Fiction logo

So close…

“Are you sure this is the right door?” “Yes! I’m definitely sure it’s the right door! Go ahead and knock!”

By Sid MarkPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like

“Are you sure this is the right door?”

“Yes! I’m definitely sure it’s the right door! Go ahead and knock!”

“But you said that on the first two doors too! How sure are you now?”

“Hey! The doors all look the same, can you blame me? Now, I’m sure about this one. Do you want to see her or not?!”

Benjie has no choice really, hesitantly he knocks at the door… timidly at first, but it gets aggressive as he knocks some more.

“Looks like nobody’s home” he said.

“Just keep on knocking,” Vernon prodded him, “I’m sure somebody’s inside.”

Benjie was about to knock again when the door swung open, and in front of them stood a shirtless man in his early 60’s who looks so grumpy and isn’t so happy to see them.

“What is it?!” he asks.

“Ah, sir… is this the house where Miss Victoria Magabon lives? Here’s a picture of her sir, you might re…”

“Nobody lives here by that name. Now go away, I’m busy!” the man replied without even letting the boy finished, and slams the door close.

“Wow! Talk about grumpy!” Vernon blurted out.

“You said this is the right door! Which one really is it?!” Benjie demanded

“Look,” Vernon explained, “this is an 8-door apartment row, and they all look the same. My informant said it’s in one of these doors. We’ve been through three, we’ve only five to go, how hard can that be?”

“Geez! Some guys just don’t have any sense of appreciation!” Vernon whispered quite loudly

“What was that?” Benjie asked.

While they were having an argument, the door on the fifth apartment opened, and out came a lady in her late 40’s. Apparently she heard the noise and was wondering what the commotion was all about.

“Excuse me boys,” as she approached them, “I can’t help but hear you two. Is there any problem? Can I help you?”

“Yes ma’m!” Benjie replied excitedly, “I’m looking for Victoria Magabon, here’s her picture. They said she lives in these apartment, can you tell me which one ma’m?”

The woman looks at the picture and then at the boy.

“My goodness! Don’t tell me… are you Benjamin?”

“Y-yes ma’m. But please call me Benjie”

“My, you’re so big now. How times really fly so fast… look at you!”

“A-Are you Victoria Magabon? Are you my mother?” Benjie asked the woman nervously.

“No, my name is Margaret. I’m a friend of your mother. She used to live in this apartment with me,” the woman replied.

“What do you mean used to?”

“She moved out last week, she heard some people were asking for her. She freaks out whenever she learns of someone looking for her. The wife of one of her customer threatened to have her killed because she claimed your mother destroyed their family,” Margaret explained.

“Can I butt in?” said Vernon, who doesn’t want to be just an audience, “why would his mother destroy other people’s family?”

“You don’t know your mother’s job, do you,” said Margaret, “she was a prostitute and she goes with every man who fancy her, as long as they can sustain her caprice. It’s not like she wanted it, but she can’t live without the lifestyle she was so accustomed with.”

“My father said she went to live with another man because she can’t give her a luxurious life, he never said about my mother being a prostitute,” Benjie said, holding back the tears in his eyes.

“Aahh… your father is a good man. I can see he raised you well. Your mother would’ve been proud of you”

“So where does she live now?” asked Vernon, “I’m sure you know where we can find her, right? Can you tell us please?”

“I’m sorry, I don’t know”

“What do you mean you don’t know?!” Vernon argues, “Come on, quit playing games with us! You said she’s your friend! Surely, you know where she went!”

“She didn’t tell me. She doesn’t want anyone to know really. The threat that she received has caused her to become paranoid, she doesn’t tell anyone wherever she goes,” Margaret explained.

“I guess there’s nothing we can do now,” Benjie said, as tears finally trickled down his face, “let’s go home Vernon. Thank you for your time ma’m.”

“Wait!” Vernon isn’t about to give up yet, “can we just leave a number? Just in case she comes visiting you, can you at least give her the number? Pleeeease?”

“Yes, I’ll do that,” said the woman as she gets the piece of paper containing the number from Vernon.

At the road, while Vernon was driving, “That was really a bummer bro! I mean, we were so close! If only we got here a week earlier, we could have caught her.”

Benjie was just silent, his eyes looking out the window…. he was thinking….

“Now, we have to start all over again,” Vernon continues, “and I need to pay more informants again to gather information. But don’t worry bro, even if I use the last of my allowance I’ll find her for you bro. What are we brothers for?”

“There’s something wrong,” Benjie blurted out, “I just can’t put a finger on it…”

Meanwhile, back at the apartment… Margaret is looking at a picture of a baby… she was crying…

“I’m sorry my boy… how I wanted to embrace you, to kiss you… but it’s better that you don’t see me anymore… it’s better this way my son. You’ve grown to be a fine young man…. I’m proud of you… I love you Benjamin… I’m really sorry…”

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Sid Mark

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.