Fiction logo

Shadow Academy, chapter 34

The Nyght Tales, book 1

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

Staring at my dorm wall, my right knee bounced as I tried to calm my mind and release the tension from my body. It was the only place where I couldn't hear the sounds of students, faculty, or families chatting loudly.

The Tournament loomed over my head, taking place within a month, and my nerves couldn't take much more of the excitement and anxiety associated with this competition.

Everyone was preparing and freaking out over the possibility of losing. And since the Tournament involved House names, different families kept flocking around some students, putting further pressure on them to win.

I wasn't worried about losing. Not because I was cocky, but because I didn't give a damn about what some old grumps thought about my combat and magic skills. Although I was confident I would last at least into the semi-finals.

On the other hand, I finally got to meet members of the Gryphonson House, Elys telling them about our Gemini bond. They seemed impressed and gave me a warm welcome into their fold, telling us to kick ass at the Tournament.

Luckily for me and Kade, though, no one from the Nyght House had bothered to show their faces. Most of them would want us to either drop out of the Tournament or say we would screw up and shame the family name.

However, it was slightly disappointing Va hadn't come to give us advice or just to see how we were holding up. He was the only one who genuinely cared about our well-being.

I closed my eyes, drawing as much of my shadow magic to the surface as possible with the dampeners. I smirked as it fought to break free, liking that it had a mind of its own.

I also felt my stamp pulse, my right shoulder aching. Maybe I should use it, at least to practice and refine my control over it. After all, we would be using our stamps in the Tournament.

I let the nanites travel all over my skin, my training clothes absorbed for the moment. It really was like a second skin, and I could wear it all time if allowed.

The ping of my doorbell interrupted my thoughts. "Come in."

Tarek walked in, the door closing behind him. "I have been looking for you."

I lifted my head, "Why?"

"We were supposed to meet up this afternoon," he sat beside me. "I assume you forgot."

My mouth twitched, "You assume correctly. I'm sorry."

While we still were keeping our relationship relatively quiet and kept busy with the Tournament and classes, we did our best to see each other socially on a weekly basis.

"How are you holding up?"

"I'm stressed and bummed."

Tarek rested a hand on my leg, "The Tournament is a stress-inducing event."

"And no one from my House has bothered to show."

"I'm surprised that makes you upset."

I turned my head to him, "Only because my va hasn't come here yet, if he plans to."

"Oh, I'm sure he will."

"Why?"

"Because I knew Kalen when we were students at the Academy, and I can't imagine he has changed much."

I leaned my head on his shoulder, "Yeah, he's probably trying to figure out when to go unnoticed by Ma."

And was the most likely reason. Ma was like a bird circling its prey when it came to keeping tabs on my father. And with me at the Academy, it was probably much worse for him.

I lifted my head, "Do you think Kade, Elys, and I could day passes to visit him?"

"Hmm," Tarek flattened his lips, "that would be difficult, but I might be able to convince Owen," He grinned, "as long as I accompanied you."

I rolled my eyes, "Fine. You can come too."

He touched my face, "I wasn't asking your permission."

"Oh?"

He pressed his lips against mine, "I am your superior, after all."

"Uh-huh." I kissed him again. "Should we tell him about this?"

Tarek shrugged, "Do you believe he would mind?"

"I have no idea, but I can't imagine Va would be mad."

"But Kalen knows me as a peer."

I raised a brow.

"He might not like that I'm older than you."

I rolled my eyes again, "There's only like a hundred years difference between us, and we're angels, so age shouldn't be a concern."

Tarek made a contemplative face, "If you want to tell him, I'm fine with it."

"Are you sure?"

He smiled, "Yes, I am sure."

"Then we'll tell him." I playfully nudged him with my elbow. "But first, you have to get those day passes for us."

"And you need to message him about meeting up."

I glanced at my tablet. I'd never tried to communicate with either my parents or anyone from my House since being at the Academy. Never had the need or want.

"Do you want me to do for you?"

"No, I can do it," I picked up the device, "I just haven't before."

He squeezed my thigh, "Good of a time as any."

"I suppose."

I began typing my va as Tarek nuzzled against my neck, a smirk forming on my face. "You're not making this any easier."

His hand moved up and squeezed firmly, "I know."

I groaned, my pants becoming tight, "Damn, I'm trying to do something here."

Tarek kissed my neck, his hand slipping into my pants and massaging my hardness the way I liked it. "Me too."

Holy Divine.

Sighing, I quickly finished my message and sent it off before giving into what he wanted. I fell back onto my bed, grinning as the stress melted away and was replaced with pleasure.

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.