Fiction logo

Red - Ch3

Starlit Date

By Chanelle JoyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 11 min read
1
Red - Ch3
Photo by Dylan Shaw on Unsplash

Simon was yelling. Simon always yelled at me. I was crouched, huddled in the corner of my room at the Inn, arms over my head, seeking shelter and protection from his onslaught. I was alone and helpless. Jacqui, Jill and Ruby were all at dinner. I couldn’t sit down. My bottom stung from the brutal assault Simon had given it with his belt. A welt had quickly formed on my thighs from the same treatment. He grabbed me roughly by the arm and pulled me to my feet.

“Do you think you can just leave me, bitch?” he screamed at me. “I own you, woman. I will always own you. You are mine and I can do with you whatever I want.”

“Simon, please.” I was crying. Tears mingled with the snot pooling on my upper lip.

He slapped me in the face, almost knocking me back to the ground. “You’re pathetic,” Simon spat at me. “I don’t even know why I bother with you.”

“Please. I’m s…sorry. P… please,” I begged. “I p…promise I’ll be g….good.”

“Oh, you will be good alright. Yes, you will.”

I heard a clicking sound. Raising my head, I came face to face with the barrel of a loaded gun.

Simon smirked at me. “What harm could a corpse do?”

“No! No! Simon please… No….”

“Erin! Erin!”

“No. Leave me alone!” I flung my arms out wildly, hoping to fend off my attacker. Someone caught them and held them in a fast grip.

“Let me go! Let me go!” I screamed.

“Erin. Erin, it’s ok. You’re ok. It’s me, Jacqui. Jill and Ruby are here, too.”

“Jacqui? What?” Disorientated and confused, I opened my eyes just a little, enough so I could see. Three faces, all full of concern, gazed back at me. I sat up slowly.

“Simon…” I began.

“Isn’t here,” finished Jill. “You were having a nightmare, sweetheart.” She reached out and brushed my tangled hair from my face.

“A nightmare,” I murmured.

“You were thrashing about like crazy.” Jacqui’s voice was shaking. “We couldn’t wake you up. You just kept screaming.”

“But it was just a dream,” stated Jill firmly. “A nightmare. That’s all. Erin is safe, we’re all safe.”

“What time is it?”

Ruby checked her watch. She always slept with her watch on. “Quarter past one.”

Only quarter past one. I’d been asleep for a mere hour yet it felt like the dream had been going all night. I was exhausted.

“Do you want to talk about it?” Jacqui asked.

I shook my head. Talking about it at that moment would only make it seem more real. “Maybe in the morning.”

“Do you think you can go back to sleep? I can give you one of my sleeping pills if you like?” Ruby suffered from insomnia. Her brain just couldn’t shut down. It was always working, always thinking, always coming up with new ideas or solving some problem or another. I guess that was part of being a genius.

“Thanks, Ruby, but I think I should be fine.”

“We’re all here if you need us.” Jacqui gave me a hug, followed by Jill and Ruby.

I tossed and turned for the rest of the night. I should have had one of those damn pills. Eventually, I fell into a fitful sleep.

My dreams were kinder this time. I dreamed of an old woman, the old woman from the supermarket. In one hand, she was holding a red ribbon that was blowing about in the breeze. Raising it high, she let it go. I expected it to be caught by the wind but it remained in place, as though attached to a pole, fluttering and dancing in mesmerizing patterns, waiting. Somehow, I knew it was waiting for me to follow. Once again, I became the eagle. I took wing and soared, following the red ribbon. It came to a crossroad and landed in a heap on the dusty ground. My clawed feet touched down gently and I was human again. I stood at the crossroads wondering which way I should go. The young Aboriginal man appeared on the path to my right. A plant of bright red flowers shot up beside him. He picked one and tossed it into the air. It caught in the wind, spiraling in place, waiting for me to follow. As I leapt into the air, the man’s words echoed in my mind.

“Follow the red,” he said. “Remember. Always follow the red.”

*******

Two days later, I was still shaken by the nightmare. I tried to cover it up but the little blossom of hope had suffered a fatal blow and now lay in a shriveled wreck. I thought it was beyond resurrection, however, I’d been wrong. Jacqui’s prediction came true and Dale asked me to have dinner with him. Given the circumstances and my current mood, I was going to say no. Instead, I found myself saying sure, I’d love to. I hope I don’t regret this, I’d thought as soon as Dale walked away.

On the eve of the date, I flitted nervously about the room like a hummingbird. There was still half an hour before Dale would be at my door but I was already dressed and ready to go. I’d put on the best outfit I had brought with me which was a pair of white denim shorts and a forest green, loose-fitting shirt. Not the greatest outfit for a first date, but it would have to do. While I had hoped to make a few friends to have dinners with, dating was not something I had anticipated at all. Thankfully though, I had also brought a pair of nice, tan sandals with matching belt and bag. I left my hair down, letting the loose waves fall freely. With a touch of makeup, I was done. I studied myself critically in the bathroom mirror. Simon would not have approved of this as adequate dress for a dinner date. He would have required an evening gown.

Dale isn’t Simon, I scolded myself.

Jacqui knocked on the bathroom door. “You done in there yet?”

“Sorry, yes. Come in.”

“Hey, look at you! You look hot!” Jacqui joined me by the mirror. “Green really suits you. Brings out your eyes.”

“Jacqui, I don’t think I can do this.” My stomach heaved like a ship at sea. For the second time on this trip, I thought I was going to vomit. Panic clouded the edges of my vision.

