Fiction logo

Nostalgia is a road that cannot be returned

Every wanderer always has a touch of nostalgia in his heart that pours out like running water.

By Celia R MuellerPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Top Story - August 2022
18
Nostalgia is a road that cannot be returned
Photo by Robert Ruggiero on Unsplash

Every wanderer always has a touch of nostalgia in his heart that pours out like running water. This nostalgia is a long and winding path that can't be returned to, it can't be finished, and it can't be told, and there are many sorrows.

Each wanderer always has a touch of homesickness and sadness in his heart, and his heart is full of infinite fondness for the slender path between the blue water and the green hills of his hometown, and the grass, trees, scenery, and things on the roadside. The hometown that cannot be returned! Can not return to the road!

I left my hometown and stepped on the path full of green grass and leaves. The path is a muddy dirt road, I do not know how many people in the village with dreams of hope, goodbye to relatives, out of the village full of memories of the countryside, step into the heart of the dream journey. At that time a trace of nostalgia has been wrapped around the heart, but they are still unaware. The fields on both sides are still green and lush. The lilacs on the roadside are still fragrant, welcoming people, and the path has witnessed years and years of travelers going out and returning, rain or shine. I looked back at the old house that was getting blurred in the distance, and my heart was full of unrequited love, which wrapped me up in a little bit like a cocoon, impermeable. Ah! I have not left home, but the nostalgic thoughts have risen and overwhelmed me. When my feet stepped on the solid tarmac, leaving the yellow earth with the fragrance of the grass, my heart was once again filled with strong reluctance, hey, after all, I have to leave my hometown people, can not return to the road, can not linger nostalgia ah!

I got on the train to leave my hometown, the tin door creaked shut in the mild wind, groaning, I felt as if I would never return to the embrace of my hometown. I buried my head, tears slid down my thin cheeks, snapping, snapping, and hot tears dripped on the dirty floor of the carriage, those were my hot tears full of nostalgia!

The train began to walk, and a silver and black railroad track lengthened the distance between me and home. The lavender smoke, clear and messy, floated over the village, dazzling with the graceful figures of returning birds. A series of deep and shallow footprints floating on the boundless land, engraved memories, gradually blurred with the bumps of the train. This is like a long ground dragon, loaded with a carload of people, but also loaded with a carload of people's nostalgia, humming along the road. A train is also a place that contains nostalgia! It has been running back and forth for many years, sending away a group of young people who have left their hometowns, and sending back a train of people who have returned to their hometowns, so its carriage must be full of nostalgia. Youth and twilight, the years derived from their arrival, gradually filled each frame of time, are the exclusive life of each person, there are sour, sweet, but also bitter, and spicy. Nostalgia! The sorrow of the wanderer is full of deep feelings! Just like, that can not return to the hometown road ......

This is a banal metaphor, but I like it a lot. I don't want to talk about nostalgia as wine, because nostalgia is not as strong as wine, nostalgia can only be a wisp of fragrance that drifts in the night when no one is around, dissolving us little by little away from the hustle and bustle of the world. Nostalgia is tea, always with a little sweetness in the bitterness; nostalgia is tea, but it does not get lighter and lighter. The years change, a few years of wandering in a foreign country, once the hope, once the regret, again and again alternately occupied the heart of the wanderer, again and again finally put down the thoughts of homecoming. Whenever the heart is tired, the gentle nostalgia will suddenly rise, like a tidal wave washing the lonely sea of the heart, burying troubles, gently licking the scarred heart, and soothing the tired mind. The nostalgia at this time seems to be a haven from the wind, so warm.

Thirty years later, when I am already in my twilight years, I will also get on that train, the train to my hometown, the train full of nostalgia, when my feet are back on the fragrant yellow earth, a familiar feeling will be born, I will shout to the wilderness: "Ah! My hometown, I'm back!"

At this moment, the sorrow of parting has disappeared.

There is endless scenery in my hometown, but at this time I am alone, watching the sunset in silence, inch by inch disappearing bright, inch by inch engulfing the darkness. The moon is out, the moon is the hometown bright ah! Miss ah, then and young partners stepping on the bright moonlight, such as silver frost moonlight, hand in hand running together, running in that slender path, the moon is still the moon, the moon tilted, gentle like water, but it no longer shines on us, because we have been old.

The hometown is still the hometown, but there is less company from relatives and laughter from friends, not like the old hometown, the hometown without relatives and friends, is gray and painful. But I still miss you, my hometown.

"When I was a child, nostalgia was a small stamp, with me on this end and my mother on the other." When I grew up, nostalgia was a narrow ticket, I was at this end, my mother was at that end, and later on, nostalgia was a long and winding path, which could not be finished, could not be told, and had many sorrows.

Ah! Nostalgia is more like the silhouette of a dusky sunset, reflecting my hometown.

The hometown that I can't go back to! The road that I can't return to!

In my memory, nostalgia is still a road to my hometown that I can't return to.

Short Story
18

About the Creator

Celia R Mueller

Read a million books, travel a million miles

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Annelise Lords Address 3 Royal Crest Road Hyde Park NY 125382 years ago

    I went back home after more than eight years out. I had to because I left my heart there.

  • JC Browne2 years ago

    Nostalgia is such a complex emotion to grasp and I really enjoyed your take on this!

  • In my memory, nostalgia is still a road to my hometown that I can't return to. Why can't you?

  • This nostalgia is a long and winding path that can't be returned to, it can't be finished, and it can't be told, and there are many sorrows. So true.

  • Reflective story about a wanderer who cannot return, the nostalgia, the memories. Pint-sized read. Nicely done! Look out for this review and others in a few days.

  • Thanks for sharing 😊 It was a great read. All the best and happy writing.

  • Frank Lomax2 years ago

    Enjoyed your story.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.