up hair, dark eyes, a purple top, and an upturned expression. Almost as if she was trying not to be angry. I felt like her eyes stared into my soul. As I walked further I saw another portrait of a man wearing a black suit and also with a similar expression having dark eyes and dark hair. The last portrait was of the man and the woman including two children. They all carried the same dark and heavy expression, that chilled me to the core. I guess this was their old house. No one ever mentioned this family.

I walked to the kitchen area, and everything looked old and used but still intact as if it had not been abandoned at all. All of a sudden I heard movement upstairs like the sound of a dog's nails walking against the floor. I jumped and almost lost my flashlight. I walked swiftly back down the hall still seeing the candle glowing from one of the rooms. I walked up the steps slowly, being careful not to make too much noise. I went to the room on the left where the candle was glowing, but no one was there.

I heard similar movements along with what sounded like hooves. My heart began to sink. "Hello! Is there anybody there!?" I spoke loudly, my voice quivering. The candle immediately went out. At this point, I was shrieking. I turned my flashlight back on I heard the steps down the other hall getting closer. All I wanted to do was to get out of there. I walked quickly towards the bedroom door. My flashlight was swinging in my hand and then I saw something I would never forget. A demented-looking dog with wrinkled skin stared at me from across the hall, and a hooved creature stood behind it looking like a devil.

I ran down the steps as fast as I could and tried to make it out the door but both of the creatures were faster than me. They captured me and pulled me back. I tried screaming and calling out for help. They pulled me through the kitchen and a door down into a basement area. After that, I passed out.

I awoke staring up at strange people wearing devilish masks over me. "Oh, he is perfect... perfect for our sacrifice." Said the voice of a female. Her voice was calm but I could sense the evil pouring out of her mouth. "Sacrifice!?" I shouted, "Where am I!?"

"Don't we know him?" A male voice said. I recognized it immediately, it was the voice of the son of the mayor...

"Tommy!? What! What is this!? I screamed and cried in fear. There were about twenty people in this group and they stepped back immediately after I said Tommy's name.

"Weren't you Hank and Mildred's son, the one who ran away?" said the female voice.

"What does it matter to you!?" I yelled. I tried kicking and screaming but I was tied up.

"We had watched you for many years... you were always different... so good... so pure." She spoke again and everyone else nodded in agreeance. "I can't stand you because of your heart... we all desperately want a heart like yours. With your blood, we can have it. She pulled out a knife and started walking closer to me. The room was lit by candles and symbols on the floor. The creatures that pulled me came from out of the dark corners.

She walked slowly closer and closer. "Your parents never told you about the secrets of this town... you see we pledge our allegiance to the misunderstood one who lives in the hollows of the earth. And every once in a full moon, he gets hungry." It all started to make sense. There were children who would go randomly missing sometimes and nobody could find them. I then realized they never checked the cabin...

"Oh God! please help me! Please save me!" I cried. I knew I was face to face with Lucifer himself. At my cries, the door burst open with a tumultuous light. A man stood in a white robe, he glowed with compassion and love. The people quivered at this being blinded by the light. He saw me, and looked back at the crowd with the most terrifying righteous anger I had ever seen. He held up his hands and light flew from him that caught the place on fire. He then rescued me and pulled me out of the cabin.

We rushed out of there and made it in time before the fire took over the whole building. I lay on the ground shocked and crying. He looked at me and put me back on my feet. "This place is under judgment, leave now my child, you do not need to be here." He said. "Where do I go from here?" I said looking him in the eyes. They were full of compassion. "Anywhere but here. Make sure you never forget to share what happened here today." I nodded. And then he disappeared. I started running away again, but I ran knowing that God had saved me from hell fire.

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Sidney Smith

A picture tells a thousand words, and a thousand words can paint a beautiful picture.

I have been a writer all of my life. It has been like an anchor for me to release emotions, process ideas, and escape into a world of fantasy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.