Fiction logo

Story behind "Beetroot-Halwa"

Beetroot-halwa is a traditional Indian dessert. Sometimes, it gives the sweetness to the friendship as well...

By Sweety AjithPublished about a year ago 3 min read
7

It took 4 months for me to accept and adapt to the hostel life.

Its not easy for a person who is used to pampered almost 25+ years to adapt her lifestyle to the new environment.

By interacting with people who has the different ideas to approach the life , helps me to analyze myself more.

It's more helpful for me to approach my life with different aspects.

One of the person named Abi, I met in that hostel, who has the same ideology about life as my ideology about life.

So, it becomes easy for us to create a bond. Eventhough,she is younger than me, she is more matured than when I was in her age.

We shared a lot about life. We randomly pick any topic and speak about it for more than hour.

She is an extrovert and I'm be like extrovert when it comes to my closed circle. We both having the same tastes of music as well.

So it becomes easy for us to create a friendship.

One day, she is about to go to her home for a weekend. When I came to know this, I asked her to bring homemade beetroot-halwa, which is one of the most favorite dessert for me. I ordered her to cook it by her own without any help.

She will become monster when its comes to meat. When I ask her to make a beetroot-halwa she waved a look to me. Through that look I can read her mind-voice "Seriously, Are you punishing me"?... She didn't even know how to cook the proper meat. As she is a hater of vegetarian, I ask her to prepare a beetroot-halwa for me to punish her. But, It turned to be a punishment for me.

On one Friday evening, she left the hostel. On that night, she was in her home. Our usual chit-chat time is 9pm to 11pm.

At that time only, we will become a philosophers of life. On that Friday, When the clock turns to 9pm, sub-consciously my mind flashes her image. I called her and recorded her absence on that chit-chat time and reminded about the beet-root halwa.

I thought she wouldn't took that much serious. Even I also forget about the beetroot-halwa. As one day passed on, On Sunday night she returned to hostel. Usually, monday morning she returns to hostel. But this time, she returned one day prior with "beetroot-halwa".

It's around 9 pm on Sunday, I returned to hostel. By crossing her room, I can hear her voice and she shouted like "Akka, come on I have a surprise for you", She gave me a 500ml container steel box and ask me to open it. When I was about to open it,her roomate throw a pity look on me.

I opened that box, I was no-longer surprised, she made a beet- halwa for me. Yeah.., she made it for me .The actual surprise was happened on the next few minutes. I was about to taste the beetroot-halwa.I took a scoop of it, and I was about to eat. But that three members who tasted the halwa, didn't even uttered a single word but scares me by their pity look.I

As Abi insist me to taste it, I couldn't understand what they were trying to convey me. And that beetroot-halwas so good in color only. Beetroot Halwa is a delish Indian sweet made by slow-cooking grated beetroots with milk, sugar, cardamom, ghee and dry fruits.

But, when I saw that, I can able to find that dish contains only beetroot and I wouldn't say that's a halwa. That's like a cooked grated beetroot. But somehow, I prepare my mind to eat it for her effort. I was struggling to digest the disgusting look of the beetroot halwa hence Abi was staring at me.

At last, I prepared my mind to taste it, and i tasted it as well. I can't spill it from my mouth and I can't swallow it as well.

Still abi was staring at me. Finally, I swallowed it. By seeing my facial expression, she know the the taste of that beetroot-halwa.

Then, that three culprits who tasted that halwa before laughed like a monster.

After that incident, I forget the taste of the beet-root halwa. But our friendship took on step ahead.

Love
7

About the Creator

Sweety Ajith

Do What you Love!!!...Love what you DO!!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.