Fiction logo

Running Through The Rain

Updated

By Lily AnnPublished 3 years ago 25 min read
1
Running Through The Rain
Photo by reza shayestehpour on Unsplash

CHAPTER ONE:

Samantha put the last box of her stuff down on the bed, which was on the left side of the room, right across from the other bed. She let out a sigh knowing this will be the first time she will ever have to share her room and hopefully, the last. Samantha sat down next to the box and rested her right arm on it, she tried not to lean too hard to prevent crushing the box. “Are you sure you want to stay in a dorm? We are only about three miles from the college Sammy.” My mom’s voice was soft as she said this, but I felt that I needed a new view. “Mom, I’ll be fine, and I’m close enough that I can come home on the weekends,” I say in reply as I stand up to give her another hug for the last time. “Plus, I have Maggie,” I say. Maggie was my closest friend for the past few years. We met while both our families went on vacation about two years ago and we have been close since then, Samantha took her phone out and Smiled as she leaned into her mother and took a picture. Samantha captioned it with “I finally made it, now to go through College!” Just as she finished this Maggie walked into the room carrying a couple of bags and dropped them on her bed “You would not believe the annoyance I had saying goodbye to Max” Max was Maggie’s boyfriend for almost all of high school.  Samanthamantha’s mom left Samantha grabbed her sneakers and, putting them on she and Maggie left their dorm to go get their class schedules. Once they both had their schedules, they headed over to a coffee kiosk to go over them. “Caramel macchiato” Samantha ordered, while Maggie just got a sandwich. “Do you think the first week will be pretty straightforward?” Maggie asked. I  shrugged and sat down on a bench over by the athletics building. “I can’t imagine they will be too hard; the hard parts are usually during finals and midterms,” I replied as I sipped on my coffee. We sat there together talking idly while watching a group of jocks plays soccer in the field across from where we were sitting. “I hope Max will grow into the idea of me not being around much anymore…” Maggie said quietly under her breath with a sigh. “I can’t imagine it will be easy for him, knowing you're going to be surrounded by a bunch of…hunks,” I replied motioning to all the other students who were walking around, going slower while going over the jocks. They both laughed for a moment then after Samantha finished her coffee they got up and started walking around to get to know where everything was on the campus.

 

After Samantha’s mom left Samantha grabbed her sneakers and, putting them on she and Maggie left their dorm to go get their class schedules. Once they both had their schedules, they headed over to a coffee kiosk to go over them. “Caramel macchiato” Samantha ordered, while Maggie just got a sandwich. “Do you think the first week will be pretty straightforward?” Maggie asked. I  shrugged and sat down on a bench over by the athletics building. “I can’t imagine they will be too hard; the hard parts are usually during finals and midterms,” I replied as I sipped on my coffee. We sat there together talking idly while watching a group of jocks plays soccer in the field across from where we were sitting. “I hope Max will grow into the idea of me not being around much anymore…” Maggie said quietly under her breath with a sigh. “I can’t imagine it will be easy for him, knowing you're going to be surrounded by a bunch of…hunks,” I replied motioning to all the other students who were walking around, going slower while going over the jocks. They both laughed for a moment then after Samantha finished her coffee they got up and started walking around to get to know where everything was on the campus.

 

Around 8:00 Pm they finally found themselves back inside their dorm room, Maggie laid on her bed and bounced her small rubber ball off the wall which would bounce back, and she would catch it. While Samantha sat at her desk, which was sitting right at the edge of her bed and she wrote out her classes in time order and which room they were in. “Max hasn’t called me yet; do you think he’s busy?” Maggie asked as she quickly sat up and looked at me. “I think he may be thinking the same thing about you,” I suggested hoping this would make her think to call him. He wouldn’t care if I were busy.” Maggie replied before laying back down. After a few minutes of silence, Samantha turned to Maggie, “What should we do for dinner?” She asked hoping take out would suffix. But before Maggie answered Samantha pulled out her phone and brought up the local Chinese place’s menu and she started going through it, adding on anything that may have sounded good. Samantha knew if she had waited for Maggie, they would have been up all night trying to decide what they wanted.  

