Fiction logo

Never Have I Ever

Gracie

By Vannesa J Ishmael Published 3 years ago 14 min read
4
"The mind can be its own prison or paradise"

Entering the mind

"Case number 9352672-1, Gracie Walters, Age 32; Gracie are you present?" The counselor says over a tape recorder. Gracie stares off into the plain white ceiling above her "I am present ma'am", she begins to say "been present the whole time... It was his narcissistic ass that wasn't present. He acted like I didn't exist". Gracie continues to stare off into space. "Mrs. Walters did..." Gracie cuts off the counselor for correction " It's Ms. Walters, Walters is my maiden name. " My apologies MISS Walters" The counselor says sarcastically. "Did you and your husband ever attend marriage counseling, in the time you were together?" Without moving her head from facing the ceiling, Gracie cuts her eyes over at the counselor across from her. " Ma'am you are the first and only counselor I have ever seen. My husband kept himself busy with work, and his burning desire to step out on our marriage." Gracie fights back the river of tears overflowing from her eyes. She sits upright on the grey sofa, and wipes away the burning tears off of her face. The counselor passes a box of Kleenex from the coffee table in between her and Gracie. Gracie gently takes the box from the counselor, and begins to lose control of her tears.

" Ms. Walters, I know that this is hard to converse about, but I need to get your side of the story for the courts. It is very imperative that I get as much from you to help your case against your husband. He is pressing charges against you." The counselor expresses to Gracie. " Ok Gracie, are you ready to move forward?" Gracie takes a deep breath and exhales very slowly. "Yes Ma'am, I am ready to move forward" Gracie struggles to say. The counselor stops the tape recorder and fast-forwards the tape for 3 seconds. She hits the record button again and begins " Case number 9352672-1 Gracie Walters age 32, Gracie are you present?" " Yes, I am present and ready for my testimony", says Gracie.

My Own Paradise

" My husband and I met in college, we both were studying to be business majors. He was so handsome and witty, he literally could light up a room with his smile. He was tall with an athletic build, tanned skin, and perfect hair. I think that is what got me the first time I saw him, how perfect his hair was... not a hair out of place! I should have known he was an asshole then!" Gracie says in surprise. The counselor starts to write some notes on her notepad that she cradled in her arms, as she listened to Gracie reminisce. Gracie observes the counselor making notes, she wears a small smirk on her face as she continues her story.

" I was at the campus coffee shop, trying to finish a report I had. Out of nowhere, one of the baristas came to my table and dropped off a tall cup of coffee and a slice of chocolate cake. I had explained to her I didn't order anything and that it was a mistake. That's when my husband walked over to me and extended his hand out to shake mine. I gave him my hand and told him my name. He took my hand and planted the gentlest kiss on the back of it. He said to me that I was absolutely beautiful, and that he had to try to get my attention. He was quite the charmer", Gracie smiles slightly.

"From then on we were inseparable. We started studying together, helping each other with assignments, we were that power couple, and we even graduated at top of our class together. After schooling was done, we got married and began our paradise. We opened a business together that makes a great deal of money, we've made so much together that we give grants for people in their early stages in business to succeed. We always believed in giving back, that was something he did for me, in honor of my name, Gracie. He said he wanted to give that same grace he got when he first started." The counselor continued to jot down notes on her notepad. Gracie now frustrated questions her. " What is it that you are writing down about me?" " I am just taking down high key areas that show high importance to you." The counselor flips the yellow note pad around for Gracie to view. " appearance of husband, grooming, charming to her...." Gracie observes the notes and nods her head in agreement to proceed.

" Ok, so Ms. Walters, it sounds like you and your husband were a very well rounded couple, very loving, successful, and very supportive of one another. When did it turn for you?", the counselor asks. Gracie fidgets with a loose string in her blue jeans, giving it all her attention. " Ms. Walters, when did your marriage with your husband start to go downhill for you?" The counselor repeats the question. Gracie plucks the loose string from her jeans and answers. " The past year". Gracie says in a low monotone.

" My husband and I have not been seeing eye to eye. Now that our business had taken off, we were discussing what was next on our journey of life together, you know the family talk. I have been so anxious about it, but he wasn't budging on having kids yet. He says he wanted to enjoy the fruits of his labors for a while longer before we add on to our dynamic. I was heartbroken by his decision, but I accepted it. I kept trying to make hints at maybe revisiting the conversation, but he started to get distant with me when I would ask. He changed up overnight and had no regard for me.

