Fiction logo

Migrant Work

I wanted to go out on vacation to earn some money, but I didn’t expect to experience a work injury by the way

By davidPublished 2 years ago 9 min read
Like

With a "bang", blood came out, and a finger was squashed...

My heart skipped a beat, my mind went blank. Covering the wound with the other hand, he went straight to the supervisor. The workshop was in a mess, full of cardboard boxes. The supervisor was looking down to divide the work. Hearing this, he was stunned: "What did you do? Oops, it's just a few days at work, and it's gone."

He asked the thin man in a floral shirt if he had brought a piece of paper, and when he got there, he gave me one. I wrapped it, and the paper was quickly soaked with blood.

The supervisor took out his mobile phone and dialed the number, listened to it, and handed it to me like a hot hand: "You can tell the factory manager yourself."

The phone rang for a long time and no one answered. The supervisor said, "The factory manager is out to do some errands. Just wait a while. I'll take you to the hospital when I'm done."

I bared my teeth in pain, and my heart was on fire. Can I wait for this? ! I roared, "I can't wait, I'll go by myself!" The supervisor said, "Do you know where the hospital is? Go east and cross the iron bridge..."

Without looking back, I rushed to the aisle. The lights in the workshop next door were all on during the day, and a few shaking heads and big fans were humming, squeezing all the female workers, and some of them opened their mouths in shock when they saw my bloody fingers.

The sunlight outside was dazzling, and the factories were one by one on both sides of the road. The machines roared, the stereo in one store was blaring, and the sound of Phoenix Legend songs shook the roof.

A few dozen meters to the east is an old bridge. The place where pedestrians can walk is only more than one meter wide. In some places, the iron sheet is rusted and rusted. When you step on it, there is a thumping sound, which is shocking.

The Shima River under the bridge flows with black water, with thatch growing on both sides. I hurried away and suddenly remembered that I only had a dozen dollars in my pocket. The door of the dormitory I live in is broken, I dare not carry more money with me, and the bag is left at the house of the elder sister who collects the waste.

I took out my phone and dialed, and it was my niece who answered the call. When I heard my hand was crushed, I panicked and yelled at my parents, but no one answered.

I told her that it was no big deal, the bandaging cost money, and I didn't carry enough with me. I asked her to find my bag and deliver it as soon as possible!

There was a sound of flipping things on the other end of the phone. After hanging up the phone, I remembered that I only had more than 200 yuan in my bag. Fortunately, there was a bank card in it.

This is a village hospital, but the scale is not small. As soon as I entered the door, someone told me, "Go to the surgery on the first floor!"

A middle-aged male doctor in a white lab coat without buttons was busy with his work. He looked up at me and asked, "Machine rolled?"

When it was finally my turn, he opened a bottle of potion, splashed the bloody wound, and asked if I should lift the nail off or let it fall off on its own. I said, "Let it fall on its own." The middle-aged doctor stopped talking, picked up the cotton ball with tweezers, dipped it in iodine, wiped it a few times, wrapped it up, and it was done. I grinned in pain.

The middle-aged doctor sat down, tilted his head and just wrote in the notebook.

Stab it, tear it off and hand it to me and say, "Pay over there, take a film, and come back."

I sat outside and waited, when I saw my brother-in-law trotting in, and my eldest sister followed closely, looking at my fingers as soon as they met. Already wrapped, I reluctantly smiled and said nothing.

My brother-in-law went to the toll office to pay, and it was more than 300 yuan. I said, "You put it on first, and I'll give it to you later." My brother-in-law said, "Don't talk about money, as long as your hands are fine."

The X-ray room was at the west end, and a doctor with glasses asked me to put my injured finger under it, spread the other fingers apart, and put a bar code next to it, which was marked "Date: July 30, 2010". The front and the side were shot.

We went back outside and waited, and after a while the doctor called me and said, "It's broken."

Another layer was wrapped, and a small wooden board was clamped to fix it. The needle was hung up, and someone came to the factory. It wasn't the supervisor. I looked familiar, but I couldn't figure out what his job was. He looked at the results of the diagnosis and said that he would report the situation to the factory manager, and asked me to put the invoice for the treatment fee and take a few days to rest.

