Fiction logo

Test of Time

You volunteer to be the first human to test time travel, only going an hour forward in time. But when you leave the travel pod, all other humans are gone.

By Stephi DurandPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Image from Pexels.com

"Our simulations have shown that inside the pod, you shouldn't feel any effects. It should be like having to wait a few moments in an elevator as it takes you to the next floor,"

I nod at her explanation, looking to the pod as she continues to describe what I should see and what signal to look for when it becomes safe to exit. This pod was built for one. 'Start small and work your way up,' one of the scientists had said. After all, it wasn't every day you could volunteer to be the first human to time travel.

Volunteers had to apply. Thorough assessments and clearance checks were all we knew before the finalists went through medical checks. Leaving me as their first choice.

I don't know how I was chosen out of the remaining numbers, but something about me had caught their attention.

"Are you ready to transport?"

Voicing my agreement, I can't help but smile at the phrase. 'Transport'. The professional terminology for actually travelling through time itself.

It was obvious she was excited. The woman, a lead scientist on the team, seemed to be in her late 40's. She had been working on time travel theories for nearly twenty years. It was no wonder she couldn't help bouncing on her heels when she had moments to herself.

"Good luck, and we'll all see you in an hour," she beamed, giving the inside of the pod one more look over before closing the door on me.

Through the small window, everyone seemed calm and collected as they tapped away at keys on various keyboards and machines, the woman from before giving a quick thumbs up as a light shot across the window.

A sharp light crossed the window. The pod's sudden shake sending me backwards. Eyes shut, I braced myself, waiting for the earthquake-like sensation to pass. The sharp light spun around the pod, making me wince every time it passed the window.

It felt like it would never end. 'A few moments in an elevator'? What elevators do scientists take? This is not a few moments in an elevator. This is some scene straight out of a superhero origin film.

Oh god, I don't want to be known as Time Traveller for the rest of history. Time Traveller? Time Keeper? Either way, I'd be a terrible superhero—

Everything stopped. The pod's shaking soon settled as the surroundings quietened. Daring to look through the small window, the room looked dark — empty.

This wasn't the plan.

Go forward an hour, that's what they told me to do. I'd go forward an hour, exit the pod and then have tests to make sure everything is right.

Knowing I can't hide away forever, there's only one thing I can do.

The latch was firm but easy to open. Waiting a few moments after the door opened, it was time to step out.

Silence covered the room. A heavy blanket weighing down the space. Slowly scanning the room, there was no sign of recent activity. The computers appeared off. No mugs, coats, or paperwork in sight.

A sudden squeaking echoes across the room. The sound quickened as I stood in place, frozen at the noise.

What on earth could that be? There was nothing here — I'm certain I was alone.

A thud sounded from behind. The squeaking stopped. There was a whiteboard behind me, it had calculations that didn't make sense on it. Is that the source of the noise?

I don't want to turn around. Why do I have to turn around?

Eyes turning first. There's nothing in the corner of my eyes. I can look. I can turn around.

Torso next, followed by feet. The foot is barely on the ground as I see the words, the ice-cold shiver hitting my spine in an instant.

WE SEE YOU

Crippled with fear, I missed the sound of something approaching.

Not until my surroundings turned to nothingness.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Stephi Durand

Indie Author | Content Creator

'Look Up' is available to purchase at all online book retailers in Paperback and eBook.

Writing here, writing there, writing everywhere...

Instagram: @stevie_dd

Twitter: @StephiDurand

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.