After an hour Samantha got a text stating that the food was waiting outside of her dorm building, she quickly got up and started heading down the front of the building where the delivery was waiting. After grabbing the food Samantha quickly turned to rush back up to her room when she bumped into a guy, “Oh, I’m sorry…” Samantha said as she took a step back and looked up at the man who she walked directly into, he was tall, broad shoulders, sharp face, with short brunette hair that hanged just low enough to brush into his eyes. He smiled and nodded twice before walking away though, once Samantha noticed his dimples when he smiled, she instantly just wanted to melt. Quickly she rushed back up to her dorm while trying not to bump into anyone else as she went.

 

Once Samantha was back in her dorm, she started laying out the food and quickly told Maggie of what happened, “Well, did you get a name?” Maggie asked. I shook my head as I started shoving food in my mouth and eating then, after a few minutes I sat the food down “I didn’t get a name, though I hope he’s in at least one of my classes.” I stated with a small giggle. “Oh, Sam, naïve about men.” Maggie joked as she jabbed her elbow into Samantha’s side. This is only slightly true since I have only had been through a couple of relationships in the past, but nothing that lasted more than a few months. Samantha woke to Maggie doing exercises right next to her, she rolled over and looked at the clock on her phone at 6:00 AM She shot up from her bed and rushed to grab her clothes. “Why didn’t you wake me?” I asked Maggie as I rushed to grab light blue skinny jeans and a dark purple plain shirt, then rushed to get dressed. The jeans fit perfectly the hem laying gently against my ankles, the shirt hung perfectly against my torso. I put my sneakers on then rushed out of the dorm to make it in time for my classes.

 

Jace’s pov

 

I walked into the oversized kitchen in my parent's mansion up in Main, this is the first time I had been here to visit in the past century since my family and I are used to vacationing in different areas around the world. My mom was in her usual morning routine of navigating the maid on where she was meant to be and what time she should be there as to not distract any of our guests during this evening’s festivities. My mom looked at me when I walked in and she grinned. “Jace, my darling.” She said as she strides over to me. “My pride and joy, finally settling down and getting himself a future.” My mom seemed a bit too overjoyed at believing that I would ever agree to settling down and getting married. However, I believe she has finally thought that she found me a suitable partner for my quote on quote “Offspring.” I smiled at my mom then motioned over to where three other maids were attending to some baked goods over on the counter by the far side of the room. “Mother, do you really believe this is all necessary? I haven’t met the woman yet, and you’re already acting as though we will be matched perfectly, what 

if I don’t like her?” I look at my mom and see that her face had grown serious. “Jace, my son…” She paused, clearly thinking before answering my question. “It’s doesn’t matter if you like her or love her. What matters is the family fortune and that is it, the love would be a bonus.” She stated before walking out of the kitchen.  I sighed and worked my way over to the sink, leaning both hands against it on both sides I sunk my head low and gave a loud sigh.

 

After staying like that for a few minutes I noticed a maid was standing close to me, I looked up at her and she gave me a small smile and bobbed a curtsy. “Young master, do you need anything of me before I go back to my chambers?” I stared her up and down before I gave a sigh and turned my head to look out the window which was above the kitchen sink. “Blood, I am craving blood, may you go get it for me?” I asked before looking back at her, she was wearing a tight white button-up long-sleeved shirt, and a black small skirt that rode down to a bit above the knee, her dyed pink hair pulled tight into a ponytail. And she had light pink make-up on with it. I thought she looked beautiful for a maid.

 

She bobbed a curtsy again and walked away without saying another word. Once she left the kitchen Jace turned and also left the kitchen, he made his way through his parent's mansion and went into the room he was staying in for the few days that he will be visiting his family, he looked around the room a few times it was the same as he remembered it the last time he visited almost a decade ago. When he left the coop to find his own bearings in life, the walls were light blue, with a large canopy bed in the middle of the room, with dark blue bedding. There is a telescope on the left side of the room by two sliding doors leading out onto a balcony, a large bookshelf filled with educational books along every encyclopedia that could be imagined. To curb my family’s intelligence, I thought to myself as I walked farther into the room. On the right side, there is a small hallway leading to a small bathroom where I start heading to. I grab my washroom belongings and head all the way into the bathroom to set them up on the bathtub and by the sink. Then I turn on the bathtub, and start to undress, after taking my shirt off I check my arms to make sure that I remembered to take off my watch. I finished getting undressed and climbed into the tub, I leaned back and let the hot water wash over me. It has been a long time since I used anything but a shower, but my parents have always insisted on keeping the mansion in its original state as much as possible, only updating it as needed. I quickly wash and get out so I could be ready by the time guests start arriving.  

