Fiction logo

Shadow Academy, chapter 37

The Nyght Tales, book 1

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like

It took a while before I was even allowed to watch, much less compete.

The first round of the Tournament involved the different angel groups showing our skills with various weapons. Then we competed with other students within our groups.

We would be graded by how well we used each weapon, and the top five students with the highest overall scores from each group would advance to the next round.

It was only when my group was the next in line that I could watch. I wasn't terribly upset by it. There were screens in the waiting rooms that showed stat numbers and highlight reels.

We stepped through the weapons rooms and into one of the gated corridors leading to the main arena. I noted the temperature change, thankful my armor accommodated my needs.

Gabe and Kade stood by me, their shadows swirling around their feet. I glanced down, my shadows doing the same. Their agitation was understandable. We'd never been around so many angels at once.

I watched as the karae fought each other. It was a stunning and elegant display. Their combat avatars were beautiful. And I was slightly jealous of their ability to create weapons when required.

I knew the nanites of my armor had a similar ability, but for the karae, it was pure magic. I wasn't even sure they needed the nanites that came with their stamps.

I reached down, feeling my whip hanging from my left hip. We were also allowed to bring our personal weapons, although we couldn't use them during the first round.

Suddenly, one of the karae slammed the wall by our corridor. Dust from the stone fell from the ceiling. That wasn't worrisome at all. I brushed the dust off of my shoulders.

Her opponent took the advantage, pinning her with his avatar. But she wasn't going to lose without a fight, kneeing him in the back. She had already defeated her three previous opponents.

They rolled away from the wall back to the center of the arena, fighting as if it was the last time they'd ever do it. Maybe that was how they felt.

But who was I to judge?

Every time I was outside the dampener's influence, I exercised my magic as if I wouldn't have the chance to do so again. So perhaps they were dragging the fight out to feel their combat magic roar through their veins.

I balled my right hand into a fist, my shadow magic pooling into my palms. I grinned, feeling the strength inside me. I couldn't wait until the zyllah round began.

Eventually, the female won the fight, pinning the male to the ground with her foot. The crowds cheered, but I didn't see any hostility from the male, who shook her hand before walking out of the arena.

That was one I admired about the karae. Even when they lost to their opponent, they always showed respect. And I understood why. If only some of the other angel races showed as much respect to each other, Khysfyre would be a peaceful place.

Alright, that was the last karys battle!" The announcer shouted, "Now, it is time to see the zyllahs display their shadow powers!"

I noticed the sky was replaced with a dark ceiling, my powers instantly doubling in strength. It made sense they wanted us to be able to use the full extent of our magic.

The question was, who would be the first two fighters? Unfortunately, there weren't many of us. However, almost every zyllah student was competing in the Tournament, unlike most of the races, where only a certain number were allowed.

"The first two fighters are from rivaling Houses!"

Oh boy.

"Nyssa Shade verses Kade Nyght!"

I turned back, my ba looking a little unsettled, "Do you know her?"

Kade straightened, "Yes, we're in many of the same classes, and she doesn't like me."

I glanced at the arena, Nyssa already there. Were the females being kept separate from the males? I scanned the group of zyllahs, seeing no females. How odd of them to do.

Everything about Nyssa Shade screamed warrior, from her stance to the sword and shield in her hands, the stamp of her House shining in the dim arena.

I swallowed as the gate for us lifted. I wouldn't want to face her.

Kade also grabbed a sword and shield before walking into the arena. The crowd cheered, and he winced. Would he be okay? Or would his empathic abilities become overwhelmed?

Kade readied himself, lowering into a traditional fighting stance. I could hear the steadiness of his breath and heart rate, the crowd disappearing from my senses.

Nyssa curled her lip at him, "You are going down, Nyght."

"We'll see."

"Ready?" The announcer asked.

They raised their weapons, indicating yes.

"Go!"

Nyssa instantly lunged for Kade, who rolled to his right, dodging her blow. She didn't look happy, retaking the offensive, and again, and again. And each attempt being thwarted by his speed.

I quickly realized what my ba was doing. Kade was trying to tire her out before attacking. Because he knew he wouldn't win if he attacked now, not against a physical one anyway.

I grinned. He was smarter than I thought.

Kade faced her, "Ready to give up?"

"Never!" Nyssa threw down her weapons, shadows collecting toward her.

Kade did the same, my body aching as they battled for more magic. They were pulling it from the shadow realm and unintentionally stealing some magic from the rest of the zyllahs.

The people went silent. A relief to my ears. They were getting obnoxious, pausing and shaking my head. I was turning into Elys. What a day for that to happen.

But before Nyssa had gathered enough energy for a shadow blast, Kade shadow-grabbed her ankles, yanking her to the ground and throwing her into a wall.

Nyssa groaned, crawling to her feet, only for him to attack again. she raised her right arm, but her nanites didn't create a shield, and she was slammed into the ground again.

And Kade stood meters away from her, his shadows covering much of the arena. He didn't appear to be enjoying it, though.

However, Nyssa took flight, escaping the strongest of his magic. Kade followed her, and I soon lost sight of them.

I frowned, not sensing either of them. What was going on? I resisted the urge to shadow-jump into the arena. That would disqualify me, and I wouldn't live with the shame.

Suddenly, shadows slammed into the ground, a giant plume of dust hiding the action. I gripped the bars tightly, not hearing anything. Was my ba okay?

But as the dust cleared, I saw Nyssa in a headlock, Kade's legs wrapped firmly around her. She struggled, but he wasn't relenting.

I smiled, cheering him on.

Kade glanced at me, smirking as he used the shadows to pin her legs down. Nyssa couldn't move anymore, her expression filled with unrestrained rage.

The crowd chanted a countdown as they waited to see if she would break free. When she didn't, they cheered our House name, the announcer saying, "Nyght wins!"

Nyssa was pissed as Kade released her, both of them rolling to their feet. She kept her composure, though, storming away. What a sore loser. It was probably for the best she didn't win.

Kade raised his right fist, chanting something I couldn't understand, the audience copying him as he walked back us, the gate opening.

"Holy Divine, that was difficult." Kade exhaled loudly. "For a moment, I thought I had lost."

"But you didn't," I smiled.

He nodded, sitting on the bench.

Gabe smacked his shoulder, "You've been holding out on us."

Kade lifted his head, "Did you expect me to fight everyone at the Academy?"

"Possibly."

"I have more class than that."

I smirked, remembering our fight years ago. But the circumstances had been different, and Kade no longer held onto the anger he had for me.

Gabe didn't seem convinced but dropped it, standing and rolling his shoulders. "I'm not surprised they pitted a Shade and a Nyght against each other."

"Yeah, but it doesn't help our Houses liking each other."

He shrugged.

Now I had to wait for my turn, knowing I'd most likely be one of the last contestants to go. Who would my opponent be? I took a deep breath as the next two took the stage.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.