At noon, my sister added two dishes. We didn't speak, we ate with our heads down. Cousin-in-law Osmanthus came back after collecting the waste, and when he got out of the car, he called me and looked at my hand. I said, "It's okay, don't disturb other relatives."

My brother-in-law said that a man surnamed Zhang from a neighboring village worked in the factory in front of him. He started the machine and stretched his body to look inside the machine. I was shivering.

Lying in the dormitory of the factory in the afternoon, I was so sore that I couldn't sleep. I thought that the doctor's treatment was too easy, and I was worried that my fingers would not grow well, especially the nails. I got out of bed, took some money, and went to the doctor again.

This time it was a young doctor. He opened it and said, "Oh, it's a mess, the nails have to be removed, and the wounds have to be stitched up." I asked how much it would cost, and he said it would cost more than 200 yuan. I talked about my situation and asked if I could make it less. He said it would cost at least 100 yuan.

I was lying on the operating table. It was really painful. It was like slashing someone's chest with a glass knife.

I asked the doctor, "Can the nails grow back?" The doctor said, "If you don't come this afternoon, you will definitely regret it. Whether the nails can grow back depends on the little bit of flesh in the middle. Well, it's oozing blood, it's a good thing, I'll try my best to deal with it, and it's up to luck what it looks like."

I said, "That's good, don't worry about my pain, I can do it as I want." The doctor said, "The pain will make you unable to sleep at night for the first two days, and it will be even more painful when the stitches are removed."

When I was about to finish my treatment, a young man, sixteen or seventeen years old, was brought in from outside, with his hands wrapped and bleeding. As soon as he sat down, he lay face down on the table, with a soft, injured hand stretched out. The person who helped him in told me that it was better than mine, and that half of his index finger was cut off.

When I came out of the hospital, I felt strange, as if the whole street was unfamiliar, as if from a different world. Hearing the clanging sound of the machines in the nearby factory, my heart tensed.

well! Originally, I thought about going out during the holidays to earn some money, and also experience part-time work, but I didn’t expect to experience all the experience, and also experienced a work injury by the way.

The factory I entered is quite low-key, and it didn't even hang a name brand. I worked eleven and a half hours a day, and after a few days, my back was sore and I slept soundly at night. My insomnia for many years was cured in one fell swoop.

What I do is punching dies, and punching the buttons of mobile phones. The factory manager said that I was a novice in taking care of me, and he asked me to charge the easiest and cheapest one, and charge a penny.

The procedure is as follows: first hold the wheel with the right hand, then take a mold with the left hand, put it in, snap it, and take it out; then turn the wheel hard with the right hand, hold it, and use the air gun in the left hand to blow it clean; finally put it down Spray gun, take another mold with your left hand and put it in.

The first 3 days are counted, and the piece count begins on the 4th day. According to the calculation of 6 seconds, 600 sheets are punched in 1 hour, and 6,000 sheets are punched in 10 hours.

In other words, after 10 consecutive hours without drinking water, going to the toilet, or resting, and the machine does not have any problems, I only earn 60 yuan.

You have to keep your spirits up all the time, sloppy carelessness is the price of blood, and you didn't discuss it!

I was wandering on the street alone, in a daze, and I didn't go back until it was dark for a long time. The dormitory is on the 6th floor of the top floor. There is a mountain of garbage at the entrance. I don’t know how many years it has accumulated. Mineral water bottles, beer bottles, shampoo bottles, plastic bags, broken clothes, apple cores… There are many varieties, and a musty smell.

The smell in the room is more abundant, the smell of sweat, smoke, urine ... mixed and fermented in the sultry room.

Seeing me go back, Xiao Huang from Bobai, Guangxi, asked me how I was doing, and at the same time he held out his finger to show me that he had been beaten twice in two weeks.

I asked him how long he had taken a break before going to work. He smiled: "How come, I rolled it in the morning, and I went to work in the afternoon..."

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.