Fiction logo

Love Grows

Chapter Three

By Jade RenteriaPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
1
Love Grows
Photo by Bruno Pereira on Unsplash

Chapter Three “The Engagement”

I woke up and I had a massive headache. I also have heartache as well. I didn’t want to think about it. Went downstairs for breakfast. Willie was reading a book. He looks up and smiled. He said, “Good morning, beautiful.” I barely smiled. He looked and asked if I’m all right. I told him that I wasn’t feeling well. We walked together to the dining room. We ate our breakfast and went to our room to pack. I really need to talk with Willie. As we were leaving, Willie’s father gave me a glare. I knew what it meant. My stomach tightens. Willie smiled and wave goodbye to his father. We got in the carriage and heading back home. Thinking until I fell asleep. Love is a complication especially when you don’t know what to do. I don’t want to lose him but at the same time I don’t want to hurt him. What should I do? I don’t know what to do.

Few days had passed, I was thinking about everything. I decided that I would meet Willie and talk to him. I wrote him a telegram. I took a stroll to the lake. Willie was there. Look like he has been thinking as well. I smiled. He looks lonely and has been through a lot. He turns around and smiled. He walks toward to me. He said, “I got your telegram. Is there something wrong? You don’t look well these days. Are you resting well?” I sighed and said, “I’ve been thinking for past few days. I cannot make you suffer because of me. That is not my intention. By that being said, I cannot marry you. I’m sorry. I love you and I want you to be happy and healthy.” He frowned and said, “Lizzie, please. I love you and I will work. Nothing will replace you. You are like a gold. You are a rare creature. Please stay.” I shake my head and say, “No, Willie. Even if you work, you will have stress. You will get nothing from your father. I’m sorry. I got to go.” I turn and walk away. Tears had escaped from my eyes. It is painful but he will be happy. I couldn’t breathe. Every breath has escaped from my mouth. Tears continue to form from my eyes. I could hear him calling my name. As he continues, my heart aches. Did I make the right decision? Will I regret this?

As few weeks had passed, I still thinking about Willie. How I miss him so. But I know I have made the right decision. I may regret it now, but I won’t in the future. The pain will be gone over time. I gather downstairs for a luncheon with my parents. My father received a telegram from his good friend Charles. He opens it and clears his throat. He said, “I received a telegram from Charles. He told me that Mr. Wellington and Miss Bingley had eloped and just went on their honeymoon. Seem the young man doesn’t care about my Lizzie.” My heart dropped. I stammered and said, “Did they really eloped?” He nodded his head. I excused myself and went to my room. I wasn’t expecting this. But I knew this day would come. But I didn’t want it to come. Wasn’t ready to hear it. I know Willie have to marry her. He didn’t even talk to me. I didn’t want to care anymore. It’s giving me more pain if I think about it. I just went in for the night.

I woke up by someone. It was my mother. She brought my supper to my room. She said, “I saw how upset you were at the luncheon. I allowed you to sleep. But you need to take care of your health. Eat your supper. I will see you in the morning. Good night.” I smiled as she kisses my forehead. She is good mother. I know she loves me. I ate my supper and went back to sleep. I didn’t dream about Willie. I was too exhausted to think. I didn’t want any aching in my heart. I got up and got dressed. As I was coming downstairs, my father called me. I went to his office. He said, “Close the door. I need to talk with you.” I closed the door and sat down. He looks serious. I don’t know what was on his mind. He said, “I received a telegram from William. He said that he was sorry that you have to hear the news. He wants you to meet him at the lake today.” He paused for a moment then said, “I know you love him. But will you be all right? Will you go and meet him?” I said, “I will be all right over time. I should go over and said my goodbye. He deserves that.” He smiled and told me to go.

I ate my breakfast and head to the lake. On the way, I was thinking. What does he want to talk about? He is married now, and I cannot do anything about it. I saw Willie standing there. He turns and smiles. I will miss that smile especially his dimples. I will miss him so. He said, “I see that you had talked with your father. I sent your father a telegram because I don’t know if you would come if I sent it to you. I apologize about the news that you heard. It is not my intention.” I said, “Oh, it is all right. I told you that you could marry her. I care about your health and happiness.” He said, “Wait, you thought I got married to her? No, it is not I who got married.” I lost my words and didn’t know what to say. The telegram said his name. He said, “Yes, I know you are confused. When my mother married my father, my father had a son from a previous marriage. My brother, Frederick is the one who got married to my cousin.” There are no words that could describe what I’m feeling right now. I’m lost at words. So, he is not married. That’s mean he is open to marriage.

My first thought is why he didn’t marry her. He would lose everything. He said, “Lizzie, I know you are thinking. How could I do that if I could lose everything? After what you said to me when we met last time. It’s made me to think. I went and talked with my father. I try to reason with him. He wasn’t happy with my decision, but he can see that I love you. So, he supports my decision.” I trying to get all the words he said into my mind. How can he support himself if he won’t get the inheritance? I said, “What have you decided? How will you take care of yourself?” He smiled, as it is good news. He said, “Well, I talk with my father. He agreed as long I work for him. I will get a good sum of income. It is not much but is enough.” I nodded as he talks. Then he said, “I also talk with my father about something else. He supports me with my decision. I love you dearly. With that being said, will you marry me? Will you make me the happiest man in the world?” I stood there and I have no words. I didn’t know what to say.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Jade Renteria

”ART is something that makes you breathe with a different kind of happiness.” - Anni Albers

“Writing is hard work. But if you want to become a writer you will become one. Nothing will stop you.” - Dorothy Day

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.