I feel like there is someone else, because he isn't the same man I once fell in love with. So I have been torturing myself mentally; I don't know for sure if he is being distant because of the baby talk, or if he is screwing someone else." Gracie looks towards the counselor for comfort. " Ms. Walters the mind can be it's own prison or paradise. I believe the insecurities you harbor are affecting your thoughts of what is happening in your marriage with your husband. It has gotten to the point where you are constantly accusing your husband, to the point of him pressing charges of harassment and placing a restraining order against you!" The counselor states as she reviews the information of Gracie's case.

" Now based on the information you have provided thus far, I can probably file with the court, that. with a few more sessions with a counselor, you should be ok to move on without the charges being granted to you. You will HAVE to agree to seek self treatment, so that we can rule you as having Post Traumatic Stress from a previous traumatic relationship." The counselor says firmly. Gracie shocked by the counselors diagnosis, quickly responds " P.T.S.D!? I don't have trauma from a previous relationship. You have women's intuition, don't you? When you just know something is off? Something is definitely off, and you just wait until I can provide proof." Gracie says in rage. "Ok Ms. Walters, I think our session is done for today. We can resume again in a few days. You can set an appointment with my receptionist on the way out. Gracie grabs her tote bag and excuses herself out of the counselor's office. Before she made her final departure, Gracie looks back at the counselor who was now occupied with her cell phone.

The counselor pecks at her phone sending a seductive text to her new boo. "Dinner tonight 7:30 pm, on me.....and then you on me later" she texted with a flirtatious smile on her face.

Prison

"You look so good tonight babe...I feel like I skipped right into dessert!" Troy says as he eyeballs the counselor's round booty. "Hello, welcome to Jerry's, do you folks have a reservation"? The counselor pulls away from Troy's grasp on her butt. "Yes, under Bryant, Dana Bryant", the counselor reveals. The host finds her name in the RSVP book, "alright, please follow me to your table." Troy and Dana shuffle across the floor arms wrapped around each other. "Your server for the evening will be right over, enjoy your meal", the host gracefully says as he returns to his post.

Troy sets his eyes seductively upon Dana's breasts, as she was reviewing the menu. " I got a little surprise for you after dinner tonight", he says to Dana. Dana playfully hides her face behind the menu. " And what might that surprise be, and for what reasoning?" Dana asks playfully. " You will see soon enough... and the reason, because I have seen you busting your butt at work lately. It's just a treat for my special treat." Troy says as he plants playful kisses onto her neck. Dana let out a relaxed sigh, "awe, Troy you are so sweet! Thank you for noticing. I have been up to my knees with new clients! This new one today, she was a rambler. She talked about her husband the entire time, and how great he was. She sounded obsessed with him really, poor lady her husband doesn't feel the same seem like having a whole case against her", Dana babbles on about her meeting with Gracie.

As the night went on Troy and Dana enjoyed each other's company, laughing and sharing touches. Troy plants a gentle kiss to Dana's forehead as he pulls away to stand up. " Excuse me for a minute, I need to use the restroom." He says as he smoothly slides away. A few minutes had passed, but Troy hadn't returned. Dana starts to get antsy to what could be holding him up, but also excited to see what the surprise was as well. She reaches for her cell phone in her purse side pocket to text Troy. Just then a server comes to her table with a beautiful sterling tray topped with a small cup of coffee, and a thick slice of chocolate cake. Dana looking confused tries to flag the waiter down "Oh excuse me! we didn't order this we have already closed out our tab." The server ignored Dana's statements, leaving her looking around for Troy laughing at the gift that was sent. " Troy, ha you goof" Dana unsurely says as she recognizes the treat " one of the barista's came to my table and dropped off a tall cup of coffee and a slice of chocolate cake" Gracie's words started to echo loudly in Dana's ear. Dana starts to panic, frantically looking around the restaurant for Troy.

