Fiction logo

Roland and the Rose Princess:

Chapter 2

By Saroyan ColesPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
Like
Roland and the Rose Princess:
Photo by Birmingham Museums Trust on Unsplash

One fall morning, I heard my stepmother call for me from the kitchen. Her calmness causes a stir inside my core. “Gisela, she growled, here is a spoon for you.” The warm water flung off the spoon sprinkling droplets on my face. I squinted from the unexpected shower that greeted me like the day. “The pond that rest on the edge of the garden, you must empty the pond out by hand. Again, she warned, if the task is not done by nightfall, you know what will happen child.”

I nodded out of obedience, as there was no backing out of the task. After examining the spoon, I was swift to hear, and slow to speak, “Stepmother, this spoon has holes, in it?”

“Why, yes, it does Gisela. You have proven, to be quite industrious, this task should be a challenge for you.” She ushered me out the door like dust on a corn broom. Matilda stayed indoors and out of the weather like creature comforts.

While I was out, Matilda voiced her jealously loudly enough to wake the dead. “Mother, I do not have an apron as beautiful as she, I must- no, I will have that apron!” Matilda let out a entitled cackle.

“Be quiet, my child, it will be yours, and you shall have it.” She hushed Matilda with her stare.

The leaves were changing vibrant yellows, reds, and oranges that covered the ponds surface like autumn. Outside, the cool breeze of fall was refreshing, a change of pace from the cold comfort radiating from my stepmother and sister inside.

I took the spoon in hand, even if this was not full of holes, I could never empty this in a day. I knelt by the water; my tears caused small ripples. I need to cheer up, the more tears I shed, the longer it will take me to empty the pond.

Exhaling deeply, I began to sing a song to chase the depressive thoughts away. I heard horses’ hooves in the background, then footsteps, inching closer. “Kindly woman, I thought you had left for good.” Startled I peered up, shocked that it was not a woman at all. But a young man my age I toppled over into the water.

“I am sorry to startle you, he bent down to take my hand, and help me up out of the pond. Tadpoles escaping from my lien stay. I could feel heat rushing to my face abashed.

“I just heard, your singing, passing through town, and I wanted to introduce myself. Wait right there, he took off his saddle blanket, beating out the dust. Draping the blanket over my shoulder.

“Hello, my name is Roland Wilhelm, what is your name?” He asked making small talk.

“Gisela Grimm, sorry the water from the pond is making my hand cold.” I said apologetically like a defense mechanism.

“That’s okay, my hands are warm, we would make a good match.” Roland flirty as love potion. He wiped a lingering tear from my eyes and slicked back my hair from my face. Why the tears, and what is with the spoon? He asked confuzzled, scratching his head.

Roland had so many inquisitive questions, and all I could think to say was, “This is all to please my step-mother, if I do not complete the task, she will make me sleep under the stars.”

“What a wretched woman, to treat such a soft-spoken beauty like yourself, so poorly. She does not sound like a kindly old woman at all.” He must have thought I was referring to my stepmother before and not the helpful acquaintance. I pity her if she had any other daughters.” He laughed halfheartedly looking past her.

“No, she is not, and she does.” I admitted.

“I see, well is that your home in the distance?” Roland inquired.

I nodded yes thinking this interaction has been a distraction from her task.

Roland could see my agitation. Quickly he added, “If the task is not completed to her satisfaction. I will meet you tonight with a warm blanket. and stay with you all night.”

“Roland, we just met,” I giggled brushing off his offer.

“I will just have to earn your trust in time. I know a good way to start.” He walked over to his horse and pulled out a large water canteen and bent down to fill up the bottle to the brim. He then set the bottle aside like a coin.

He began shoveling the water out of the pond with his hands, splashing me in the face playfully.

Uncertain I splashed him waiting the backlash. But that aggression never came out. All the sudden this daunting task did not seem so difficult. Roland and I spent the afternoon in bliss; I had pushed back the fear and anxiety of my stepmother’s wrath. For the first time, I did not feel like a spare, I felt important, and alive as a briar patch.

Roland promises as he mounts his horse, “Gisela, I will be there before the next tear drop falls.” He said with confidence and chivalry.

