Fiction logo

Nightmare

A Fiction Tale

By BrandsanduPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

On Sunday, February 2, 2019,

As of this morning, we have relocated to a new home.

Even though everything is a mess and the sofa is covered in dust, Rachel enjoys the situation. Rachel was thrilled with our new home, and I am as well.

Though it is a small town in the country, we are always greeted by a sweet breeze, birds chirping, and the scent of wet dust.

At long last, we’re out of sight and out of the mind of those city lights, polluted air, annoying neighbors, and her.

Thursday, February 2nd, 2019:

11 o’clock in the night is not too late, but Rachel was exhausted from her day job and Josh’s absence, so she went to bed early, while I remained awake and stared at the ceiling fan for what seemed like an eternity.

Someone cut the power out of the grid without warning. It sounded like his (or her?) foot was on the ground.

The light came back as soon as I touched the mains supply.

Just as soon as I tucked myself back into bed, the electricity was gone.

Across the hall, I heard someone laughing.

Were you able to get hold of her?

Tuesday, February 12th, 2019

Earlier today, Rachel left the window open.

I remember it being a beautiful night, with a full moon rising over the horizon. Moonlight poured into my room through the window, which was directly behind me. I could see every corner from where I was lying.

My eyes were opened by a sudden blast of cool, midnight air that entered the room and jolted the curtain of the front door.

She was the one who did it.

With her same old doll, she stood in the corner of my bedroom, staring at me with wide eyes. It’s all happening behind closed doors. She was staring at me and Josh intensely.

Everything about her remained the same. In the same childish dress that was too short for her age, she appeared to be in her mid-twenties to late-thirties.

In the same way, her hair was messed up. Stitches could be seen on her forehead and eyes.

Her arms and legs were covered in deep scratches caused by her nails. Her palms were stained with blood.

Her doll, Ohh that doll, with a broken neck and one popped out eye, was hung by her neck on her right arm.

Because her nails had grown quite long, someone had yanked them mercilessly.

Her eyeballs were sinking into the recess in her skull. Her face was dreadful.

Those eyes were on me, staring me down.

Thursday, February 14th, 2019.

My stomach growled at me last night, and I awoke hungrily.

While lying on the bed, I rubbed my eyes and smack my lips. My slippers were nowhere to be found after what happened on Monday.

The moment I sat up, my heart jumped into my mouth. I had to summon all of my courage and strength to straighten out my back.

I could see her from my bed, which was only three steps away. I’m only 2 steps away from where I last saw her.

As she sat there holding her doll, she treated her as a baby.

When she realized that I’d woken up, she turned to face me.

Then she touched her doll with her finger and said…..

“Josh.”

I can still hear that voice echoing in my head.

Sunday, February 17, 2019

The room was quiet, and everyone was fast asleep.

It felt like Rachel was tracing my facial expressions with her hand, even though she was sleeping.

Josh was hiding in my chest, thinking I was Rachel, as I held him in my arms.

Suddenly, I felt something heavy on my legside as the clock struck 12. Something is crawling on the bed.

I poked my head out of the corner of my bedsheet and looked around.

It was her, approximately a hand’s length away.

A moment later, we were both still staring at each other. Then, she smiled at me.

My heart was racing, but my tongue was twisted. I was unable to speak a word.

When she turned around as if she had something to say, her head was visible to me. It looked like it had been hammered 100 times. I closed my eyes in disgust because it was bleeding constantly.

It took me a while to realize what she was doing.

She was holding her doll closer to my face as she spoke to me about her feelings about it. It was as if she was pointing at her doll and then moving it toward me. I was horrified when she reached out and grabbed Josh’s hand.

“You’re Anna, I’m Josh,” he said. She said it in a low voice, almost as if she were

“NO!!!” Josh was clenched in my arms as I yelled and shook him.

My scream woke Rachel up. Josh began to sob aloud as he stared at the ground. I was having trouble breathing. “What happened? “, I asked. She asked, “Nightmare?” My chest was pounding as my heart raced to the top. Even worse than that, I thought. I let out a sigh.

The last entry in the diary I found was this one.

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Brandsandu

Brandsandu Is A Complete 360 ° Branding & Digital Marketing Company In Delhi & Ncr Providing A Complete Solution From Branding To Social Media, From Public Relations To Media Buying To Interactive Solutions.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.