Fiction logo

Mortal Lake

Darkness Calls

By Christina Nicole Published 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
Allegany NY 2021

I was staying at a cabin down in Allegany for some time to unwind and just clear my mind. It was beautiful and serene especially at the lake which was just steps from the cabin. One night I couldn’t sleep as if something was calling me. I stepped outside to go for a stroll to catch some fresh air. It was a night unlike any other, a night when everything about my life changed and I was highly enlightened.

It was dark and everything was still and silent with a hint of chill in the air . A light fog and clouds had rolled in and the moon was brightly glowing above. I walked over to the lake where I could see the reflection of the moon fading in and out as if it were playing a game of hyde n seek amongst the water. I remember thinking how oddly silent the night was . It was kind of beautiful in a dark sense . I looked across the lake and saw a shadowy figure moving toward me slowly. Within a second it was suddenly standing in front of me. As I watched this dark shadowy figure it had changed before my eyes. This shadowy figure had now chanfed into a man. He tipped his hat and said, “ Good Evening” . At first I was in shock and thought I must be dreaming. He introduced himself as William. Twas a fine evening indeed for souls to be wondering about he commented, as he lit up his pipe and took a toke. He gazed off at the lake for a brief moment as if to be expecting something. I finally gathered the nerve to respond as I agreed and told him I was just thinking the same thing about it being a beautiful evening that is . He chuckled briefly , and said “that is why he just had to introduce himself”. For years people have come and gone not one had ever come to appreciate the night. For a moment we both stood silent just taking it all in . There was a faint howl that was soft in the background , he turned and said “have a stroll with me”. I was curious to see and hear more. I decided I’d take him up on his invite and joined him for a stroll . We went down the path inside the woods where we came upon a small graveyard . I had no idea this was even here. It was as if it just appeared out of thin air . A small section of stones in the middle of nowhere in the center of the woods. I couldn’t help noticing a stone was marked with my name and today’s date. It gave me chills and such a horrific freight. I thought this can’t possibly be right. William looked up at the moon and back down to the ground when a set of hands arose up from underneath one of the gravestones in the ground. Right on time he replied. The children of night one by one started to arise and began coming to life. I stood there lightly trembling at what I was witnessing . He had such a smooth and somber way to him, it was so easy to just follow him along. Suddenly there was a serious of snapping branches , and out appeared a big black wolf with giant fangs and piercing eyes. He was growling and snarling at me. I was frozen with fear as I stood there now trembling wildly and out of control. Now be polite to our guest, William tells the wolf. It stops growling and snarling and lets out a big howl. Just like that then it was gone before I could even blink. It had just vanished back where it had appeared from and out of sight . I was thinking of the full moon, the wolf, the hands in the grave and how William and how they just all appeared from plain air . We continued to stroll for a bit, when I started to feel a bit tired and turned to look back and the road was confusing like one big foggy maze. I suddenly saw a gate ahead and realized I had better start to head back. Something didn’t feel right about any of this at all. He grabbed me by my arm and said darkness is in all of us and who am I to judge ? In a harsh and hostile tone. Mortals live amongst the light claiming to be all that is so gloriously right . Vampires, wolves and ghosts. We serve the night and are guided by the the dark . Just like that we were suddenly inside this gate and they were slowly closing behind me. Do you really not know why you are here? it is your time to also embrace darkness . I wasn’t ready and struggled hard to get free as he dragged me up the steps to a giant old dark and very run down mansion. He was hand delivering me to this darkness. My time had run out. Time to face consequences for things left undone. I knew what it was I had done so terribly wrong long ago. Now it has come to welcome me into this strange and mysterious darkness .

I stopped fighting as If finally understanding what it was that had called me out here. This is the end of me living and this feeble existence was no more. It was carved in stone and had previously decided. Now I must join my brothers and sisters walking in the shadows of the night. The bounty was set on my soul quite some time ago. Time to collect on a debt the headsman doesn’t ask for permission. When it’s your time, it just comes and goes. My fate was marked the day it all had happened quite long ago. Now I begin to accept this fate as it is. A lesson in life, to appreciate this life. Each deed is cleverly watched and judged from above as well as below. There is no going back once karma catches up to you. Perhaps one more lesson you reap what you sow. Time is of the essence and this was a lesson. Be sure to rectify things that are wrong before your time runs out . For me it was too late and this is now my fate.

All is lost and I bid you silent farewell. Amongst the hollows on this cursed and dark night. I fade off in the night as though slipping through a dark portal and slipping out of sight. Out goes this light and now things may return to what is meant to be right. Darkness had come for me. This is where I belonged now. I thought for a moment. Why did I have to go out to see this troubled lake of doom ? It had called me out as though everything was planned all along and which was rightfully so . It comes without warning. Death comes to us all. My soul now resides here for eternity, trapped here by this cleverly disguised cabin by this mortal lake .

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Christina Nicole

Some chick that writes about anything and nothing . Successful writer I am not and half my work I’d like to trash lol However, it airs out my mind and feeds my soul and that is something if anything at all .

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.