Fiction logo

River of Purgatory

Can I really come back?

By Josephine MasonPublished 3 years ago 12 min read
2
River of Purgatory
Photo by Patrick Robert Doyle on Unsplash

There's a storm raging outside. That's not all that uncommon since it is the rainy season but this one had been much fiercer than had been anticipated. By the time my family and I had realized that it was far too late to evacuate. We had broken down much of our furniture to barricade the windows as much as possible. We had also stacked our beds on top of one another and then climbed up so as to be as high as we could manage. Unfortunately none of it was enough. The water engulfed our home shattering the windows and barricades as if they were made of paper. The last thing I remembered was holding my family tight as the water swallowed us all.

I woke up in a darkened cavern. As I sat up confused I realized I was nowhere near my home. My family was all gone. The only person I could see was someone with their back to me. However I immediately knew this was no ordinary person. They had six arms each one holding a scythe that the person was juggling. I watched in terror and fascination as they juggled the scythes faster and faster. Suddenly they missed one and the blade sank with a sickening sound into their head. All I heard after that was the person muttering, "Thousands of years to practice and I still can't get it right."

They slowly pulled the scythe from their head and I could see clearly to the other side of them now. Suddenly an eyeball still connected to the socket swiveled around to look at me and with a smooth but annoyed feminine voice said, "Of course you're awake. I'm sure you just saw me completely blow that didn't you?" I just stared in abject horror, my mind still trying to process what I had just seen. The person turned slowly now, their eyeball having moved back to its proper location. Its head was slowly starting to stitch itself back together.

I could only continue to stare as I watched whatever this thing was healing itself. My brain had a million questions but I couldn't get my mouth to vocalize any of them. Soon the healing was done and I got a full look at this thing. It stood easily eight feet tall and was impossibly thin. It was wearing a silver and turquoise harlequin outfit like you would see on a jester at a renaissance fair. It's mask was off the same color and design but while the right side had an upturned smile the left was pulled into a furious frown. It's six arms were all stock still at the moment with all the scythes pointed at me. Including the one that had fallen into its skull that was currently dropping with black ichor. If it had eyes they were hidden by the mask and while it's voice was feminine nothing else about it was except for it's thin and wispy frame.

It started to walk towards me now, "What's wrong my son? Cat got your tongue?" It laughed now, it's laughter floating through the air like silver bells but carrying an undertone of something so much darker. It reached me and leaned down, peering at me, "Speak soon or I'll decide for myself where you should go."

With those words ringing in my mind I managed to squeak out, "What are you?" My eyes darted around trying not to look at it's face or all the scythes currently surrounding me.

It stands up and twirls quickly, the scythes rushing just barely over my head, "It does know how to speak. Oh how delightful! Maybe my day won't be so boring after all. I am the guardian between life and death. I am the arbitrator between heaven and hell or whatever your culture may call those places. I am a servant of no one who serves everyone. But you may call me Felice." With that it continues to twirl moving away from me now, "Up boy up! We have much to discuss before you get on the boat."

I slowly stand my facilities starting to come back to me, "Is your name really Felice? That seems such an ordinary name for something that is quite extraordinary." I gulp as soon as I've said those words only upon hearing them out loud do I realize how rude they sound.

The thing laughs again though the sinister undertone is much closer to the front of the laugh this time. "It is for today. My name changes upon my mood. It may even change while we talk. Now enough about me. Let's talk about you." With that it throws all six scythes in the air and they land around me in a six pointed figure. After the last one falls I look back to the thing which is now holding a leather bound folder with my name printed on it. Underneath is a stamp with the word 'DECEASED'.

I stand still deciding it would be best not to move for the time being, "So what is that my life story or something?"

Felice closed the folder and with a flick of its wrist it is gone, "Yep real sob story. Grew up poor as could be. But had a wonderful caring family who you loved very much and who loved you. Died to torrential flooding embracing each other when your town's river overflowed from the rains. Even if you had evacuated, where would you have gone? Dead at seventeen. If I could cry it would bring a tear to my eye. So anyways your whole family is also dead but apparently they weren't a problem to sort. You on the other hand get to go on a trip down the river. Because you still had so much untapped possibility someone somewhere has been kind enough to grant you a chance to go back. But only if you can pass my trials."

I continued standing in the center of all the scythes, "Untapped potential? Someone? Trials? A river? Finally may I ask what?!" I stared exasperated at the creature.

The thing looked at me it's head slightly tilted before flicking all of it's wrists this time and the scythes returned to its hands, "Sometimes when someone dies a power in the universe decides they don't like that. Could be for any number of reasons though typically has something to do with pushing their own agenda. When that happens that person gets sent here. I get a briefing as to why you are here which I can't share with you. I build a trial I find appropriate for you and if you pass you get to live again. If you don't then you go to wherever you would have upon death. The trial always takes place in my river which is my source of power. So there you go questions answered. If you have any more questions, too bad because I don't care. In the boat with you so I can get back to juggling."