 

I decide to wear black suit pants, with a white button-up suit top and a dark laced male corset to help show off my figure that I continuously worked hard for. After I am fully dressed, I walked back out into the bedroom and I hear a quiet tapping on the door, I opened it to find the maid from earlier standing in front of me holding a glass with the dark red liquid that I had previously asked for. She curtsied, then held out the drink. I gave her a half-smile and took it, while I was sipping it she looked down and played with the hem on her sleeve for a moment, clearly not realizing that I know what she is doing I start feeling a bit of awkwardness coming from her. I bring the cup down and lick my lower lip, and feel the emotion go from awkwardness to excitement. She looked up at me and cleared her throat before announcing that the quests have started to arrive, she then turned on her heel, and quietly as a mouse she started walking away.  

I make my way through the mansion and down the stairs to come to the two glass doors leading to my parent’s ‘Grand’ ballroom. I sneak my way in through the door and look around, the room is bright yellow and gold, with gold siding and pillars, they managed to make it look beautiful and elegant, something that I am not too familiar with my father’s style.

 

I walked through the enlarged ballroom and made my way to the front where my parents stood greeting our quests with great anticipation, after walking over my mother turned to me and she gave me a warm hug, while my dad held out his hand for me to shake. “Our son, thank you for joining us for this evening's festivity, you will be shocked with our happy news.” The mother stated as she went back to greeting the guests. After greeting my parents, I walked around the ballroom also greeting guests, until the bell rang for our guests to at last be seated for supper. I found my way to the table where my family was sitting and sat down in between my older sister and my father, who had my mother on the other side of him. My sister, who knew of the events that would be going on tonight she reached over and gently put her hand on my arm. This was a gesture that she always did just before our parents did something drastic to tell me in her own way to stay calm and just let them do what they are going to do, or it will not end well.

Once the food arrived, I sat quietly and ate, waiting for my parents to finish so they can announce their new tactics for whatever reason they see fit this time. I rolled my eyes at this thought then looked over at my sister, who sat unmoving with a plate full of food. Next to her, was her husband Mathew. Who was married to her for a business deal made by your parents to create a new half breed of vampire, but my dear sister made sure that would never happen, I look like her, with my dark brown hair and green eyes. She looks sideways at me and nods her head slightly for only me to see. After about an hour of supper, after all the courses apart from dessert were served, my parents stood up and addressed everyone to settle their voices and to listen. “We want to thank everyone again for coming.” My mother started before my father intervened. “We are excited to announce the news of our son’s potential future.”      

