Fiction logo

The Addiction

A story of Life

By V. H. EberlePublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like
The Addiction
Photo by Valiant Made on Unsplash

“I’m sorry but I need to see your ID.”

“I don’t have it on me.”

“Then I can’t sell these to you.”

“My birthday is March 12, 1999.”

“That’s fine but I still need to see some ID.”

Looking over his left shoulder for help from the faces of the line forming behind him he suddenly said, “That policeman can vouch for my age.”

“That is nice but our company policy is if you appear to be under 35 years of…,”

“My birthday is March 12, 1999,” interrupted the impatient, visibly irritated, young man, “I am twenty-two years old.”

“I need to see your ID,” Jon attempted to explain again.

“Here, I will buy his cigarettes,” called out the man right behind.

“I can’t sell you cigarettes if I suspect or know that you are buying them for someone else who is under age or doesn’t have their ID when carded.”

The older man pushed his way to the counter, “Then I’ll take a box of Marlboro Reds.”

Jon just sighed and tried again loud enough that everyone in line could hear, “Since you offered to buy cigarettes for this individual who failed to provide an ID I cannot sell you any tobacco because I have an idea it might be for him which would be illegal and could result in a fine and me being fired.”

“This is just insane,” complained the original customer, “I buy cigarettes here all the time and you have seen my ID numerous times. I am 22 years old. I was born on March 12, 1999.”

“That may be so but our company policy is I must card you every time as long as you appear to be under 35 which you have admitted to me several times now.”

“Are you going to sell me my cigarettes?” demanded the now agitated older gent who had offered to buy cigarettes for the younger customer.

Jon leaned forward and said, “I cannot sell you any tobacco products ON, THIS, VISIT, because you had offered to buy cigarettes for a person I had carded.”

He had emphasized the words hoping that the elderly man would catch a hint to getting around this legal issue. Shaking his head in disgust the older gent turned around and started to head towards the door.

He stopped by the cop and said, “I guess no good deed goes unpunished.”

The tall, muscular, crew cut wearing officer smiled, “I guess not.”

“Isn’t there anything you can do about this?” pleaded the man.

“This isn’t my jurisdiction. His company can have whatever policies they desire,” He thought for a moment to find something that would deescalate the situation, “I could ticket both of you for disorderly conduct or I could have fined the clerk and you if you had bought those cigarettes for that guy.”

Shaking his head the older man headed for the door. Having seen and heard the entire exchange the young man headed out as well. Mumbling under his breath and the noise of his shoes along with the slight complaining moans of the wooden planks of the floor were the only sounds as he headed towards the door.

Jon quickly attended to the needs of the next customer in line, “What can I get for you today?”

“Do you need my ID?” asked the elderly woman as she moved up to the counter.

“Not unless you need me to card you.”

Smiling a little, “No, I’m fine. I would like two packs of the cigars in A3.”

Jon preferred it when they used the grid numbers instead of the names of the cigars. Many times the customers didn’t get the name correct. He quickly turned and moved the cigarette display on its rails to reach the cigars. He quickly retrieved and returned with the desired items. He scanned the barcodes and watched for the total to appear.

“That will be $7.53.”

She pulled out a plastic card and started to use the card reader. When she had completed her part Jon quickly hit the make believe buttons on the register’s touch screen to finish the transaction. In several moments he saw it was done.

“Do you want your receipt?”

“Yes.”

Jon pushed the touch screen button to activate the printer which quickly spewed out her receipt. Jon took it and ripped it along the small, metallic, saw teeth and then handed it to her.

“Here you go and thank you.”

“I would like a carton of Camel Menthols,” requested the next customer in a husky voice.

“Sure,” responded Jon as he turned and moved the cigarette display on its tracks to expose shelves of cartons.

Scanning the barcode he asked, “Will there be anything else?”

“No, this is it,” answered the husky voice.

“Okay, that will be $89.28.”

“I remember when a carton only cost eight dollars,” scoffed the husky voice as its owner counted out five twenty dollar bills and handed them to Jon.

Jon shifted his weight on the thick soft rubber floor mats as he counted out the change and handed it to the man, “And I owe you $10.72 and thank you.”

Husky voice moved out of the way to head out the door and a young and pretty woman approached the counter with a wide smile.

“What can I get you?”

“Box of Marlboro black menthols,” responded the woman without hesitation.

Jon reached for a black box of Marlboros with a green chevron on it.

Quickly turning and scanning it he asked, “Is there anything else?”

“No, I’m good.”

“I need to see your ID.”

She put her pocket book on the counter and started to dig through it. She pulled out her wallet and opened it. After fingering several cards she produced her driver’s license and handed it to Jon with a smile. Jon took it and looked it over checking the photo against the young woman’s face. He scanned its barcode.

“Here you are,” he said as handed it back to her once he saw the register accepted it, “That will be $8.94.”

With the same smile she returned her driver’s license to its place in her wallet and fished out a debit card. Jon just looked about the shop as she ran it through the card reader. Jon pushed his make believe colored buttons on the touch screen to complete the transaction.

Without hesitation Jon asked, “Would you like your receipt?” once the transaction completed.

Next in line was the police officer who looked to be about twenty five.

