Fiction logo

Shower

Taking one we all do.

By Alex JennettPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Shower
Photo by Roy Javier on Unsplash

We all take showers, at least most of us do. Depending on how dirty we get. And it makes us feel better when we do. Clean body clean mind or something someone once said. It inspires us to work better in the mean time. It also fixes us for a little while until we get dirty again. The water cascading down our bodies. Some of us listen to music and sing in the shower to wash off the stress of the day. It helps balance us for awhile.

I enjoy my shower nice and hot and the music nice and loud. It helps center my ego and brings me inner peace. And when i step out to dry off I feel like a better person for doing it. Then i can handle what the world has to give me.

Wiping off the residue of the day gone by or the night gone by whichever it is. With yummy smelling salts and soaps. And shampoos, that is a funny word in of itself. Crawling out of the days mess. The shower curtains even come in a wide variety of colors and patterns to choose from. Isn't that pretty awesome? I think it is. But that is another story to tell.

And the shower heads are sometimes curved even for the tallest person in town to reach and use. They make it so simple and convenient to use why not take one now? I can wait until you are finished with it. The shower I meant. I can't wait though sometimes. Laughter is contagious and that is a fact. Your shoes are untied.

Every time I try to take one I get side-tracked, but that is not always a bad thing. It keeps me going until I do take one. With the pleasantries of the day gone by I sink into a greater depression that i can't be pulled out of. It seems to spiral out of control as the leaves of whirlwind pop up. Snatching away the sides of a bullet. Bullet shaped shower curtains.

We are both here tonight, if that is all that matters. And we can both enjoy each others peace. If we work on it. Twisting each others' will in the shower curtains of destiny. And turning on the hot water until it starts to boil in our heads'. Hand sanitizing goes a long way. It gives us peace of mind. While others do not.

The shopping mall was full of department stores that had every thing to do with showers. From shower heads to faucets as well as those sticky things you put on the bottom of the tub so you don't fall when you shower. They were full of them, which is good if you do not to go very far to get all that you need. And the prices there were phenomenal cause it is not a chain store. All is fine and dandy. Until you turn another corner.

And then you find that you have been dismayed in other ways than one. But to no avail will it come to part. Twisting through the isles of the store until you can not find what you want. Sadly that is the only way to figure out what it needs to be. Warm water never turned me on more than hot water has done. But that is an observational ocurrence in my book. Passing the time by getting clean. Trying to do it with a broken ankle is also hard to do. Holding onto the sides of the wall while using the crutches at the same time.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Alex Jennett

Just starting to publish my works. Enjoy listening to music and writing poetry. I am surprised that since I started writing, within 2 years, with Vocal I have created 78 stories. Music and the written word, help me ease my high anxiety.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.