Fiction logo

Shadow Academy, chapter 33

The Nyght Tales, book 1

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

"What's with the green lights?" I rubbed my eyes.

My entire Shadow 101 class stood in a large training room where the lights were a cool, intense green, which irritated my eyes a little. They looked as confused as I felt, also blinking and rubbing their eyes.

"They are going to be a part of your training for the tournament." Joanna stepped into the light, hands behind her back. "All of you are used to Solara and the shadows she creates, but many of you will probably leave this world at some point, and I'm going to prepare you for it."

The logic in itself made sense. Different worlds circled different stars, which would affect how our magic would work. But why green? I knew for a fact green stars didn't exist.

Joanna was odd in that way, though. She often put us through strange tests and simulations. She claimed it was to prepare us, but I had a sneaky suspicion it was only to mess with us.

"Now, unlike many of our exercises, I will be the opponent, so you can either team up or be by yourself."

Gabe instantly found me. "Be my partner?"

"Who else would be?"

He laughed. "Good point."

Not many of my classmates wanted to partner up with me on anything anymore, though. They considered me a bad luck charm if such a thing existed.

However, I wasn't upset about it, for I couldn't blame them. Lots of bizarre situations happened to me, and they dragged others into them.

Suddenly, Joanna disappeared on us, and there was a charge in the air, making the hairs on the back of my neck stand.

"Here we go." Gabe widened his stance as we went back to back.

Since our abilities weren't suppressed in this room by dampeners, I reached my shadows out. Unfortunately, I still wasn't able to jump into the shadow realm on my own, although I practiced every day.

I also called upon the synergy I shared with Elys, using his heightened senses to aid me.

"Do you sense anything?"

"No," I clenched my jaw, "not Joanna."

The other students kept shadow-shifting and jumping in and out of the shadow realm. It was disorienting, to say the least.

The green light didn't help matters. I wasn't weakened by it, though. If anything, my power was stronger since it was dimmer than Solara, but it messed with my vision. Well, Elys' vision.

"Dammit, I don't sense anything either."

"Well, you do rank rather low in raw power." Unlike me, with my magic potential being high on the scale.

"Shut up, Nyght."

I chuckled, returning my attention back to the task at hand.

Out of nowhere, we were both swept off our feet. I landed on my back, Gabe landing on his side. I groaned, knowing it had been Joanna. Damn, that hurt.

The green lights began flickering, and I looked to the floor before closing my eyes. Screw it. My sight wasn't going to help me.

I dug deeper, reaching for my magic. Wow, I had much magic churning inside me, waiting to be set free. Some of it was still locked up, but what I could touch rejuvenated me.

I forced it to the surface, my shadows pleased with the power boost. I grinned, sending them beyond me. Now I could sense my surrounding clearly.

Feeling Joanna sweeping in for another attack, I grabbed Gabe by the arm and pulled us to the side, dodging her blow.

"Thanks."

"You're welcome." I knew Joanna would focus on me now. "You should probably leave."

"Why?"

"She's targeting me." I moved to evade another strike.

But Gabe's shadows remained. "No, I'm staying." He tapped into his magic more deeply too.

"Fine."

The other students hugged the perimeter, most likely watching us. I didn't care as long as they kept out of my way. I might not win, but I wouldn't let my ass get handed to me either.

This time when she attacked, I used my magic against her, sent all of us back. I did not open my eye, though. My shadows were my eyes.

"Impressive, Nyght," Joanna said, "using your instinct over your brain."

"Thanks."

"See, students," I heard her steps, "you can't always think, sometimes you have to trust your--"

I went in for another attack, shadow-grabbing her. Joanna fought me, using my magic against me. But Gabe joined in, and I took back some control.

She laughed, creating a shadow-wave. We all hit the floor, the wind knocked from our lungs.

"Ow," Gabe gasped.

I finally opened my eyes when Joanna planted her foot on my chest. "Surrender?"

I grabbed her ankle, using my Gemini's strength to flip her over. However, she shadow-jumped before I could act, appearing behind me with her legs squeezing my face and neck.

"I appreciate your spirit, Nyght." Joanna smirked, "Maybe I should place you in my advanced Shadow Magic class."

I groaned, trying to pry her thighs away.

Gabe just stood there, looking too stunned to move. But I realized she had him frozen in place, his muscles twitching to help me.

Knowing we weren't going to win, I smacked the outside her leg, and she released us, rolling to her feet. "Good job, Nyght."

I nodded, coughing.

"Underwood, you need to participate in helping your partner more." Joanna turned to the others. "The rest of you need to buck up and actually fight." Her jaw set. "This is training. You have to do the work, no matter who your opponent is."

I stood, my classmates appearing embarrassed and ashamed. Served them right. This was the Academy, after all, and we were training to compete in the tournament.

Massaging my neck, I walked to Gabe. "How do you feel?"

"Sore, and bad I didn't assist you more."

"Don't worry," I coughed again, "there wasn't much you could do anyway."

He didn't seem convinced, but said nothing.

I really didn't care. I had been too much in my magical zone to pay much attention to him. And Gabe would have plenty of opportunities to prove himself.

Joanna dismissing the class, I winced when I stepped outside and felt the dampeners snapped back on me. However, I didn't lose the new connection to my magic.

"I guess I'm not much of a warrior."

I glanced at my friend, "What's wrong with that?"

"Isn't that why we are at the Academy in the first place?"

"Not me."

Gabe raised a brow.

I smiled, "I came here for independence from my House."

"Really?"

"Yes, and to learn a wider perspective." I sighed. "Learning how to fight and use my magic are just pluses."

Gabe fell silent, contemplating what I said.

As we trekked to the Mess Hall, every muscle in my body ached from the exertion, and I still had Merah's weapons training class to do. Figured. I would be fine, though, holding my chin high.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.