“What can I get for you?”

“A roll of Copenhagen Straight Long Cut.”

Jon turned and quickly found and grabbed a hockey puck shaped can from the chewing tobacco display.

Scanning the small disk’s barcode he looked up at the cop and said, “Yes, according to company policy I have to ask you for your ID.”

Smiling the cop quickly grabbed his ID from his left chest pocket and handed it to Jon. As Jon looked it over looked about at the numerous security cameras throughout the store. He noticed an inordinate amount was focused on the counter. He knew from previous visits the system could eavesdrop in on conversation and was monitored from a remote location.

“I’m guessing they take the policy of checking ID’s seriously,” said the cop as Jon handed his ID back.

“Oh yeah, I’ve seen people get fired for not following policy even though it wasn’t a sting.”

“A sting?” asked the cop putting his ID and chew away.

“You know, when they have a youngster come in here and attempt to buy tobacco and the clerk just sells it to them without checking ID and there is a code enforcer who the youngster is working for ready to fine the clerk and the shop.”

“Oh sure,” answered the cop, “Guess they are pretty strict here.”

“They are. You are allowed to make the mistake once. The next time you are out.”

“That’s good, good, well, see you later,” said the cop nodding his head looking up at the cameras as he turned to walk away.

“Thank you, sir,” responded Jon turning his attention to the next and last customer in line. “How can I help you?”

She was an older lady. Hair parted perfectly down the center of her scalp she probably had seen sixty years at least. He could see her age in her face. Her body gave the impression of being far younger while grey streaked through what once may have been a full head of chestnut. She smiled and her blue eyes lit up as she leaned forward and started to speak. Jon listened carefully but heard nothing.

“What, I’m sorry, I didn’t hear you.”

With the same smile she leaned forward closer to Jon and he leaned in as well. He saw her mouth move but heard nothing. He cupped his hand about his ear and leaned in closer.

“Marlboro Lights, please,” came a faint breathy voice.

“Marlboro Lights?” asked Jon standing up straight and meeting the woman’s blue eyes.

She nodded with a happy grin.

“Did you want one or two? We have a special on two. It could save you some money.”

She seemed to think for a few moments and held up two fingers smiling.

“That will be $16.38,” said Jon after scanning the two packs.

Jon watched with interests as she put her credit card into the card reader and started to push the appropriate buttons. He finished the transaction on the register.

“Did you want your receipt?”

She nodded with enthusiasm. Jon pushed the receipt button and the paper shot up out of the printer in the blink of an eye. Jon ripped it off the printer and handed it to her. She smiled as she took it and immediately set about folding it to place in her pocket. She mouthed a thank you. That is when he saw it.

He watched her as she turned to walk away. He just stood there with his mouth slightly ajar. He never took his eyes off of her until she pushed through the door of the store. He didn’t even notice the customer approaching the counter. He was just lost thinking of the tiny white plastic funnel looking device held in place by what he had thought was a white choker.

“Can you help me?” demanded the customer tired of waiting, tired of being ignored.

“Um yeah, hold on a second,” replied Jon without even looking at the customer.

He disappeared into the back. Throwing up his hands the elderly customer just shook his head in disgust.

“Hey Jackie,” Jon called out to a mid twenties red haired clerk who was busy straightening out the backroom, “Could you watch the register for a few moments? I really need to talk to Cheryl.”

“Sure,” she answered as she finished putting the box she had on the shelf and headed out to the floor.

Jon found Cheryl in her office. It appeared that she had been working on the next schedule but had stopped to take a phone call. Jon stood by the door to the office as Cheryl finished the call. When she finished Jon knocked on the door. Cheryl motioned for him to enter.

“What’s up?”

“I don’t think I can do this anymore,” said Jon reluctantly.

Her whole demeanor changed to one far more serious, “Why?”

“I just can’t be part of a dangerous product anymore.”

“We are just selling a product. They are the ones who are free to make their own minds.”

“Considering the addictiveness I don’t think it is really a free choice. Look, I’m sorry but I have to get going. I just can’t do this anymore.”

“Could you at least tell me what happened?” inquired Cheryl.

“I just talked a lady who had a stoma into buying another pack of cigarettes. Earlier I witnessed a young man act like an ass because of his addiction.”

“Hey, it is just a job and nothing else. If they don’t get their tobacco from us it would be just someone else earning the money.”

“I can’t do it anymore.”

“Why don’t you take the rest of the day off and think about it?” asked Cheryl.

“No, I think I’m done.”

“Think about it. You just bought a home. You’ll have no job for some time. How are you going to make the payments? How are you going to explain this to your wife and kids?”

Jon swallowed hard and thought about it. He sighed and threw his arms up in a surrendering gesture.

“Okay, okay,” said Jon.

Cheryl watched as he walked out onto the floor. When he disappeared from sight she turned to watch him on the security system. She smiled a little when she saw him talking to Jackie. She went back to work on her schedule when she saw Jon take Jackie’s place at the register.

“Good, I don’t have to redo the schedule,” she said to herself sighing.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

V. H. Eberle

I have been a student of human nature since I can remember. I hope that you feel free to explore my findings in these short stories and articles. Perhaps you will learn far more about yourself and others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.