Fiction logo

The Beauty Of Life

The Best Life Imaginable

By Sarah SmithPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2

There it was, just like I remembered. A beautiful, open field. At dusk, this place was absolutely stunning. It held bad memories though. This was where I brought my boyfriend when I was going to propose. This is the place that my entire life changed, and it definitely was a good change in the end.

I packed up a picnic box with a few small things that I knew he loved. I also grabbed a blanket, some candles, and the ring box. I wanted to be different than anyone. Being a female and proposing to a male isn’t exactly normal. We headed towards the field, to have dinner and watch the stars. Far away from any light pollution of the near cities. He has no idea I had even bought a ring. As a broke college student, I had been saving for almost two years.

We get the blanket spread out, candles lit, and start eating. I looked over and right next to the blanket is a single marigold. I picked the flower and handed it to him. We made love, and it was amazing like normal. Something was off about him though, he seemed a bit more anxious. So we laid on the blanket and just watched the stars, curled up in each other’s arms. As I grabbed the ring out of my bag, he yawned and began to look at his phone.

“I love you, and I want to spend the rest of my life with you. Will you marry me?” My anxiety was sky high, and I had never been more nervous. This was it, after 3 years together we would finally be tying the knot. The look on his face was pure shock.

“Umm. I don’t think I can. I came up here with you with the intention of confessing to you that I have been sleeping with your roommate for a few months. She’s pregnant and I want to be there for our child and work on things with her.” The look on my face must’ve been confusing for him, as I couldn’t really comprehend what exactly he was saying. “I’m sorry, I really am.”

“It’s okay. I’m fine. I understand completely.” We both knew that I still hadn’t fully realized what had just happened. “Yeah, we will just head back towards the dorms.”

With the awkward silence that followed, we packed the blanket up and headed back towards the city. All I could do to keep from crying is looking at myself in the rear view mirror. Hoping it was all a dream. Unfortunately, it wasn’t a dream. It was very real. Reality hit when we pulled up to the dorm after an hour of driving. I grabbed my bag and started to get out of the truck.

“Congratulations on the baby. One more thing, I want you to know how many men she’s had in her room in the past few months. It was definitely more than just you. Good luck though!” It may have been the most petty thing I could say, but I started laughing as well. Little did he know that I had been loyal to him for three years, and I actually planned to tell him that I was three months pregnant. As I walked into the apartment, my roommate was looking very nervous.

“Hey, you’re back early. I didn’t think y’all would be back til morning.” She tried her hardest to sound shocked, she failed miserably.

“Nope. He broke up with me after he had sex with me and I proposed to him. Congratulations on the baby. Oh I also let him know how many men you’ve had over here.” I laughed as her jaw seemed to just hit the floor. It was a glorious moment.

I pulled my phone out, and decided to call him so I could get my stuff from his apartment. I also decided it would be after my ultrasound, so I could show him that he was going to be a father. The day finally came, I went to my ultrasound and immediately I fell in love all over again, and immediately I was no longer heartbroken. Hearing that heartbeat was the most beautiful sound I had ever heard.

On my way to his apartment I called him to let him know I was almost there. When I got there, she was there with him. I just smiled and packed my things.

“Oh, by the way, congrats on a second baby. It’s definitely yours.” Handed him the ultrasound picture, he was speechless and immediately had regret in his eyes. “It’s okay, don’t say anything. We will deal with this like adults. Through court.”

Here we are today, two years later in the same place that my life changed completely. I’ve got my beautiful son with me today. As we walk through this field, he walked up to me and handed me a single marigold.

“I love you mommy. Here’s a flower.”

His father may not have wanted anything to do with him, but I can’t imagine my life without my son. His father has one biological child, but in my opinion he has no biological children. He’s just a man who happened to help me bring this beautiful little boy to life.

Love
2

About the Creator

Sarah Smith

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.