Fiction logo

Miscommunicaketion

A Blessing in Disguise

By James U. RizziPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1
Miscommunicaketion
Photo by piotr szulawski on Unsplash

12:45 P.M. In the lowly streets of upstate Connecticut, a young man preps for one of the biggest days of his life

Brent: “Yes mom I know everythings gotta be perfect. No, I can’t imagine she has any idea. As far as she knows it’s our routine date night. Every Saturday we go out. I just hope going to Casanostra won’t tip anything off, that’s where we had our first date. Actually, oh my goodness I still need to make reservations. Lemme let you go ma, I need to hurry up and do that before my break is over. Yes mom, I will right after work. Ok...ok I know, I love you too, talk to you soon.”

Same time, just a small distance away at a noisy construction site, a young man contemplates a rough decision

Micheal: “I don’t know man, I think it’s been a long time coming. The last two years began a slow descent into an inevitable separation. We don’t talk much anymore. She says I’m afraid of commitment and I don’t want to move on to the next phase of our relationship. She is right though I am afraid of commitment. Maybe I just need to close my eyes and take a leap of faith. One of us is always grumpy. She says I’m buried in my work. I say she’s buried in hers. It’s starting to feel like living with a stranger. Huh? Whatcha say? Sorry, my guys are banging away over here. Between the poor service, and the constant jackhammering, you sound like a robot in a tunnel. Umm... I'm not sure how I’m finally gonna break it to her. But I figured it'd be easier to do it in public. She can't blow up on me and make a scene. Or maybe subconsciously I’m giving it one last shot and think it will turn around. I know, crazy right? Oh, to some fancy place I pass by all the time, Casanostra I think it’s called. Ah jeez, Jim, I gotta get back to work. Lunch breaks over. Yeah I’ll call you later I’m sure I’ll need to talk till then. Take it easy Jimbo.”

6:55 P.M. On the south end Brent is picking out a ring for his bride to be at the jewelry shop down the street from work

Brent: “I’m sorry mom, you raised a procrastinator what can I say? ‘Oh yeah, that’s perfect she’ll love that… Sure, I'll have it cleaned and polished. I have some time to kill.’ Yeah sorry ma, I found it though, the perfect one. Ok yes, I'll go through the plan one more time. I’m meeting Steph at around eight at Casanostra. I called ahead of time and told the band to sneak in some of her favorite songs. Yeah, I know cute right. Then before she gets too suspicious I’m gonna have them serve her favorite dessert, a slice of premium swiss chocolate cake, and I’ll have them put the ring inside it. No, she won’t choke, don't worry ma. Yeah, I know it’s happening so fast. I don’t know mom… Do you think maybe a little too fast? No, I’m not getting cold feet… I just hope I’m not rushing things ya know. Ok, I’m sorry don’t yell I won’t flake. I will mom… Ok, yes I’ll call you right after. I love you too mom, talk to you soon.”

7:42 P.M. Just outside Casanostra Michael attempts to build up the courage to go through with the breakup

Micheal: “Hey buddy, I’m just giving you a heads up I might need a place to crash after tonight, get the blankets and pillows ready. I’m not sure how she's gonna take it. Yeah, I know it’s gotta be done. But honestly, that’s the other reason I’m calling you. Do you think I'm doing the right thing? I know… I know not this close to game time. But I can’t help thinking maybe we can work some stuff out, maybe all we need is a change, that and a little counseling can go a long way. Yeah ok, you're right I’m just trying to make excuses. Yeah… yeah, I won’t let it get too far... Mhmm, I'll do it before dessert. I won’t drag it on. All Right, man, I'll keep you up to date. Thanks again, later.”

8:02 P.M. Micheal and Brent are seated, with their soon-to-be fiancé , and soon-to-be ex-girlfriend, at the famous Casanostra

Micheal: “Oh yeah honey, I know it’s been a while since we have done anything this nice. Oh good, I’m glad you like it. Ok, I'll shut my phone off too, you're right too much sometimes, we definitely can use the break. My day was good, and yours?”

Brent: “Don’t worry about the price babe it’s on me tonight. I don't know, I figured it’s a little bit nicer than our usual spots. No, I don't think the food takes too long to come out here. Hehe yeah, I'm starving too.”

8:35 P.M. The entrees arrive and the carefully selected wine is poured

Brent: “Hey hun… Do you hear that, the band? It sounds like they're playing our favorite song. Oh, you didn't even notice? Completely understandable, I'm tired too. What’s too salty, the chicken? Alright, lemme call the waiter over, maybe you can get something else.”

Micheal: “Hahaha, get out, you didn't just get up and leave during a meeting, and they really didn't say anything? Who knew project development could be so fun. Oh yeah, you're right, that is Lady of the Moon. What an odd choice for this place. Yeah I like this song too.”

9:14 P.M. Dessert time

Micheal and Brent: “A slice of your chocolate cake for the both of us, thank you.”

9:17 P.M. Let them eat cake

Brent: “Hey babe why uh, why don't you slow down, there's no rush ya know. Yeah I know, it is delicious.”

Micheal: “Great choice on the chocolate cake. Probably the best thing on the menu.”

Brent: “Oh wow, you finished already? That was fast. OH NO, DID YOU EAT THE…”

Micheal: “WHOA, why'd you scream hun? Jeez, I almost jumped out of my seat. Wait, you found WHAT, in the cake?”

Brent: “OH NO! I can’t believe they would make that mistake. They gave them our…Oh sorry babe, what did you say? Yeah you're right, that is a very sweet proposal. Actually, kind of a funny story that cake was supposed to be...Oh, is that what you think? No..no you’re right, I guess marriage is way off for us too. I do like the way our relationship is going right now as well. No totally I agree, we need a place to call our own, a new car, a nice financial set up. Definitely, you’re right. We’ll wait till we’re not so busy with work stuff. Can you imagine people don’t take the time to think about these things? I hope everything works out for them.”

Micheal: “What in the world? Yeah you’re right, absolutely. This is exactly what we need, things have been rocky but I'm willing to work on it as well… So I guess, Patrica Sarah Jones, will you marry me?”

10:18 A.M. At an undisclosed location, Brent and Micheal meet for the first time after secretly ironing things out at Casanostra

Brent: “Well thank you for the money, Michael. I'm glad she likes the ring.”

Micheal: “Crazy how things worked out for the both of us huh?”

Brent: “A blessing in disguise I suppose. Either way, I'm not eating chocolate cake for a long time.”

Micheal: “You and me both, buddy.”

Short Story
1

About the Creator

James U. Rizzi

I cant wait to see what I can create here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.