Fiction logo

The Affair

A grand party

By TynessePublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like
Grand Stairs

I walked into the party, resenting being here. I know I didn't have to go, but it was expected of me. I would do the fake smiles and conversations, if only to see her.

"Winston! Nice to see you, old pal!" John exclaimed, patting me on the back as I stopped near him. He was in a group talking to all the other men of status. I was technically a man of status, but I worked for mine, they were born into theirs.

"How's everything at the stables? Amanda is always telling me how much she loves to come down there and how good of a teacher you are."

"Things are going great John. I have lots of students and Amanda is one of the best. She's a natural at it," I responded.

"She's always loved horses, since she was a little girl," John said.

"How'd you get into horse training again?" David asked me. He was one of the wealthiest men in our country, not that he earned any of it. He was 6'3 with dark hair and intense eyes, although they still had a twinkle about them. His physique was strong, and he was rather good-looking, objectively speaking. He was honestly a very charming man to those who knew him, and I hated him. He has this arrogance about him that I find irritating.

"My family had a farm growing up and we raised many different animals. Horses just--"

"--Ah yes, a farm boy!" he interrupted and then burst with laughter, causing the others to join in. I seethed. "Well at least now you've acquired success from cleaning up after beasts." The smirk on his face was the absolute worst. The others see it as harmless teasing, while I know it's more.

"Yes, I had to work very hard for my wealth. I couldn't afford the luxury of merely existing every day," I stated with a hint of annoyance.

"Oh, lighten up Winston, David means no harm." John retorted, trying to lighten the mood.

"I'll be going to get a refreshment," I said, nodding my head curtly at the rest of them before walking away.

As I walked away from the great room to the stairs, I saw the tearoom with the wives giggling from whatever joke Elizabeth--John's wife--told. They were most likely in there gossiping about whatever new scandalous topic they found out.

The stairs were to the far wall, and they led up to the balcony that looked down to the great room. I got to the first top landing and looked at the family picture. They really were quite a beautiful family. I looked back before continuing up, making sure no one was watching me. I came to the first door on the left and rapped on it in a quiet synchrony--tap, tap tap, tap.

I heard the door unlock and I looked back over the balcony one more time before entering. The party was in full swing, no one would notice me missing in this huge mansion.

"Hello, darling," I said when I saw her beautiful face. She was sitting at her vanity, fixing her golden hair. Her cheeks blush on her slightly tanned skin; her broad beautiful smile and the twinkling of mischief in her hazel eyes when she turned to look at me. I loved all of it. I loved her.

"Well, aren't you going to give me a proper greeting?" she said with a sly grin on her face. I walked over and gave her the most passionate kiss I've ever given to any woman in my life. We fell to the bed and began taking off our clothes in the heat of the moment. We made love for the hundredth time. I knew this time was riskier, but I could never resist her.

"I love you Amanda," I said, kissing her neck and shoulder.

"I know." She said, getting up to put her clothes back on.

"I was downstairs chatting with your father and David. He was being very imperious, as usual." I stated, annoyed at the thought of David again.

"Well, he is one the wealthiest men in our country. I think he has a right to be a little arrogant darling."

"He looks down on me as if he's better than me. Hmph, he wouldn't be so smug if he knew--"

"Don't be so jealous Winston. It's such an ugly look on you," she interrupted me. She was right, I shouldn't be jealous, but how could I not be when he has what I want most in the world.

"You're defending him so much today."

"Well why wouldn't I, he is my husband," she retorted. That comment made my body heat with anger, but I quickly relaxed myself.

"I just can't wait until you divorce him to be with me." I said walking towards her. The incredulous look she gave me through her vanity mirror made me stop in my tracks.

She burst with laughter and turned to face me. "Leave David? Why would I do that?"

"Because we're in love," I said, slightly embarrassed. We make love all the time. She doesn't come to the stables to train her horse, it's so she can be with me.

She burst with more laughter, as if I told a funny joke. The incessant laughter made my stomach turn in knots.

Why is she being this way. I had to run into her private bathroom and close the door. I paced back and forth to calm myself down. I stopped in front of the mirror to look at myself. I wasn't as handsome as David, but I was a good-looking man. I'm 6'0 with short brown hair, and I also have a strong physique from all the farm work and constant physical labor I do. I have a crooked smile and a rugged look, but I thought she liked that about me. The opposite of clean-cut David.

I opened the door and walked back out to her. She was applying her makeup and fixing her hair.

"Amanda, don't you love me?" I had a hopeful tone in my voice.

She stopped fussing with her hair and looked back at me, "How could I love you, Winston. You're just a farm boy." My heart sank. I've never felt this type of devastation in my life.

"But I'm wealthy too. I made all this money so we could be together."

"It's not the same Winston. You don't come from a prominent family. How would I look leaving a man like David for a man like you?" She turned back around and started to fix her hair again. When she looked at me through her mirror, she could see how heartbroken I was. I was a shattered man at this moment. "Did you honestly think I could love you?" She began laughing again. Taunting me.

It's like the fog has finally cleared and I'm seeing the real her. Ever since we were kids I've loved and wanted to be with her. I always thought she was so different than the rest of her obnoxious and shallow family, but she's just like them. This woman that I've put on a pedestal for so long was all a facade.

She was looking at me and still laughing. I was a joke to her! She never loved me! My fist balled and my chest grew with rage. I stormed over to her and before I knew it, my hands were around her throat.

Her laughter quickly turned into gurgling sounds. Her eyes went from humor to confusion in a split second. She clawed at my hands to release her throat, but I just squeezed tighter. Soon, she went slack and I let her go. Her body fell to the floor in a slump.

I stood there, confused. What did I just do? "Amanda..." I whispered.

Oh no. Oh no, oh no, oh no. I didn't mean to kill her. I just wanted her to stop laughing. How could I?

I sat there and stared at her lifeless body, not knowing what to do. I let out a quiet sob and backed away. I have to get out of here.

I went to the door and listened; the party seemed to still be in full swing. I opened the door and there was David, standing right in front of me. He looked confused and then I saw his eyes dart past me.

My heartbeat quickened, for I knew there would be another murder this night.

Mystery
Like

About the Creator

Tynesse

My name is Tynesse (Tuh-Neese), and writing has always been something that I've loved. Creating stories from my imagination and having people become immersed in them has always excited me! I hope being on vocal will inspire me start again!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Gloria2 years ago

    Tynesse, your story is really good, keep up the good work. The story definitely left me wanting to read more.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.