Fiction logo

Spring time love

Love awaken

By Sherry jacksonPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
2

It was suppose to be a quick trip to close the Flower shop and settle my grandmother’s estate but I found myself drawn to the quaint town and I now I have decided to stay here.

I stepped out into the April morning and the scent of the purple Lilac trees lining the sidewalk intoxicated me.

I walked a couple of block going to my late grandmother’s beloved flower shop and suddenly I dropped my umbrella and he retrieved it. A stranger who was walking behind me who had nut brown hair, tall slender and with blue green eyes that held mine as he handed me my umbrella.

There seemed to be a magnetic pull between us and I knew he stole my heart at that very moment.

Are we expecting rain today?

He said smiling.

I smiled back not able to take my gaze from his.

I nodded.

You must be new here and from the country. He said.

I mean that in a good way, he rushed to add. It good to feel things- it means you are alive!

We stood and started at each other.

I said- thank you! I looked at my watch - I have to be at work in about 5 minutes. Thank you agai I bellowed at him as I rush away.

I didn’t looking back for fear that I might turn around and go back

I saw him later that afternoon as I was standing by the pink geraniums looking out my shop’s window at the falling rain. He came out of the restaurant across the street

rushing in the rain to his car a brand new white Mercedes.

He didn’t see me as he drove away.

The phone ringed and my assistant Jean answered and gave the phone to me.

It was Mrs.Greenwood regarding her order for Sat at her garden party. She was an old customer of my aunt that apparently my aunt was in charge of decorating the whole house and tables with flowers for her annual spring garden party!

I assured her we would be their early Sat am to prepare everything.

That night I kept seeing the strangers face with him smiling at me in my dreams. I would wake up and go back to sleep and see him again.

My assistant and I were at Mrs. Hall mansion making sure all the flowers were placed on the right places. Two massive bouquets of roses and rosemary were placed at the very entrance into the garden area of her back years. Red and white gladiolus were

Welcomed the guest to the long buffet table covered in delicate white lace. Every table had a pot of herbs and colorful flowers on them.

We had just about finished and Mrs. Hall was thanking me when to my surprise the stranger walked up beside her.

We both looked at each other in shock.

Do you two know each other, she asked?

Well no - he said we just casually met yesterday.

He reached out his hand to offer a shake - I’m Jeff he said.

Yes he’s my cousin. I put my hand in his. He held it firmly and took his time letting it go.

Listen he said.

Why don’t you come to the garden party.

My cousin would love to have you here- isn’t that right Martha.

Why she she replied. If my cousin wants you to come you are most welcome.

At first I hesitate then I looked at him and I couldn’t refused.

Okay I said.

I went back home and pulled out a flowing floral tea length dress with a wide brim hat to match.

It was perfect for me as I was validated from the guest and most of all Jeff as I entered the garden party.

He brought me a drink and we strolled around her beautiful garden where all the lovely flowers were in full bloom.

We sat under a weeping willows by a pond wit lotus flowers.

He took my hand. I have never felt so at easy and happy with anyone before as I do with you.

Will you join me for dinner tomorrow.

I thought this is happening too fast but to my surprise I turn to face him and said I would love to.

I wore a low cut black straight black silk dress which flattered my slim finger with high heel and my hair high on my head.

He picked me up in his red sports car and took me to the restarent across from my shop.

It was closed but he unlocked it and their was a special table set up with the finest China silverware crystal and flower with lit candles everywhere. A waiter brought out the gourmet dishes with wine and it was a delightful tasty affair.

When he walked me to my door he took my key unlocked the door and when he gave it to me he kissed me tenderly on the lips.

I slept well feeling his warm vibrations covering me all night.

The next day when I was busy at work, he called. I recognized his voice as he tanked me for a exciting pleasant evening.

He ordered a judge bouquet of flowers and told me they were for me.

That afternoon it rain again. I keep watching the restaurant hoping to see him but only saw many customers standing in line to get in.

Just as I was preparing to close, he came though the door.

He didn’t say anything and with a serious look in his face he came close to me and looked me in the eyes while taking my hands in him.

I want you to know that I can’t think of anything else but- I need you in my life - not just now but for always- will you think about it. My heart tells me that you are the one! The one for me!

I couldn’t believe what I was hearing. I immediately put my arms around his neck looked- yes- oh yes. Then we kissed and the heaven seem to celebrate as lightening and rain attacked the building but all we heard or

Saw was each other.

Our lives became one a year later as we exchange vows in his cousin’s on his cousin’s annual garden party.

We waved good bye to everyone from a horse and flowered carriage taking us to our home a short distance from his cousin’s mansion.

An elegant two story cottage surrounded with flowers and blooming trees.

The flowers had guided me with my late grandmother help to my true love . They seem to dance for joy in the warm spring breeze as I secretly embraced them in gratitude as we rode pass.

Love
2

About the Creator

Sherry jackson

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.