Fiction logo

Tangled Love

(Fiction)

By MizuNaniaPublished 11 months ago 2 min read
Like

"Dylan!" I yell as I see the love of my life being dragged away. I know if I let him go, I'll never see him again. I try to resist and break free from the grip of the men holding me back. It's to no avail. I scream again, "Dylan!" He turns his head and looks at me, giving his charming smile. The smile I fell in love with years ago.

Why did he have to get involved with them? Why couldn't he get a normal job? Why did he decide to join the mafia? He could have just lived with me in our apartment. Tears fill my eyes as I watch him board the boat. I collapse, seeing the boat start to move. I sit on the ground sobbing for what seems like a decade. I wait and wait for him to come back to me, but he never does.

I open my eyes wide and jolt out of bed. my breathing is heavy as I look around my room. It was another dream about that night. I sigh and slowly get out of bed and put my slippers on. I walk to the kitchen and make myself a cup of coffee. I slowly sip it as I mark today on the calendar. "three years, three years since I last saw him," I tell myself. I look over at the picture on the kitchen table. The picture was of the two of us holding each other on a bridge.

I quickly get ready and head out the door to my day job as a barista. Ever since he left, it's as if my life hasn't moved forward. every day I do the same thing, just waiting for him to come back. The plan was for me to become a writer, go to school for it and hopefully publish some books. He was going to become a photographer. I still have all his equipment stashed away somewhere in our apartment. We were supposed to get married and start our family by now.

I slowly open the doors to where I work, get on my apron, and start serving. My coworkers constantly try to cheer me up, it's to the point that there's a challenge going on who can make me smile. "Next," I say, ready to serve the next customer. it's a man with his hood up wearing denim jeans and a black hoodie. "what can I get for you?" I ask. He smiled, "I'll have you." I looked up at him ready to go off, but before I do he take his hood off. "Dylan!" I shout. I climb over the counter into his arms crying. We hold each other for a while not wanting to let go. finally, I have him back and life can move on again. The colors are finally back in the world.

Love
Like

About the Creator

MizuNania

I'm an amateur writer who hopes to become a professional writer in the future. I mainly enjoy writing fiction and reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.