“How could I eat? Oh gosh! I have to eat in front of Dale! I’m just going to vomit it straight back up! Good impression that would make. Maybe I should call and cancel, tell him I’m sick. It wouldn’t exactly be a lie because…”

“Erin.” Jacqui cut me off. Grabbing my arms, she pulled me into our room and sat me on the edge of my bed. “Erin, you can do this. You’re stronger than you think or else you wouldn’t even be here. Don’t let Simon ruin your life. Don’t let him win. You deserve a nice night out with a spunky man.”

There wasn’t time for me to answer as a knock sounded at the door. I yelped, quickly covering my mouth with my hand. I looked at Jacqui in panic. This was a mistake. I wasn’t ready for this.

“Coming!” Jacqui called. “Breathe,” she whispered to me.

I was trembling all over. Jacqui put a hand on my arm to steady me as I rose on wobbly legs and kept it there as I opened the door to reveal Dale waiting on the other side. My breath caught in my chest at the sight of him. He had traded his usual ripped jeans for a pair of smart black ones, tight in all the right places. His scuffed work shoes had also been replaced by a pair of polished black cowboy boots with silver buckles that matched the silver buckle on his belt. A short-sleeved, red checkered shirt strained across his broad shoulders and muscular torso. I tried to stop myself staring at his well-defined arms. As always, his head was topped with an akubra, black this time, and in his hand was a picnic basket. Even his guitar had come along, the strap of its case slung over one shoulder. Oh goodness, is he going to serenade me? He smiled his brilliant smile and tipped his hat.

“Ladies,” he said in greeting.

“Hey, Dale,” Jacqui replied easily.

“H…” I cleared my throat. “Hi.”

He turned the full force of that smile on me and I almost melted. “Ready to go?”

“Ah, I think so.”

“You’re ready,” Jacqui assured me. “You just need this.” She handed me my bag.

“Thanks.” I took it from her and hung it over my shoulder. “Ok. Ready.”

“You kids have fun now. But you,” she pointed a finger in Dale’s face. “You best have her back by midnight or there will be hell to pay.” Hands on hips, she looked up at him all fire and brimstone – a truly comical sight given as she only reached the height of his elbow – yet she held onto that pose until a laugh escaped her lips.

“Phew! You had me going for a second there.” Dale chuckled and offered me his arm. “Don’t worry. I’ll take good care of you, darlin’.”

I flushed. There was that term again. I laced my arm through his as we said our goodbyes to Jacqui.

“So, ah…” I was lost for words until, thankfully, my eyes caught the picnic basket. “Are we having a picnic?”

“Not just any picnic. A sunset picnic.” He grinned at me. “I thought it would be something a bit different, a little more private. Is that okay?”

“Yes, of course,” I said aloud but inside my panic was rising. I would be completely alone with him. No distractions, no disappearing into the bathroom if I started getting overwhelmed.

No one to hear me scream…

What? Where had that come from?

Stop it, Erin. Why would you have any reason to scream? Dale isn’t like Simon. Give him the benefit of the doubt for goodness’s sake!

“Are you sure?” Dale asked. “It’s not too cliché, is it?

Shoveling aside my inner turmoil, I smiled up at him. “It’s a lovely idea.”

The relief on his face was evident and he exhaled, like he’d been holding his breath. Was he nervous, or was it just my imagination?

We made our way outside and set up under a gumtree offering ample shade from the sun and heat.

“Here seems like a good spot. Let me pull out your chair.” Dale set the basket down and pulled out a picnic rug, spreading it upon the ground with a dramatic flourish.

I giggled in delight, surprising myself, and he grinned a bright, happy grin.

He was incredibly charming and I found myself relaxing easily into conversation. We watched the sun go down while sipping on a glass of red wine and eating a delicious meal, which Dale had prepared himself. Time flew by and before we knew it, the stars were out, winking down at us from the vast, inky black sky in multitudes. Dale took off his hat and let the cool breeze tussle his flattened hair. I wanted to reach out and play with that hair myself, but I was too afraid.

Strange to be jealous of a breeze. I shook my head at my own thoughts, trying to dislodge them. I didn’t want anything spoiling this night. It was going so well.

Dale took out his guitar and began to strum a soft, slow melody. I watched, transfixed by the beautiful sight. How can someone be so sexy? Closing my eyes, I let the music flow through me and took a deep, contented breath. I wanted to remember this moment forever. Quietly, I reached for my camera and changed the setting to night mode. I was hoping to be discreet except, I had forgotten about the flash.

“Oops!” I cried, completely embarrassed. “Sorry!”

Dale laughed and winked at me. “I don’t mind.”

He kept playing and I snapped one more picture then let myself fall back, stretching out on the rug. Time stood still. The tune morphed into a familiar song and I hummed along. Dale started to sing and I was so mesmerized I forgot to breathe. His rich voice moved me, filled me as I hung onto every word. He finished the song and I gave him a hearty applause. He pretended to bow and in his best Elvis impersonation said, “Thank you very much.”

The laugh caught in my throat as Dale’s tall form stretched out beside me. His arm rested against mine causing me to shiver. He must have felt it.

“Cold, darlin’?”

“Um, a little,” I lied.

“I’d give you my jacket but I’m not wearing one. So, why don’t you come over here?” He lifted his arm and went to wrap it around my shoulders.

I froze. My mind went fuzzy. Unwanted memories flooded into sharp focus and kicked the old survival instincts into gear. Forgetting where I was, forgetting everything except the pain of my past, I quickly rolled away, cowering into a little ball as I shook with uncontrollable fear.

*

Click/tap the link below to continue on to chapter four of Erin's story - An Unwanted Visitor.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Chanelle Joy

I love painting pictures with words, whether it be in poetry or story form, or tackling a social issue in an essay or article. So take a load off and let me entertain you!

I also take commissions. Enquire at [email protected] :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.