Fiction logo

Mirror, signal, manoeuvre

The fictional ramblings of a driving test candidate.

By A. B.Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Image by Dayron Villaverde from Pixabay

‘You can start the engine when you are ready.’

Deep breaths, you can do this. I turn the ignition. The car starts. I check around to see if it is safe to go. Actually, no, it’s too soon. I need to find the bite first. Okay, now I check around, including the mirrors… and we are off!

‘At the car park exit, turn right’.

Mirror – signal – manoeuvre. I have a look on both sides. If I take too long the examiner might tick it as a hesitation. I got four hesitation minors last time, just missing out on a pass. It’s safe. I can go.

‘At the end of the road, turn right’.

I don’t like this junction; people drive so fast and the parking is horrendous. I bet there will be oncoming traffic too to negotiate. Yes, there is. I’m slowing down steadily. I hope I don’t stall today, I’m already so nervous!

‘At the traffic lights, turn right.’

I know where he is taking me. I’m so nervous now, my left leg is starting to feel like jelly. Calm down. Oh, good, a red light. I can relax for 2 minutes at least.

‘At the next round-about, take the third exit’.

Multi-lane roundabout. At least I have practised this one loads. Oh no, the left lane is full, right lane it is then. I’ll move over when I can. Didn’t my instructor say that would be a ‘fail’? There was no way I could safely insert in that traffic there though, I followed the signs and checked carefully. Oh well, never mind, I’ll just put this one down to experience.

‘When it is safe to do so, pull-over’.

Did I indicate too late? This seems like a good spot. I hope I am close enough to the curb. A nice slow and steady stop. Hopefully that will do it.

‘When it is safe to do so, re-join the traffic’.

Okay, checking mirrors. I think I’ll let that car go; it’s quite far but I’m not sure I’ll have time to join safely. Again, mirrors – signal – manoeuvre. It’s clear, I can go.

‘At the next junction, turn left’.

Why am I so nervous? I’ve driven down here lots of times. I should resign myself though. Two fails already. This one most likely to be too. It was just a ‘bonus’ try. I shouldn’t have agreed to try again so soon. I don't think I've done anything ‘serious’ yet. Although the examiner did look at his sheet before. Oh well, I better concentrate on what I cam doing and keep checking the mirrors. Anticipate, anticipate…

A while later…

‘At the next set of traffic lights, turn left’.

We are so close to the test centre now! It would be such a shame to make a mistake so close to the end. I know I have failed anyway; that round-about business probably wasn’t the best. It’s the ‘home-straight now’.

‘Could you reverse into one of the bays please?’

I can’t believe I just practised that manoeuvre before going into the text centre. I wonder if my driving instructor can see me now from the test centre. The angle seems just right. Oh dear, I need to make sure I check all the mirrors and blind spots. Phew! That would have been a ‘fail’. Nice! I think I’m in.

‘You can turn the engine off now’.

And breathe. I wonder how I did. The examiner did seem to look at his notes a lot.

‘So…’.

This is so intense. I am so used to seeing the disappointed look of the examiners after the test. The last time it was the manoeuvre that let me down. I nailed it this time though. My driving instructor is coming up to hear the result too. Fingers crossed.

The examiner is turning in his seat to face me. I hold my breath… Did I pass?

The end.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

A. B.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.