Samantha shoved the books into her bag, her first week of classes went over in a blur and she had just enough time to make it to the coffee kiosk before she ran out of stamina for the weekend. Of course, she still had one class on Saturday but at least it was only one class, she put the bag over her shoulder and turned to find the professor handing out paperwork for the other students to fill out. She walked over and grabbed what he was holding out for her and she walked out of the classroom, I walked my way over to the coffee kiosk and was waiting in line when I pulled my phone out and started going through my texts from the morning that I never got to answer. Once my turn in line was up, I quickly rushed to order my iced caramel macchiato. After paying for and receiving my coffee I made my way over to the gym where I was meant to meet up with Maggie to go over our Psychology class together, once I reached the far end of the gym building, I saw Maggie waiting with her own cup of coffee. As Samantha walked over, she watched Maggie sit down on the grass and pull out her notebook to start writing, this was unusual for Maggie since she was not known for being the type to write something or anything down for that matter. I walked over to her and sat down next to her and leaned back against the building and shut my eyes for a moment. “We’re going to be late for class,” I stated through shut eyes. “I’m aware, I don’t really want to make this class on time anyway, I have so much going on back at home,” Maggie stated as she shut her notebook. She looked at me and grinned. “I spoke to Max, he said he’s doing good back at home, made some new friends…” She trailed off before looking down at the grass. “He’s doing good, I just…I miss him.” She stated as she choked back a small sob. “It’s hard to move far away from those that you love so much,” Samantha stated as she herself looked down at the grass. “I had to move away from my mom and my little brother, and that was one of the hardest things I had to do.” Samantha implied. She thought back and remembered saying goodbye to her little brother, standing next to her Grandmother. He had to stay behind since mom was having car troubles when we had to drive here, and she did not want him with her if the car broke down. I sighed then looked at Maggie who, now had tears going down her face. I wrapped my arm around her shoulder and took a sip of coffee, and we sat there for the next few minutes before heading off to our Psychology class. After class we headed back to our dorm room where I fell asleep studying, I woke up before it was light out. I leaned over and looked at the clock reading 4:34 Am, Samantha sighed knowing she was not going to be able to go back to sleep and she was a bit upset since it was Saturday, I sat up from my bed and looked over at Maggie, she was sprawled out on her bed snoring away. Samantha smiled and got up, she grabbed a pair of jean shorts and a pink tank top and went to the bathroom to wash up. I tied my hair back and looked in the mirror, I cringe a bit as I look at my relation to what a scarecrow might look like, long wavy red hair, dark brown eyes along with freckles the bridge along with my nose. I let out a sigh as I wipe my face with a wet washcloth. I always found myself to be a bit attractive, but my lack of relationships has tried to prove me a bit otherwise.

I climb out of the shower dry off before I started getting dressed, after that, I left the bathroom and grabbed my sneakers, and walked out the door while trying to put them on, not really knowing exactly where I’m headed.

Once outside I checked my phone to see how far anything away is, luckily, I found a small pier not far from my school where it's within driving distance, I get into my car and roll down the windows, as I drove through the town heading toward the city of Main I swerved through the streets and thought of where I could go after I went to the beach. As I pulled into the parking lot I started at the water with the sun just starting to shine in the distance, Samantha got out and walked over to the sand with a slight effort, barely feeling the sand starting to touch the tops of her shoes. She drew in a deep breath then slowly sat down in the sand and pulled her knees up to her chest and stared as the sun rose in the distance. 

Jace POV

Everyone stood up and clapped in excitement, my sister sat frozen as she stared out into the sea of guests. I looked between her and my bride-to-be who was standing sitting at the table across from mine, she sat there with a scowl across her face, she was clearly uninterested. I stood up and started walking out of the ballroom and out onto the balcony, I leaned over and let out a deep sigh, I knew if I had a beating heart I would know what it felt like for it to be broken right now. I look out into the night sky, after a few moments I start hearing footsteps I look down at the water ahead there is a beach not far from my parent’s mansion that does not get that many visitors anymore. I look through the water then through the sand until I notice a woman sitting down by the water, she was pale in the twilight, with dark red hair that blew behind her and over her shoulders in the breeze that was blowing through the air.  Jace stared at her as she slowly stood up and took her shoes off and made her way into the water, he watched as she looked around then went deeper into the water, Jace caught his breath as he saw her face. It was heart-shaped with high cheekbones, that looked stunning with her red hair forming her face, He watched as she dove into the water and started swimming out into the ocean. Just then Jace heard the doors of the balcony open and a chirpy voice called out. “Jace, you left me all alone in there!” Cringing Jace turned around and stared into his betrothed eyes, they looked hard and cold.  “Cynthia…” He whispered before shaking his head and turning back to look at the girl who was swimming. “Darling, come back to the party…” He heard the pouting in Cynthia’s voice as she walked over to stand next to him. “I do not wish to attend this party, and I do not wish to marry you,” Jace stated as he no longer could find the woman in the water, he turned on his heels and walked back into the ballroom and through there back to his room.

 

Jace shut the double doors to his room and walked back to the bathroom to get undressed, He was sure that his parents found the perfect human to breed beautiful half breeds for their unveiling plans for the future of this family. I stared at myself through the mirror and at once saw the resemblance of my father, his sharp chin, dark eyes, and his always sophisticated look. I sighed and turned heading back out into the bedroom and sat in the chair behind my desk and started going through my files.

