Fiction logo

Our Race

Serai

By ThE REVELATION_Published 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Our Race
Photo by Brian McMahon on Unsplash

What is that smell? What is it? Is it rust? I know this smell. I used to collect coins, bronze coins.

Why are my thoughts about my collection of coins?

I cannot feel anything.

Why is every part of me so heavy?

Everything is so dark, are my eyes closed?

They are, aren't they?

I cannot control my own eyes! What is happening to me? It has to be a dream - It has to be some kind of twisted nightmare.

When did I fall asleep? I just literally came back from my...

Came back? This light is scratching through my eyelids, it is forcing them open. My eyes are getting lighter.

Finally, some control!

I know I cannot move my body, my eyes are slowly coming back. Something must have happened to me hence I am in the hospital. Yes, that makes sense. I am a victim of an accident, and I just have mild amnesia. I just need to relax then my memory will come back to me, slowly, but it will. These nurses need to remove this light now. It is starting to hurt.

I need to regain my speech. If I could only utter some words

My sight is coming back, so there is no need to continue with this huge awful light... Weird figure.

This light might have exaggerated my sight, there is no way one can be this tall. Cu...ca....Can...some...one remove the light?

They must have heard me, what a relief.

Something is standing above my head. I can feel its shadow covering my whole body, its shade is cold. My skin can feel again, but something is just wrong. What was that? What just passed at my feet? That was so quick... My mind is probably just slow in grasping movement, that's all.

I need to inspect the figure that is busy hovering about above my head. I am lying flat, aren't I?

Yes, I am. I am in the hospital, remember?

I just need to move my eyes in the direction of the figure. Here we go, moving easier than I thought, getting closer to the figure, here we...

What is this?!! My heart is beating harder and faster than I could ever comprehend. Sensations come back to my every muscle, but I still cannot move. I know I am not tied down!

How is this possible? I cannot run away from this thing! This thing is not human. These eyes look possessed, just dark voids where eyes should be, gazing at me.

Am I finally moving? Can I escape?

The table is moving, not me. There are more of these things?!! Why are they standing me up while I am still bound to this table? What do you want with me?!!

Triangular faces, glass skin, tall arms that reach the floor, straight backs, tall legs, those eyes and the smell, the smell is them! They seem to be communicating without speech.

They seem to be discussing what they will do to me - How do I know that? Is it because those eyes just keep looking at me? I need to leave this place. Stop getting closer!

Get away from me! What are you doing? What are you holding? They walk with their arms and legs, is this thing holding glasses? Glasses that look like their eyes.

It wants to insert their eyes into mine. I cannot escape this, can I?

What do you remember?

I remember everything. I am the most admired soldier of a race called Serai. For a long, we have traveled worlds, absorbing the energies of other beings to prolong our existence so we can become the gods we pray to. The youth of our kind developed a conscience for all the species we have abducted over the years, hence a trial fell upon our society. I was to be our next prey so I can feel the pain and confusion we bring to our victims. My memory was wiped. I have lived as a human for 22 years, started my human life the way humans do. I was born a human - given a mother, a father, a family, and made relationships.

One day during my afternoon jog as a human, I was abducted... I was abducted by us, the same way I have done for millions of years. I was treated the same way I have treated other beings...

I regret nothing. I feel no remorse for what I have done for our race. The human experience showed me that humans do not deserve our conscience, they are a low form of existence. No order, an insult to life!

We should be their gods!

Horror
2

About the Creator

ThE REVELATION_

I felt like writing...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.