Troy quickly slides back into the booth next to Dana. Dana lets out a sigh of relief at the sight of him. "Troy I was looking for you, this was weird, did you send this to the table?" Troy looks at the thick slice of chocolate cake. " No I didn't, but this cake does look pretty good. How about you try some?" Troy picks up the fork and cuts off a small piece for Dana to try. She opens up wide enough for Troy to slide the piece into her mouth. Dana slowly chews the piece, looking at Troy seductively smiling at her. " It is very rich in flavor, why don't you try some babe?" Dana says as she swallows the cake. Troy shakes his head and grabs the cup of coffee to take a sip. " Naw I am not much for chocolate, and I know I will be disappointed because it isn't as good as you. You eat up sweetness, I'll drink this coffee though. I need all the energy I can get for later" Troy flirtatiously says as he slips on the hot beverage. Dana let's out a timid laugh as she plays with the cake in front of her, taking another small bite before placing the fork down. " Let's get out of here Babe, I'm ready for my dessert now." Troy states as he helps Dana up from the table. As she gets on her feet, the room begins to spin around her. " Troy, I don't feel so good" Dana says right before she blacks out.

The sun begins to peek in through Dana's bedroom curtains, signaling her body to awaken from her slumber. Her head throbbing, from what felt like a hangover, Dana manages to sit up in her bed. She looks around confused as to what had happened, and how she ended up in her bed at home. The last thing she remembered was having Dinner with Troy. She rubs her forehead from the lingering side effects of her evening. "Man, what happened to me last night?" A playful knock comes from her bedroom door. The door opens slightly as a familiar voice flows in. " Dee you awake, is it safe to come in?" Nikki playfully asks. " Yea I am in here alone.. not sure how I got here " Dana says still rubbing her head. Nikki lets her self in the room walking in with a rectangular box wrapped tightly in brown paper. It didn't have any postal markings on it, Just her name Dana Bryant. " This was left for you this morning on the kitchen table. I want to say that Troy placed it there for you on his way out." Nikki Smiles as she hands the box to Dana.

Dana begins to rip the brown wrapping paper from the rectangular box, intrigued to know what she had gotten. The box was lightly taped closed, making it easy for Dana to pry it open. She opens the box to find inside a single red rose and a manila envelope. Nikki's phone rings in her back pocket, it was work calling. " Shoot I gotta take this call, I'll be right back" Nikki walks out of Dana's room leaving her to unwrap the surprise alone. Dana smiles as she inhales the fresh scent from the rose. She picks up the manila folder and gives it a shake to guess what was inside. Dana opens the envelope and pulls out its contents from inside. Some photos fell onto the bed from in between the sheets of paper, surprise overcame her to see that the photos were of her friend Nikki and Harvey...her new lover.

" What is this!?" Dana asks herself before she starts looking over the documents. it read:

" Counselor Dana Bryant, I came into your office as a court-ordered session for me and my husband Harvey Reid". Dana has a flashback to a memory of her friend Nicole telling her about the man she met, named Harvey. She continues to read:

"You were very short with me, and seemed to have no regards to my emotional state. Counselor Bryant, you were ready to diagnose me just on a first visit in which I wasn't there to be diagnosed, but to give my testimony on why charges are being placed. I didn't understand why I couldn't go to a counselor of my choice, and why you were assigned to my husband and I's case. It has been brought to my attention that the reason was because my husband Harvey hired you on, to benefit him in this case. Why would you be of any value to him you'd say? Attached to this letter is the reasoning as to why. Your friend Nicole Redding is my Husband's mistress. On our first court date together, you were sworn under oath to tell the truth, and nothing but the truth. Counselor Bryant, if you do recall one of the questions asked was if there were any connections to anyone in either party, and you said No! You have lied under oath in court, because you do have connections with my husband. I have proof to share that you all were quite acquainted, having your double date nights with Ms. Redding, My husband, and my cousin." Dana's face frowns up with fear as she continues to read:

" Counselor Bryant, Your lover Troy, just so happens to be my cousin. My Husband Harvey never met Troy while we were together. So this worked in my advantage when Troy realized that your friend's boyfriend was actually married to me. He has provided photos and a recording for my proof as well. I will be reporting this to the court, and remember Counselor as you said 'The mind can be its own prison or paradise'. Today I chose paradise knowing you all will go to prison."

Dana drops the letter from her hands in shock at what she just read. Nikki comes walking back into the room from her phone call. She stops in her tracks when she sees the look of shock on Dana's face. "Dee, what's the matter?"

Short Story
4

About the Creator

Vannesa J Ishmael

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.