 

Samantha’s POV

Coming out of the water I realized that I forget any extra clothes or a towel to dry myself off, I cross my arms and shiver as I run toward my car. Climbing in I instantly turn on the heat and quickly pull out my phone to contact Maggie. “Hey, want to come to join me in the city for some shopping?” I ask in the text to her. “Meet me at the campus parking lot.” She replied. I smiled and drove out of the parking lot and down the street heading back towards the campus. Once back at the campus, I pulled up for Maggie and rolled down the window “Your driver has arrived at last, please tell me your destination, miss?” I said jokingly to her as she climbed in on the other side. “To the moon.” She replied casually. We both laughed as I drove out of the parking lot.

I drove until we were back in the city and found ourselves parked outside a few shops, we got out and looked around. “While we are here, we can look for places to apply for employment.”    Samantha suggested, Maggie laughed and shook her head, “Suit yourself, but as for me I’m going to keep busy with my classes.” Samantha watched as Maggie started walking toward the first shop.

They first went into a dress shop; Maggie suggested it because she thought she could spice up her wardrobe for Max when he comes up to visit at the end of this month. She decided to stay in a hotel room with him for the week instead of the dorm room since he will not be welcomed for more than a day. I browsed the section in the far corner where they had all their black dresses, while she was searching through the clothes, she noticed a woman standing at the counter with a pile of clothes in her arms and staring at Samantha the woman was wearing a short blue pencil skirt and a tight white blouse she has long brunette hair that was tied behind her head in a long pony-tail her face was calm yet looked assertive. I gave a small smile and nodded my head as to say “Hello.” But the woman just kept staring at her as if she were in a freak show, giving a shrug I turned back to the clothes and grabbed a couple to try on. Once I came out of the changing room I was met with the woman who was standing at the counter, she had two bags of clothes on either side of her, the ones in her arms at the counter I suppose. I pressed my lips together and went to move next to her to get by, but the woman only moved with her. “Can I help you?” I asked in frustration after this had happened a couple of times with the woman not saying anything to me.  “Can I help you?” I repeated as I rose my eyebrows. The woman pressed her lips together then parted then again for a moment before answering, “I apologize, but you go to the local college?” The woman asked as she reached her hand out. I stared at it for a moment before looking back up at her. “If you cannot   tell me what you need, then I’ll be on my way.” I tried to move past her once again but again, she moved right in front of me. “My name is Anna; I work over in the local mansion as a house manager. If you are looking for work in the future, please stop by for an interview.” The woman reached into her pocket and pulled out a card and held it out to me before letting it drop as she walked away and out of the store. I walked out of the changing rooms and worked my way around the store to find Maggie, once I found her, I walked up and grabbed her arm. “Woah jumpy,” Maggie said as she turned toward me. “Everything okay?” She asked, “Yes, I think…did you see that woman that was talking to me?” I asked. Maggie shook her head and went back to the dresses. “I didn’t see anyone talking to you much less any other customers in the store.” She stated before holding out the clothes she was wearing, “Are you ready?” Maggie asked. I nodded then put the clothes I tried on back before making my way outside to wait for Maggie to pay for the clothes, While waiting I pulled out the card the woman gave to me and read it. “Looking for new work? Come by 2286 Sentra Blvd. We hire experienced chefs and maids. Currently hiring.” I shook my head and put the card in the back pocket of my shorts.

Jace's POV

I opened my eyes to the sun shining in through the open doors leading out into the balcony. I let out a small sigh as I told myself it was time to get up, Cynthia walked over, her silk dress swaying behind her. She gave me a smile as she outreached her hands. "Good morning my darling!" She said in a sing-song voice. I groaned and rolled over to look at the clock. "No, it's not morning yet," I muttered quietly Cynthia walked over to me and hummed as she gently placed a potted plant on my bedside table,  "I thought our room could use more color to it." She stated as she walked over to grab another pot. " I let out a groan as I sat up from the bed, "It's not our room," I started quickly. "We aren't getting married," I stated as I stood up. Cynthia put the pot she was holding next to my desk. I walked over to my bedside table and pushed over the potted plant that was sitting on it, letting it smash onto the floor. Cynthia let out a small gasp as I turned and started walking out of the room, pausing to look back at her. "And when I come back, I want you and the pots out of here," I stated as I left my bedroom shutting the door behind me. 

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.