Fiction logo

nightmares unveiled

A Journey To overcome fear and Embrace courage

By ChitraPublished about a year ago 4 min read
2

I woke up in a cold sweat, my heart racing. The same dream had haunted me for weeks now, and I

as to what to do. I couldn't continue living like this, and I needed answers. So, I decided to take a trip to the place where the dream took place - a remote forest in the countryside. I knew it was a risk, but I had to find out what was causing my nightmares.

I arrived at the couldn't shake the feeling that something was off. My therapist suggested that I should write down my dreams in a journal, in hopes of uncovering the root of my anxiety.

I decided to take her advice, and the next day, I began to document my nightmares. They were all the same: a dark and eerie forest, with twisted trees and a full moon in the sky. The deeper I ventured into the forest, the more I felt like I was being watched. Suddenly, a figure appeared in the distance. I tried to run, but I couldn't move. The figure slowly approached me, revealing itself to be a grotesque monster. That's when I always woke up, gasping for air.

I was at a loss forest, and as I stepped out of my car, I felt a chill run down my spine. The place was exactly as I remembered it from my dream. I walked deeper into the forest, trying to find the location of the monster.

Suddenly, I heard a twig snap, and I spun around, but no one was there. I started to run, but my foot caught on a root, and I fell to the ground. When I looked up, I saw the monster from my dreams, looming over me. I was paralyzed with fear, unable to move.

Just when I thought it was the end, a man appeared out of nowhere, brandishing a knife. He plunged it into the monster, and it vanished into thin air. The man helped me up, and introduced himself as a hunter, who specialized in hunting supernatural creatures.

He explained that I had been targeted by a malevolent entity, who had been using my dreams to feed off my fear. The entity was a manifestation of all my fears, and it had taken on the form of the monster. The hunter had been tracking it for months, and he finally caught up to it in this forest.

I was shocked, but I knew that I had to do something to stop the entity from hurting anyone else. I agreed to help the hunter, and we set out to destroy it once and for all.

We traveled to a remote cabin in the middle of the forest, where the entity was said to reside. The hunter warned me that the entity would be at its most powerful there, and that I would have to be strong if I wanted to survive.

As we approached the cabin, I could feel my heart racing, and my hands were shaking. The hunter opened the door, and we stepped inside. Suddenly, the lights flickered, and the entity appeared before us. It was larger and more terrifying than I ever could have imagined.

The hunter and I fought it with all our might, but it seemed like we were no match for it. Just when I thought it was over, I remembered something my therapist had said: "The entity is a manifestation of your fears, so the only way to defeat it is to confront those fears head-on."

With newfound courage, I stepped forward and faced the entity. I remembered all the things that scared me, and I told them to the entity. I was done being afraid, and I wasn't going to

let it control me any longer.

To my surprise, the entity started to shrink, and eventually, it disappeared completely. The hunter looked at me in amazement and told me that I was the only person who had ever defeated the entity on my own.

I felt a sense of relief wash over me, knowing that my nightmares were finally behind me. I thanked the hunter for his help, and we parted ways. As I drove back home, I reflected on what had just happened. I realized that confronting my fears had given me a newfound sense of strength and courage.

From that day forward, I lived my life with a newfound sense of purpose. I no longer feared my nightmares, and I was ready to face whatever challenges came my way. The entity may have been defeated, but the lessons I learned would stay with me forever.

And so, my journey to uncover the root of my anxiety led me to a place I never could have imagined. But I emerged stronger, braver, and more determined to live life to the fullest.

Short StoryMysteryHorror
2

About the Creator

Chitra

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.