Fiction logo

Take a step, take another step

When the May Day holiday arrived, I couldn't wait to go back home to Suqian to participate in a hike around Lake Loma. My original intention was to accompany my grandmother who was old but insisted on participating, but the hike became an unforgettable experience for me.

By Angela R BillipsPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Take a step, take another step
Photo by the blowup on Unsplash

  When the May Day holiday arrived, I couldn't wait to go back home to Suqian to participate in a hike around Lake Loma. My original intention was to accompany my grandmother who was old but insisted on participating, but the hike became an unforgettable experience for me.

  The start of the day was set at the Garden Expo on the shores of Lake Loma, and thousands of people gathered together with a relaxed smiles on everyone's faces. With the sound of a gong, the walk officially began. My grandmother and I kept the same pace forward, but it didn't take long for many young people to overtake us like the wind beneath their feet. Not satisfied with the current speed, can not care to accompany the grandmother, spread her hands and feet, jogging to catch up to the front. Maybe walking too fast, not long I was shortness of breath, heavy footsteps, thinking grandmother is still behind, rest a while and so on her, at this moment, and a group of people overtaken, the heart lamented really "sinking boat side of a thousand sails, sick trees in front of a million wood spring. I simply stopped, and the thought of ending the hike flashed through my mind.

  To my surprise, my grandmother did not take long to reach me, even though she kept the same pace as before. I was a little discouraged: "Grandma, I'm so tired that I don't want to walk anymore, I'm still lagging again after walking so fast." Grandma said while walking: "You are fast, but can not maintain, we have to walk more than ten kilometers, you should stabilize your mind, step by step at an even pace, do not be discouraged, we are not behind ah." Yes, grandmother can persevere, how can I encounter a little difficult to give up? Sure enough, once a person has identified the goal and made up his mind, he will be confident inside. Although I was still tired, looking at the people around me stopped, but I became more and more determined, walk one step, walk another step! I can reach the finish line!

  I could see the finish line sign appearing not far away, my legs were already very sore and my grandmother's speed had slowed down significantly, so I held her arm: "Grandma, if you are too tired, let's stop for a while." Grandma said firmly but tiredly, "Go! One more step, and we'll be there!" One more step, one more step, and we reached the end!

  This hike made me realize that "a journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step" and "you can't make a thousand miles without accumulating small steps"! By taking one step, and then another, I found a way to face challenges and overcome difficulties! I have found a way to face challenges and overcome difficulties! I will overcome my swaying heart and I will go on steadfastly!

At that time, the sky was blue

  I don't understand why the sky is not beautiful. I don't understand why the sky is not beautiful? Let me so face it.

  The sky was blue and cloudless, and my mood was as pleasant as the weather. Today is the harp competition, the third grade, a class will not have the privilege to participate in this competition, relief mixed with excitement and pride, seems to have overwhelmed my mind, I feel floating, conceited, and I seem to think that even if I do not prepare will win, not to mention that I have prepared.

  Entering a hall with a high and distant roof, the sun shone through the blue sky and the windows, turning the auditorium into a glittering place. Inside, the crowd was packed, the dense crowd was neatly arranged, the melodious sound of flutes drifted out from time to time, everyone's face was tense, and I looked at them with a bit of derision. It was half an hour before the game started, but almost everyone arrived, and I came under the compulsion of my mother.

  Time passed quickly, and 30 minutes went by in a flash. Backstage, they all seemed to be so nervous that they couldn't breathe, and couldn't even hear the sound of inhaling. I remembered again that I should recite the lyrics temporarily, but I didn't notice that each of them was reciting them.

  Everyone finished well, "but the end is ordinary," I thought.

  It was my turn, looking at the blue sky, and I would win. The song was flowing, and each judge was showing relief and appreciation. But suddenly, for a moment, my mind went blank, I couldn't think of any lyrics, I froze there, the song came to a screeching halt, and the judges looked at each other and at me, their faces all puzzled.

  I was alone, standing alone in the middle of the stage, time was passing, but the silence did not change. Embarrassment, helplessness, nervousness, fear, entangled, a trace, from the feet, all the way to my heart, the whole body is cold. I even lost track of time, forgetting how long I had been standing there, forgetting how I left there.

  When I walked out of the auditorium, the sky was blue and cloudless. I didn't understand that it was supposed to be cloudy, with howling winds and lightning intermingling like intertwined snakes.

  Later, I understood, at that time, the sky is blue, the sky is that everything is ultimately due to people, not serious in exchange for failure, relax, there is a mistake is to change, still, the sea is wide!

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Angela R Billips

Reading is the best learning

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.