Fiction logo

Rebecca - Chapter 2

Romania - A place of morbid nightmares

By Rebecca Lynn IveyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
2

This is the second chapter to my previously published story "Rebecca" If you haven't read it, you can find it linked below. I am currently in the process of publishing the entire book via KDP, however I have decided to share it here (chapter by chapter) with my Vocal family first because your love and feedback means the world to me. I hope that you enjoy it and will continue to read the following chapters as they become available.

Chapter 2

Romania - A place of morbid nightmares

The days passed insensately; I was dead without her by my side. I was no better than one of her many, eradicated victims; cold, lifeless and nonliving. Each night I found myself staring across the horizon, each crashing wave reminiscent of our final moments together. I had never felt such pain and affliction, the heartache was a suffering, endless torment.

I had to find her, I had to find a way to escape this forbidden tomb in which I was so grievously bound. I knew the risk; I would surely be executed for pursuing such a wretched woman. She was the enemy, a cold-blooded murderer, a desensitized harpy. She was wanted, the villagers were yet delving into every dark corner searching for traces of her. One wrong move, one slight blunder would send me straight to impalement. Such a cruel and unforgiving death. I had seen it done many times. Skewered and held aloft in a manner that would almost certainly bring about a long, horrifically drawn-out death. This method of torture was most famously used by Vlad the Impaler, ruler of Wallachia. The thought sends chills of quivering fear down my spine.

Romania, land of bloodthirsty vampires and howling wolves, a place of morbid nightmares. Bordered to the east by the Carpathian Mountains, 'the land beyond the forest' still feels undiscovered. Yet it is where I must go.

All that I knew for certain was that Rebecca had secreted herself on board the cargo ship to Romania, in which our small village was vastly dependent. The ship was heavily guarded by servants from the Castle of Vlad. One suspicious hap meant a prompt, unsparing death.

I had continually agonized and fretted for her safety. If the guards had spied her, she would surely be dead. It was a risk that I had to take. I could not bear yet another moment of uncertainty and grief. I pondered her reaction. Would she concede to me graciously? Would she repress my very existence? I did not know, yet I had to feel her beneath my touch if only once more. It was an imperilment well worth dying for.

I intimately prepared for my journey into the unknown; into a place of fear and trepidation. I would await the ships arrival within the veil of night. With great wariness I would arrive in Romania and begin my quest to find Rebecca.

I packed only what I could effortlessly carry. As night descended upon the village, I made my way through the cold, cobbled streets eluding any watchful eyes. The villagers seemed timid and easily frightened. Rebecca was still stalking them, if only by ghost. The sound of an infant crying in the distance reverberated through the darkness like an unwelcome phantom. I shivered, tightly drawing my cowl as if trying to dematerialize beneath it.

I hesitated only briefly as the anxiety and panic began to swell deep within the core of my soul. Delusions of an inscrutable demise haunted my mind. I envisaged myself being forced upon a sharp, dense pole which was then lifted upright with my body slowly sliding down by my own weight. Spectators cheering for my dissolution as my blood readily impregnates the ground. My final word...my only word...Rebecca.

Rebecca - Chapter 3

Only A Matter of Time

Horror
2

About the Creator

Rebecca Lynn Ivey

I wield words to weave tales across genres, but my heart belongs to the shadows.

🖤Visit My Website

💙Visit Me On Facebook

❤️Heart and subscribe!

💲Tips mean the world!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.