Fiction logo

Summer

The Merigold

By Sarah CPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
1
merigold

July 31, 2021

A familiar feeling clenched my heart as I was going through an old box of memories. Seventeen years of dust and old newspapers chewed up by the rats and mice, the old box could hardly hold itself together. I closed my eyes suddenly my heart started beating faster. I took a deep breath opened my eyes and there he was. I tried to look away before he noticed but it was too late. We locked eyes for a split second as I turned away like nothing happened, acting as if I didn't notice. I felt a gentle tap on my shoulder. My heart racing, my body shaking, my palms soaked in sweat. “Yes”, I mumbled quietly trying not to turn around. “Hey, excuse me”, he said again. My eyes clenched shut as I blurted “yes” even louder since I was holding my breath. I was forced to turn around. “May I help you?”, I said. “I haven't seen you here before, you must be new. My name is Jack” he said as he stood up straight. The confidence in his voice was as if he was sure he knew he got my attention. I did all I could not to look him in the eyes, but it was inevitable. “Nice to meet you, if you will excuse me, I have to find my sister”, I replied with a tone of urgency in my voice to deter him from continuing with more conversation. “Who is your sister?”, he asked as he started looking around the room. He was very tall, one of those thick country boys with big blue eyes and a stature that could take on anything. I couldn't help but stare. “Hello, Miss?”, I snapped back into reality. I was mortified. I was staring right at him. How could I not hear him? “Did your sister drive you here? If you need a lift, I'll give you a ride home.” He offered. “No, that's OK. She's around here somewhere.” I stuttered as I hurried away Praying to God, she was in the direction that I was walking. I felt a presence behind me. Is he following me? I thought to myself, as I picked up the pace. He is, what do I do, what do I do? Don't panic. I kept telling myself, just don't panic. Off in the corner speaking to another gentleman was my sister. I walked as fast as I could without running or being too obvious. “Where have you been? I've been looking for you for an hour.” I asked. “What's the matter? You looked fine. I saw you talking to someone, so I left you alone. Here he comes, he's right behind you.” She whispered. “Oh my gosh, don't make it obvious. We must go, now!” I replied, teeth clenched and a look of horror on my face. “I think he's trying to get your attention.” She muttered. “Excuse me, you left this behind.” He held up my purse to hand to me. “Thank you.” I said once again, trying not to make eye contact. “It's Pretty late, you girls gonna be OK gettin home? I could follow you in my truck.? “Yes, that would be”, “No, no, I mean, we'll be fine.” I blurted out as I stopped my sister from finishing her sentence. “Don't tell him where we live! What's wrong with you?” I grabbed her arm heading towards the door. “Well, he was offering”. “Shush! We'll be fine.” I cut her off once more. “Well, here's my number.” He handed me a piece of paper with his number scribbled on it. “At least let me know when you guys get home, so I know you made it safely.” “Yeah, sure, OK we’ll do that, thanks.” “Let's go.” I said as I pushed her out the door. “Man, he's quite a catch.” She winked at me. “Yes, I know, I've already embarrassed myself enough tonight. Can we just leave?” “Absolutely. Are you gonna call him?”, she asked. Suddenly, I was slammed up against the side of the car and before I could breathe, I was flipped around with lips pressed hard against mine, his body up against me like a wet leotard, his hand entangled in hair as it cradled my head. I was melting. “HELLO! Earth to Angelica”, I heard as I was being sucked back into reality. “You know, you’re going to end up hurt or worse, DEAD if you keep that up”, she said as she slammed the car door. “What, you’re just jealous”, I yelled trying not sound like I was smiling ear to ear. “Jealous of what? I would waste precious time and energy if I daydreamed like you, an imagination like that requires too much energy. That should be put to better use”, she added after tossing me a dirty sweater. “That’s where it was, Ive been looking for this for two days”. “Maybe if you picked up after yourself you would know where your things are, now please get in here and start on the laundry, mom is coming home tomorrow, and this place is a reck!”