Fiction logo

Shadow Academy, chapter 38

The Nyght Tales, book 1

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

Finally, it was my turn to compete.

Everyone else in my group had gone, most being defeated by their opponent. Kade and Gabe were the only winners, and I was next.

Two female zyllahs had claimed the top five, and I knew my opponent would do her best to beat me and make it three.

Grabbing the sword and shield, I waited as the gate lifted for me to enter. My heart pounded in my chest as I stepped into the main arena, hearing the crowd cheer.

I scanned the sea of angels, spotting my House when I turned. Most of them didn't look impressed, my ma appearing like she would pass out. My va grinned, saluting me.

Eyeing the crowd again, I found all of the instructors sitting in the front row. Tarek had his arms propped on the railing, seeming nervous, but smiled at me. Maeve and Merah gave me thumbs up.

Then I faced my opponent. I didn't recognize her, and I wasn't sure if that was good or bad. But she was ready to take me out.

"Okay, everyone!" the announcer shouted, "Ready to see another Nyght versus Shade showdown?"

"YES!" was the consensus.

I couldn't keep my lip from curling, but it wasn't at her. Seriously? Who was picking the matches? And what was their deal?

I rolled my shoulders, cracking my neck as I took my fighting stance.

She lunged for me before the announcer said go. I blocked her blow easily, smacking her with my shield. I winced from the reverberation of the shield in my arm.

She stumbled back, shaking her head. This Shade was not as experienced as Kade's opponent. However, neither was I, so the odds of either of us winning were even.

I closed in on her, raising my blade. Her head was lowered toward the ground. Maybe I could catch her while she was vulnerable. I jumped up, keeping my approach quiet.

But then she slammed her shield into me, and I went sailing across the arena. I landed on my back, and the wind was knocked out of me for a moment.

She went to pounce on me, but I rolled out of the way, my sternum aching from her previous blow. She was not playing around. Well, two could play this game.

I pushed out my wings, the air touching them with its warmth. I flew several meters off of the ground, my sword and shield ready.

She smirked, doing the same, her purple wings stunning. I smiled back, going for her.

We quickly fell into almost a dance as we dueled each other. It was as if we had sparred many times together. It was difficult not to admire the grace our battle possessed.

She seemed to notice it too, flying back, "Are you taking it easy on me?"

"Divine, no! Why would you think that?"

"You have a gentle nature."

I moved my shoulders, "But I wouldn't deprive either of us the satisfaction of a well-deserved win."

My opponent grinned, "Good."

She flew to me, but I dodged her attack, slamming the hilt of my sword into her back. She fell to the ground, not staying down for long.

We did our rhythmic fight for a while longer, the crowd quiet. I wasn't sure if that was good or bad, but it gave me mental space to think of my plan to defeat her.

The back of my left hand tingled, and I smiled. I had totally forgotten I could use Elys' strength to my advantage. But would that be cheating? The rules didn't I was allowed to use my Gemini's abilities.

But as she went to stab me with her sword, I grabbed the blade, happy my armor covered my hands in time. I felt my Gemini's strength pumping through my arms.

Grinning at her, I began pushing it away from my stomach. Eyes wide, she was clearly not prepared for that, which made two of us. She tried to push it forward but to no avail. I was too strong for her now.

I then grabbed her weapon, slamming the butt of it into her sternum. She flew back, smacking onto the ground. She gasped for air, seeming unable to roll to her hands and knees.

Seizing the opportunity, I lept, landing so I hovered over her. I used my shadows to keep her from escaping, pressing both blades to her throat.

"Ready to surrender?"

"I don't want to."

"But?" I pressed the blades closer to her skin.

She laughed, "I underestimated you, Nyght."

I smiled, "You're not the only one."

My opponent tapped on the ground.

"Nyght wins!"

The crowd screamed as I helped her to her feet. "You're a good fighter. There's nothing to be ashamed of."

She smiled at me, shaking my hand, "Thank you. You are a worthy opponent."

Grabbing my sword and shield, I raised my arms into the air, feeding out of the energy of my audience. She bowed and walked off of the arena, her House obviously dissatisfied. Shades tended to be sore losers.

I glanced to where my House sat. Most of them looked indifferent or smug at the Shades. Way to make it about them and not me. Ma still looked like she would pass out.

But Va stood, shouting my name as he clapped. Warmth filled the inside of my chest. He was the only one who wasn't making this win about our family name.

I turned to see my instructors. They all had proud expressions on their faces. And Tarek seemed ready to leap over the gate to congratulate me right there.

I walked out of the arena before he could seize the opportunity. I didn't want him to be kicked out before seeing me kick some more ass. Or see him get into trouble with Owen.

Kade and Gabe ushered me in, both of them saying encouraging things. Not that I heard them, the sounds muffled in my head. It still didn't feel quite real to me.

I sat on the bench, exhaling loudly as the announcer said something in the background. I flexed my hands, making sure none of this was a dream.

'Don't worry. You're wide awake.'

'Doesn't feel that way.'

'I felt you use my strength.'

'Yeah, It just happened.'

Elys chuckled, 'Well, wish me good luck.'

"Are you okay, Ba?" Kade held my face with both hands, examining me. "Do you need a healer?"

I laughed, "No, I'm fine, just a little in shock."

"You sure?"

"Yes."

Gabe moved him back, "Hey, neither of us made it past the first round of our first Tournament."

"True, but we were both sent to the infirmary also."

I smirked, "Really?"

Kade shrugged, "We didn't like each other."

"Yeah, neither of us won that fight."

I imagined it in my mind, hearing the announcer bring out the gargoyles. I leaned forward, wishing my Gemini good luck as he prepared. He wouldn't be able to disguise my power like I could with his shifter strength.

But I knew he would make it into the next round. I just hoped they didn't pit us against each other. I knew I wouldn't be able to inflict damage on him without hurting myself.

So, I watched as the first two contenders walked into view.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create anything from fiction to personal stories, poetry, and more.

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.