Fiction logo

Swept Away

Rebirth for Destruction

By Nym WildePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

Sometimes things happen, and you aren't quite sure of what it means. Such as world-renowned events such as an Earthquake that you don't realise is happening until it's over. Or a simple day at the beach where someone you love is swept away. You never dream that it will happen to you, as dreams are too good a word to exist for this sort of hellish nightmare.

That day, everyone was at the beach, Mother, Father and Eden. There were hundreds at the beach that day. Yet what none of us expected was the fate that was destined for some of us. For whoever was in the water, to disappear and return two decades later at the same age.

Suddenly, last night, a man claiming to be our Father walks through the front door, dripping and sopping wet, seemingly to dampen the room from not just his presence but with his being, whilst stating that he spent a bit too long at the beach; and, “what's for dinner honey.”

Having only stayed overnight with my newly pregnant wife, she screamed with shrill as this familiar stranger spoke aloud, fainting; later, we would find out we had lost the baby. Gravely emitted into the air, ‘you are not my husband’ even when a 9-year-old Eden poked his head around the wet leg at the front doorstep, running to Mothers leaving a trail of soggy water behind; she froze, lost in a world of disbelief. I, myself, had a drained look on my face as my eyes bore deep into my skull. Standing from my armchair, that was seated next to Juliet's. I asked with malicious undertones:

‘ Where have you been?’

‘ For a swim, Boy, you all disappeared’

‘ GET OUT OF MY HOUSE’, I screamed.

‘ That is no way to speak to your father!’ The child started crying and sulked over to the man.

There was a haunting hostility that was palpable as the standoff continued. Mother slowly backed away to grab the closest thing, which happened to be a hammer, next to the picture of our family that needed to be hung. Looking over, Mother realised just as I did Juliet started to bleed through her dress. We both felt a haze of hostility for these doppelgangers bringing this unprecedented horror into our house.

‘ He said, Get out' Mother repeated, her eyes watering and voice cracking

‘ just come for a swim’, he retaliated, although it was a straightforward request

‘ no’

His eyes went blank, stone-cold and unforgiving.

‘ come’, looking her dead in the eyes, he motioned her to follow.

‘ no..’ she whispered, hovering the hammer in the air although her life depended upon it. She crunched forward although a warrior in the wild, except with heartbreaking passion of vengeance.

‘ I have dreamt of you returning for years, and sweet Eden..’ she wails, whilst her head quickly cranes over to the familiar child’s face, briefly peering back at the family picture.

‘It's us', he smiles,

The child stares at me, a cruel smile as he sticks his tongue out, and his eyes roll back, where a ton of red water drooled from his mouth onto the carpet.

The man takes a step forward, then another

‘Baby, please, it's us.’

The child walked towards me, although no one else could see this or what had just happened, I gulped, frantically moving in front of my wife.

The hammer was quickly thrown, the man poured out bloody water and hundreds of small fish, with sharp teeth. Chucking the hammer out of his shoulder at the picture, a smash and screams sounded. The imposters quickly moved, clutching to us, ripping into our clothing, and smearing the red red red liquid from their orifices over us. As the fish ripped into us. The imposters continued to rain red from their mouth, wounds, every pore, I tried to scream as my eyelids were torn off, leaving me staring, with my mouth agape, swallowing these cutter sharks. Lifting my head I awakened to see my then-pregnant wife being left behind as blood dripped from her dress down the arm chair, reaching the ground, as the creatures seemed to not care or see her.

Lurking forward and gasping for air, I awoke from my dark nightmare of a tormented future. Bitter sea water clouded my eyes and stung my new wounds as i was met with an abundance of other drowning screams, as it sounded like hundreds were being dragged into the ocean alongside myself, and, to my horror as I glanced over to see with my eyes forced open yet mouth being torn apart, Mother. Similarly to me being dragged out, to return two decades later to haunt the living with my death.

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Nym Wilde

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.