. Jamie was right, she’s always right even since we were kids. Even though were twins she’s technically the oldest. I’m just glad we don’t look the same. I ran around the house gathering up all the dirty clothes and filled the washing machine. “Don’t mix the whites with the colors and don’t you dare put the delicates in the dryer”, she yelled down the stairs. I wasn’t really paying attention I just wanted to get it done so I could prepare for my phone call. After all, this is my last night of freedom before mom comes home. I’m going to be blamed for everything she thinks went wrong on her trip anyways, so I must make tonight count. I slammed the washer door shut. OK, the time has come, as I fish around in my pockets looking for that piece of paper. Oh no. Where is it? It's not in my pocket. As I frantically search retracing my steps all the way back to the car. Oh no, did I put it in the wash? I ran to the washing machine. Pulling everything out, splashing water everywhere. Soap suds everywhere. I see it. There it is. All wadded up. A wet ball of paper. I ran to the bathroom. got out the blow dryer, turned it on low, hoping I just could still make out the numbers after it dried. Ink was smeared bad. Oh man, it's ruined, I can’t make this out. I felt defeated. If only I wasn't such a prude and gave him mine. I have to figure out a way to contact him. I begged and pleaded with my sister to take me back into town. Back to the place where I saw him. She wasn't going for it. Did she not understand? This is my last chance. I must get down there. I packed a bag with some water and some crackers. Threw it on my back and jumped on my bike. It was already getting dark. Good thing I have a light on my bike. I pulled off the road to take a break. Soaking wet with sweat, sticky and gross. Nobody is gonna want my attention looking like this. This is ruined. Suddenly I heard a voice. “Excuse me, Miss.” Was I daydreaming again? “Do you need help?” That voice sounded familiar. I turn around, we lock eyes, it's him. “I thought that was you.” he grinned. “What are you running from, monsters?” “No, just out for an evening bike ride, it's good for you ya know.” He could tell I was lying through my teeth. “Well, you didn't call so, I figured I'd go to town since I didn't have any plans for tonight. You seem kind of busy.” He said in a disappointed tone. “No, I'm not busy, not at all.” I blurted. “Here, let me help you.” He threw my bike in the back of his truck. “Get in. I want to show you something.” My stomach felt like it was full of rocks and butterflies at the same time. “My name is Jack.” “I know what your name is.” I snapped back. “That's right, but you never told me yours.” “I am Angelica. My family calls me Angel.” “Angel? That's funny you don't look like an Angel.” He laughed. We pulled up to this small lake out in the middle of nowhere. Overgrown grass, tall trees, with a delicate breeze carrying a beautiful scent through the air, dancing around us. The sun was almost completely set. “This is beautiful, what is this place?” I asked breaking into the sound of blowing grass. “Just a place where I like to come and think.” “And bring girls.” Ahhh, why did I say that!? Just stop talking, I told myself. “No. I've never brought anybody out here before. I started coming out here to think. After my dad died.” He responded with sadness in his voice. I felt so stupid. “I'm so sorry, I didn’t.” “No, it's fine.” He said cutting me off. Probably so id shut up and quit ruining the moment. “Hey, come on.” He urged for me to follow. We walked a few yards from his truck, there was a nice little patch of grass. I sat down as he was skipping rocks across the pond. “How do you do that?” I asked, feeling a need to break the awkward silence. “Do what?” he seemed confused. “Throw rocks to make them skip like that?” trying to seem truly interested in rocks. “Come here, I’ll show you.” He grabbed a rock in his hand and showed me. “You gotta hold it just right, like this.” With his finger wrapped around it. “You gotta throw it like an underhand baseball pitch. Almost level and straight across with the water. Then unhook your finger from around it.” He tried to explain while showing me. “Like this?” My sorry attempt to skip a rock. He laughed, “Sure, if you wanna poke someone's eye out. Let me show you.” He grabbed my hand. My heart was racing again. All the butterflies went from my stomach to my head. I couldn't breathe. “Relax.” He said as he pulled me closer. Just as I thought he was gonna show me how to throw the rock. He spun me around. His lips met with mine knocking the breath right out of me. Oh my, what is going on? I've never felt this way before. My thoughts racing. I couldn't let him know that. His hand wrapped in my hair. I kind of pushed him away. “I have to go. Will you Take Me Home?” “Sure” he said, “I'm sorry. Did I scare you?” “No, it's just getting late. My mom is gonna be home tomorrow. I need to get home” I wasn’t exactly lying. “OK, no problem. Hold on a second.” He leaned over picking a flower. “Here. It's beautiful, just like you” he said softly. It was a little yellow Marigold. “Thank you.” I said holding back tears. “Come on, let's go,” he said. As he opened my door to the truck. I didn't want this day to end. “Can I see you again sometime?” He asked as we pulled up to my house. “Sure.” I replied. “I'll give you a call sometime.” He yelled as he put his truck into reverse. “Sounds good.” I said as I turned around wave. Surprisingly, he was already gone.” Angelica, earth to Angelica. You and your daydreams.” The sound of my sisters’ voice snapped me out of it. Realizing that I'm sitting in my garage with a dirty box in my hand, as I looked down, I saw a little yellow Marigold in my hand. It's amazing such a delicate thing can create such profound, unforgettable memories.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Sarah C

Embrace your crazy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.