Fiction logo

My breakup with Harry

Or how the love of my life left me...

By Teresa PowePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
1
My breakup with Harry
Photo by JD Mason on Unsplash

It was the quarantine. Neither of us had any symptoms when NYC imposed the quarantine. So I started writing again, and he was trying his hand at music producing.

We stayed at my house. It’s bigger and has a washing machine and dryer. Also, I could get deliveries for more than Chinese food.

At first, it was so good. We woke in each others’ arms, fell asleep in each others’ arms. Either I was laying in his lap or he in mine. Always touching, kissing, looking into each others’ eyes. We made love whenever, all the time.

You wouldn’t have known that we had been together for three years. Yes, three years since that first date.

After a month, we weren’t all over each other so much anymore. But, as I said, I was writing, and he was music-ing. The repetitions were driving me crazy, and I guess my sighing was doing the same to him.

I wanted him to go home before something happened or was said that couldn’t be taken back. But I knew if he left, he wouldn’t come back, nor would I want him to.

What happened? I thought Harry was it for me! I don’t want to go through this again. Dating, loving, getting hurt, again. Is it me? Why am I getting tired of him? He’s exhausting, that’s why. Since when did I want him to stop touching me? Since I’m trying to write…I should be writing about how great his love is. How wonderfully he loves me. What the hell is wrong with me? This man is so good to me, and here I am pushing him away. Why? Because he’s bothering me when I’m writing the great American novel that I don’t even have a title for?

Oh, please don’t let it be too late. He asked me if I wanted to go for a walk, and I couldn’t be bothered. How long ago was that? “Harry, Harry!”, no answer. I went to the window to see if I could see that little head I’d become to love so much. “Where are you, Harry?” “I’m right behind you. We need to talk, my love,” he said ever so softly.

“What’s wrong, Harry?” I said even softer. “Baby, you know I need to go home, don’t you?” he asked. “But why Harry?” “Because if I don’t, we won’t even be able to be friends,” he said very matter-of-factly. “What are you talking about?” This time when I asked, I had a “tone.” He hates when I have a “tone.” “Come on, Teri, we haven’t been good for a while now,” he said, then went on… “This little experiment failed. We both know that.” “What experiment?” I was getting loud, Teri don’t get loud. “What the hell is going on, Harry?” I’m getting hysterical, I think. Oh God, Harry’s leaving me?!?

“Weren’t you ready for me to leave, Teri? Tell the truth. I’m sure ready to leave.” But why? I kept asking myself even though I knew why.

I was beginning to make myself sick keeping up the front. But I don’t want to go back to being alone. I want Harry… Or did I just want a man for having a man’s sake? I don’t want to go back to being alone for the holidays. There is no one to call in the middle of the night who can make me feel better when things are going wrong.

“Don’t you want to work on it, Harry?” I asked hopefully. “Baby, you know it’s too late. We should have done that a year ago. But we just kept going along. I thought you knew it. Couldn’t you feel we were over?” Oh God, please no, I cried inside. What hurts twice as much is I knew it too…

About a year ago, Harry and I were sitting up watching a Knicks game. His phone rang, which was a shock in itself. His phone never rang at night when we were together. “Excuse me, baby, I have to take this,” he said as he was jumped up from our embrace. Hmph, I thought. Well, I hope he knows he’s gonna tell me what it was about…. I thought to myself. But he didn’t. After that, he had a lot of mysterious calls.

“Right before quarantine, I became friendly with someone in my building,” he said so softly… “Nothing has ever happened between us, Teri. Please believe that. I would never cheat on you!” Cheat. Young lady? What the hell is he talking about? My mind was screaming! What the hell is going on? How could my sweet, sweet Harry have someone else!

“Although nothing happened, I think it could. I want it to," he said ripping out my heart. "I thought this quarantine would be a time for us to talk this through and end on a good note. At least end as friends. Instead, we just tried to force staying together. But I’m not in love anymore, Teri. This is just lust, and I don’t want to tarnish what we had and go out like this.” I couldn’t believe Harry was saying those words.

I think I’m going to faint. Someone, please call 911. I can’t breathe! I screamed inside my mind. “Harry, Harry, wait… Harry wait! I’m not understanding. I just thought we were getting stir crazy, Harry. I love you! I don’t want this!!!” And now I am screaming and crying and sobbing.

“Please, Teri! Don’t do this! I’ll send my sister to get whatever stuff I have here.” Then he had the nerve to kiss me on the top of my head! “Goodbye, Teri.”

And with that, he left me in a heap on the floor.

Love
1

About the Creator

Teresa Powe

I've been sports blogging since 2016. This is my first foray into another genre. I never thought I could be so happy just sitting at my desk and letting my imagination do the work. I hope you enjoy my writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.