I could feel a smile forming this action, made my face feel funny.

In the mid-afternoon, I was busily trying to complete the task at hand. In the mist of working towards emptying the pond, the kindly woman, stopped into visit.

Again, I told the woman, how my morning began, like I was talking underwater. I presented her with the spoon given. I gushed about my encounter with Roland.

“Be of good cheer, my child and go to the thicket. Just like before she refrained, do not be afraid of your stepmother, my child, it is not work that kills, but worry. Go rest awhile, I will take over the workload.” She assured me.

As soon as I was out of sight, my bare feet grounding myself. The tall blades of grass tickled my palms. The lush grass welcomed my body to rest like a fawn.

The kindly woman pinched her fingers together as if she was adding flour to a mixing bowl. Vapors levitated from the pond, not mingling long. The waters returned to fluffiness of the clouds. The white clouds overhead turned into gray storm clouds, As the pond gradually emptied itself without her lifting a finger.

By Anandu Vinod on Unsplash

Sunset set, and the sound of thunder in the distance woke me. Returning to the pond in the mud was three small fishes like tiny prills. I grabbed the slotted spoon, and the canteen left by Roland. I sprinkled water onto of them as I transplanted them into a nearby trickling stream. As tossed the canteen in the brush of the thicket.

I went to my stepmother, to show her the pond had indeed been emptied. Her first response to my presence was she did not give a toss, “For land sakes, you are soaked through, did you fall in Gisela? I am glad to see that you can swim.” Stepmother’s voice seemed almost disappointed that I wasn’t a lifeless body floating in the pond.

By Hans Isaacson on Unsplash

“I will show you all that is left of the pond is a mud hole.” I proclaimed. My stepmother had a look of disbelief on her face. She stood indignantly, walking outside to ahead of me without holding the door. “Ouch” I rubbed my sore shoulder from the door.

She critically eyed the pond. “Gisela, the pond ought to have been done long before this time, the mud is still wet, so did not fully complete the task. You will be sleeping under the stars, tonight, as she locked the door in my face.

I could hear stepmother angrily mumble through the door gaps, “I must think of something more difficult.”

I sat on the stoop of our house as the night grew chilly. I heard a rustling in the bushes I watched as the sun said good night, and the moon said hello.

“Hello, kindly woman, is that you?” I called out to the darkness.

“No Gisela, it’s I Roland.” He announced a blanket bundle under his arm.

I couldn’t help but be thankful to see him. “You came back for me?”

“I did.” He told me confidently.

As Roland and I talked we moved closer to one another. My arm fell alongside his, and I could hear my heartbeat faster. Fast as friends he reached out for my hand. Roland leaned in and brushed my cheek with his. I closed my eyes. He leaned in and kissed me. I couldn’t believe that just happened. I must have had a complete look of shock on my face.

Roland pulled back from me, “Sorry, I shouldn’t of- No I like you. Do you like me?”

Gleefully happy all I could manage to do was smile. We kissed again. I got this incomparable feeling, of wonderfulness. Our conversations felt endless. We laid on a blanket on the ground and stargazed laughing and joking.

All the sudden, Roland pulled the cover over the top of us. "What are you doing?” I asked curious. He rolled over the top of me resting his weight on his arms. I traced my fingertips over his bicep.

I could feel his body shudder. He leaned in close our noses a few inches apart. “Gisela, I love you!” he whispered softly.

Dawn was approaching, and the way he said, I love you made my body melt. Without hesitation, I said “Roland, I love you too!” Well, my stepmother will be up in the early morning, I wrapped my arms around him, resting my head on his chest. Quietly, I said, “I am going to miss you!”

Roland said, “I miss you too!”

“Do you have to go?” I asked knowing the answer.

“Yes, I do, I promise, I will be back, and come see you.” Roland said lovingly.

“Promise?” I inquired trustingly.

“Yes, I miss you and I haven’t even left yet.” Roland admitted aloud.

Those are just a few of my lasting memories with Roland I have. The most unforgettable times of happiness remaining in the chamber of my heart

By Mockaroon on Unsplash

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Saroyan Coles

I want to empower others with my writing. I have always dreamed of seeing my name, on something.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.