Fiction logo

New Neighbour

Rhiannon’s new neighbour asks her for a simple favour

By Jolene PoulinPublished about a year ago 7 min read
Like
New Neighbour
Photo by Anders Holm-Jensen on Unsplash

I’m pouring myself a glass of white wine when I hear a knock at the door. I almost miss the sound over the glug glug of the bottle.

“Oh goody, someone’s arrived!” I say to myself.

I place my glass down on the counter and rush to my door expecting to see a friend or family member, heck even a coworker would do, but I’m met by a complete stranger instead. I was ready to invite whoever it was into my home, but I have to pause for a second at this unfamiliar freckled face. Whoever this is looks friendly enough, but I was not expecting them today.

“Hi there, the name’s Felicity. I just moved in next door. I was hoping I could borrow your wi-fi password for the night?” She chirps before I can say a word.

Felicity is cheery in a cute sort of way. She looks frazzled from the move, but her clothes suggest she’s getting ready for a big night in. Her curly hair is tied up in a messy bun on top of her head and she has a purple sweat suit on. I kind of envy her level of comfort as I stand in my own doorway wearing high heels and a tight dress for my party.

“Uh, hi. I’m Rhiannon. Which unit did you take?”

“203, right across from you!”

“And you need my wi-fi password?”

“Yes.”

“Why?”

“Well, you see, I couldn’t get mine hooked up until tomorrow and my favourite show comes out tonight. I can’t bear the thought of seeing spoilers online before I watch it, so I need to see it as soon as it comes out. Otherwise the whole experience is ruined, y’know?”

“No, I don’t know.” I don’t watch many shows that are still being produced. Everything I watch ended at least a year ago. I don’t even know what a spoiler is, to be honest.

“Oh, well, I just need your wi-fi password. Just for the night and then you can change it.”

“Change it?” I start to ask when one of my expected guests comes up the walk-up stairs just behind Felicity.

“Congratulations, Rhiannon!” My coworker Jenn hollers as soon as she sees me.

“Oh, thank you! Come on in, everything’s ready inside. I just need to finish talking to Felicity here.”

“Congratulations?” Felicity asks as she peers around my shoulder.

My place is completely decorated and ready for guests. There are giant champagne balloons in every corner, flowers on every surface, and a smattering of snacks and cupcakes laid out on the kitchen counter. Felicity clocks the ring on my finger and her eyes grow wide.

“Oh my goodness, you’re having an engagement party! Congratulations!” Felicity coos.

“Yeah, I’d kinda like to get back to it, too. My guests should all be arriving soon.” I open the door further to let Jenn inside.

“Okay, but that wi-fi password? Just write it down on my phone.” She tries to hand me her cell phone but I don’t take it. I don’t want to share my password with anyone.

“I just met you, why should I give you the password?”

“Fair point,” she puts her phone back in her sweater pocket, “because I really want it? Nay, need it?”

“I don’t think watching a show is a good enough reason to ‘need’ a wi-fi password.”

“You don’t understand! It’s a really good show and if I’m even one second late to starting it people will tweet spoilers and the whole thing will be ruined.”

“Have you tried silencing your phone?”

She grabs her chest in mock shock before replying: “Turn off my phone? I could never.”

“Then just, don’t look at it or whatever.”

I look past her at Brianna and Jeff arriving with a giant present bag.

“You two! You didn’t have to.”

I give them both hugs and invite them in.

“I’ll be right in, just dealing with my neighbour. You can put that,” I gesture to the bag, “on the table at the front.”

“Okay, Rhiannon. I think Melissa and Anna were right behind us.”

“Thanks! Enjoy the snacks and drinks, seriously, I’ll be right in.”

Brianna and Jeff go join Jenn in the living room and start pouring themselves tall glasses of champagne from the bottle I had set out.

“I really need to go, maybe try someone else?” I say to Felicity. I try to close my door but she pushes back with her palm.

“No one else is home, you’re my last shot. Please?” She makes her eyes all big as though that will make a difference.

“No, I’m not just giving you my password. I hardly know you.”

“I have three cats, I’m the middle child of five, I’m an author with one book in the works, I grew up in the prairies, and I’m single. There, now you know me. Now can I have the password?”

I roll my eyes.

Melissa and Anna come up the stairs.

“Congratulations Rhiannon! Where’s the man of the hour?”

“Late to his own party, as I’m sure you guessed. He should be back soon, though. Come in, come in!” I open the door wide again. Felicity ogles the party inside.

“These are for you,” Anna hands me a bouquet of white roses.

“Thank you, that’s so sweet!” I take in a deep breath of their subtle aroma. White roses are my favourite. I hold them awkwardly for the rest of my conversation.

Melissa and Anna squeeze behind me and join in the festivities. I’m about to turn my attention back to Felicity when my mom walks up the stairs.

“Oh, mom, I’m so glad you could make it!” I step out into the hallway and give her a big hug. “Go on in and mingle, I’ll be right there.”

“Okay sweetie, see you in there.” She slowly makes her way over to the others inside.

“Now, Felicity, I need to get inside, so you need to leave.”

“What if I came to your party and you got to know me and then you could give me the password?”

“No. Please just go home.”

“I can’t go without that password.”

“Are you serious?”

A few of my coworkers come up the steps and side step my conversation to get inside. I can hear people talking and drinking and enjoying my snacks behind me. I should be in there.

“Yes,” Felicity replies.

“Well, so am I. Leave.”

“No.”

“No?”

“No, I’m not leaving until I get what I came for.” She places her hands on her hips in defiance.

“I don’t even know my password off the top of my head.”

More people come up the stairs and I usher them inside with a quick “hello”. My party is officially happening without me.

“How can you not know your password?” Felicity questions.

“I don’t know. I never changed it, I just signed in with all my devices and left it at that. My fiancé handles these things.”

“Are you kidding me? So if I wrote down a random string of numbers and letters, I might have just written down your wi-fi password?”

“I mean yeah, I guess.”

“That is wild.”

I look behind her and feel my eyes widen and my heart quicken. My husband-to-be is walking up the steps with a case of beer and three bottles of wine. I think everyone should be so lucky to have a partner like mine. His kind heart and gentle soul warm me from the inside. I can’t help but smile and rush out to meet him. I plant a big kiss on his lips before taking a couple bottles of wine from him. My hands are full of drinks and flowers, I really should be getting inside.

“Thanks for picking this stuff up, hon.”

“Oh it wasn’t a problem. Who’s this?”

“This is Felicity, our new neighbour. She wants our wi-fi password so she can watch her show.” I roll my eyes ever so slightly as I fill in my fiancé.

“Oh yeah, it’s ‘letmein1234’, all one word. Have a good one.” He breezes past me into the apartment, not even caring to notice my wide-jawed stare. I guess he didn’t get the memo.

“Thanks!” Felicity calls over my shoulder. “I suppose I’ll see you around then,” she walks back into her apartment and disappears.

I’m left standing alone in my hallway.

I stand there for a few more seconds. I can’t believe he would give a total stranger our wi-fi password just like that. We don’t even know what she’s going to use it for, not really. And I can’t believe he didn’t pick up on my signal. He’s usually so attentive. Maybe he’s distracted by the party. Or maybe I was over thinking the whole situation.

Either way, it’s over now. There are more important things at hand.

I back up a few steps, close my front door, take a deep breath, and replace my look of awe with one of excitement. Afterall, this is my engagement party and I seem to be the last one to arrive.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Jolene Poulin

I'm an amateur writer with an interest in fiction and general story telling.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.