Fiction logo

Snow Way In Hell

The Little A Frame

By ImperfectlyPerfectPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1
Snow Way In Hell
Photo by Pat Whelen on Unsplash

We drove up the snowy, winding road towards the cozy A-frame cabin. I hit record on my phone, as I prepared to livestream. The smash hit "All I want for Christmas Is You " blasted through the car speakers, and I belted the lyrics to the top of my lungs! My best friend Sarah did the background vocals, while I attempted my best Mariah Carey impersonation. Her MINI-Cooper had my movements somewhat restricted, so I had to do a little improv to make the finale a hit. I let down my window, stuck my head outside, and hit that final high note for all to hear. I'm not too sure, and at this point I was trembling from the cold, but the sound of an angry growl came from the woods. Oh, by the way, let me introduce myself. I am Kristin Pumpernickel, no relation to the bread whatsoever, I can assure you.

The freshly plowed road seemed to have somewhat of a sparkle to it, and I found myself practically begging to get out and glide across it in my new snow boots. " You could barely stand the chill the five seconds you had your head outside. Why on Earth would you think it's a good idea to stick your whole body out ", she asked? My friend, being the pessimist that she tends to be, listed over ten different ways I could possibly find myself having a smooch fest with the black ice. "Ehh, some intimacy is better than none. At least I don't have to worry about the ice trying to get handsy with me.", I replied. I looked to my left and saw her inhale deeply, I gave her my signature smirk in response. She pulled into a driveway and put the car in park. "Oh wow, if this is the uppercase A frame, I'd hate to see it lowercase", I grumbled. Sarah rolled her eyes and let out an exasperated breath as she reached for her cellphone. "What"? I asked. "Are you sure you booked the right cabin"?

Fifteen minutes later, we were very much so unsuccessful in reaching anyone via phone. I had dialed both numbers listed on the website all of fifty times, I kid you not. Sarah in her frustration, had started her finger taps on the steering wheel, and I knew she was just about ready to explode. Tap, Tap, Tap. I myself could feel my anxiety levels rising, but I knew that frustration could cloud judgement, so I tried a few calming techniques I learned in yoga. After a silent pause, I finally spoke to break the tension. "Listen, we have checked the address on the mailbox, and this must be the place. We can't force anyone to answer the phone. I'm not sure how we will manage to comfortably fit five people in this shoebox, but we can't just stay outside. It's starting to get dark, and this place has no streetlights.". She didn't say a word, but she grudgingly stopped her drumming and began to grab her bags from the back seat.

As we walked into the cabin, I was hit with even more disappointment. I thought the outside was bad, but I was in no way prepared for the inside. The cabin showcased an open floor plan. Not the luxurious open space that might come to mind, oh no! Open as in a studio apartment, with three sets of bunk beds. "OMG", I yelled out. "Are you kidding me right now? I refuse to be stuck in the same room with the three stooges this week". "Who"? she asked, with a look of confusion on her face. "You know exactly who I'm referring to: Corny, Harry, and Toe". " Toe", she asked. Yet again, I see she was in the mood for the guessing game. "Tyler Duh! Remember last summer when his big toe got infected?" She did a little nod. " Well, he's been wearing sandals one size too small since that day. He had the nerve to try and hide my clothes from me while I took a swim in the ocean a couple of months ago. I found him by following the line his toe made across the sand. Check Mate!" She chuckled, " You make me laugh sometimes".

"Well, I'm not one to say I told you so, but I knew we should've booked through Airbnb."

* I turned towards the camera*

Airbnb, providing extreme comfort wherever you may be. Reliability, security, and accuracy guaranteed! We list reviews and specifications, to meet your needs. Traveling can be stressful for all...But we're here for you-- winter, spring, summer, and fall.... Airbnb

Sarah stared at me. " I know you are not using our bad experience as an opportunity to set yourself up to become a brand ambassador for their company", she deadpans. I grinned and replied, "Hey, when opportunity comes knocking, someone has to answer the door ".

to be continued-------------------------------

Short Story
1

About the Creator

ImperfectlyPerfect

My favorite well known saying: An amateur does it until they get it right, while a professional does it until they can't get it wrong. Don't work to get it right, work to not get it wrong!"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Splendid story!!!💕😊💖💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.