Felice steps out of my way revealing a small wooden boat with two oars tied to a small dock. I start to open my mouth but Felice shakes its head and just points a scythe at the boat before starting to juggle them. Shrugging I walk over to the boat, climb in and start rowing downstream. It doesn't take long before I can no longer see Felice. I'm now in a passageway lit by torches on both sides. The walls reach up forever with no ceiling in sight. I see another dock ahead of me and head towards it. When I reach it the boat automatically stops. No matter how much I push the oars it doesn't move.

After about five minutes I start to stand when out of thin air my whole family appears. The boat is now suddenly large enough to accommodate them as they climb in. My mother hugs me, "Oh I thought we had lost you forever. It's so good to see you, my son."

I blink away tears, "Mother is that really you? I was told all of you had died with me and been sent to your new homes. I hate to ask this but is this really you?"

My mother pulled away in shock, "Died? New homes? What are you talking about? No son, none of us died. The flood just took us far away from home. But now we're back together so we can make it back home. Just follow the river, son. It will take us back home." I began rowing again noticing as I did that the rest of my family was completely silent. Neither my father or my two younger brothers had moved or said a word since getting on the boat. I wave at them but get no response.

I looked at my mother, "Mother why are you the only one talking and moving? Everyone else almost looks like they're dead."

My mother looked back at my father and brothers, "Oh they're all just so tired you know. From walking here." She seemed to be nervous about my questioning.

I continued rowing, "So what happened to all of you after the water came into the house? I blacked out and woke up in this place."

My mother smiled, happy that I had let things go, "We were swept two towns down from the river and have been walking back since. That's why everyone is so tired. I'm so glad we found you. I was so worried this whole time. But now there are no worries son, we can go home and rebuild."

Looking around I realized we were in another passageway, this one stretching on and on. I was happy to be with my family but not like this. Regardless of what my mother said I knew we were dead. Why else would I have met a six armed being juggling scythes? And while this person seemed like my mother I knew they weren't somewhere deep in me. Finally I bit the bullet, "Who are you really? My family died, same as me. Why are you here? I can't stay on this river forever. There's nothing up ahead. I will always love my family whether I'm dead or alive and especially my mother but I have to accept that we all died. If I don't I'll never leave this place or worse I'll go somewhere terrible where I know none of you are."

My mother began to cry. Full body wracking sobs coming from her, "Why would you say that? Of course it's us."

I sighed and stopped rowing, "Please stop this. I've accepted the facts and while they make me sad I have to move forward. So please just stop."

Everyone but my mother disappears from the boat. She grabs me by my shoulders shaking me, "No! You can't just banish us away. We're a family! Don't you want to be with your family?"

I gently took her hands off my shoulders, "Of course I do. But I want to be with them when it's my time to be with them. Death is not something to be feared or to crush us. We must accept that death is an everlasting fact of the universe. All things must eventually pass this is simply the truth. And that no one is truly dead as long as they are within your heart. With a single thought they can be by your side. Yes their physical touch may be gone but the touch of their heart will live on in me for as long as I live. So please leave so I may live my life in peace with my family in my heart."

My mother disappears now as well without a single word. I blink and I'm back at the dock I started at with Felice. Felice is still juggling and I arrived just in time to watch another scythe sink into its head. It pulls the scythe out and with its head still split open speaks, "Oh my! You came back and much sooner than I would have thought. Did being with your family just not appeal to you? Or were you eager to go back to living so much you would forsake them?"

I shook my head at it, "Neither. That wasn't my family. I have no desire to leave them and I do not have to. No matter where they are and where I am, they are here." I pat my chest. "Your trial was poorly designed for someone who comes from a culture with such beliefs."

Felice dropped its scythes and began to storm towards me. I got the distinct impression I had angered it, "Poorly designed?! My trial was perfect! All humans regardless of their beliefs crumble at the thought of actually having to lose people. How dare you! I should strike you down here and sentence you to oblivion for that poorly thought out remark." With that it summoned one scythe to itself, it took it in two hands and swung it at my neck stopping a hair's breadth from taking my head. It groans as it's head swivels at various angles that become more and more sickening to see before stopping, "Whatever likes you son likes you more than you could know or want. Personally letting you live seems like the best way to punish you. So get out of here and pray you never see me again."

I open my mouth to say something and suddenly I'm coughing up water. I'm in a tree straddled in between two branches right above the water. The rain has finally stopped. I tapped my chest, "I love you all and I'll see you when it's my time."

Felice begins juggling again, humming to itself, "Poor boy. Should have just let me kill him."

I hope you all enjoyed this story. This was partially born from a dream I had as a child. If you did like it then please leave a like, subscribe, and of course feel free to tip if you want. Till next time.

Horror
2

About the Creator

Josephine Mason

I write because I'm always drifting off to other lands in my mind. Please subscribe, like, and if I'm doing well please tip. You can buy my first book now at the link below. Available on many ebook platforms. https://books2read.com/u/bQygdE

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.