Fiction logo

Love Grows

Chapter Two

By Jade RenteriaPublished 2 years ago 12 min read
1
Love Grows
Photo by Joshua Harris on Unsplash

Chapter Two “The Friendship”

I look up at the clock in my room to check the time. It is almost the time that I’m supposed to meet William. I went downstairs and head outside. The lake is few miles south from my house. As I was walking, I can see beautiful flowers buds starting to bloom. I can see the lake sparkling from the sun shining. It is a perfect day for taking a stroll. I sat down on the grass near the tree where Willie and I used to sit. I waited and saw William. The ways he stands remind me so much like Willie. I set aside my thoughts about Willie. I said, “Hello, William. I wasn’t expecting to get a telegram from you.” He shook his head and said, “Oh, you don’t want me to see you. I apologize.” I shake my head and say, “No, it’s not that. I just met you. There are no gentlemen had a real interest in me.” He looks at me and his face changes. There is something about his face. It is like he knows me except that we just met. The way he looks at me is just comforting. His face changed and he became sad. He said, “Why?” I look down and said, “Look at me. I’m old. Men like younger women. I’m twenty-four.” Then he smiled. He said, “Well, then I’m lucky to know you. You are kind and beautiful.” I smiled. He is sweet and kind gentleman. He is well mannered as well. He pardons himself and goes to his carriage. He pulled out a picnic basket.

I said, “What are you doing?” He said, “Having a picnic with you. Are you against it?” I shake my head and smile. He handed me small sandwich and glass of iced tea. He said, “I hope you don’t mind simple luncheon.” I giggled and nodded. He smiled and dimples appeared. I froze for a moment because it’s reminds me of Willie. His smile is melting my heart. I ask him if he ever in love. He said, “I did. She has most beautiful eyes. She is my everything. We even talk about getting married and have a family. But I had to go away. I haven’t seen her since. I don’t know if she still loves me.” I frowned and said, “Well, if she truly loves you. She would wait for you.” He smiled and said, “Maybe. You? Have been in love?” I nodded. I said, “I did. There was a boy that I grew up with. I know nothing about him except his name. His name is Willie. He has most beautiful blue eyes. He is in the lower class, but I didn’t care. We fell in love. But he has to leave to fight in the war. My father received a telegram that stated that he is dead. I was devastated. My whole world was gone like that. I still love him. He is only one I loved. I still think about him every day.” He frowned and said, “That is sad. True love can cause pain. I hope you find someone who you can love.” I smiled and said, “Not like I loves him. Even if I married someone else, he’ll still be in my heart.” I can see that he has good heart.

He said, “You know, you are the first girl who like me. Not for my title or money. Just for me as a person.” I said, “Really? I always believe love conquer anything. Marriage should not be based on title or money but based on love.” He smiled. I said, “You want to get married? Have a family?” He said, “Of course. I will marry someone who I love. Not for money or titles. My father wants me to marry my cousin Lady Emma Bingley. I didn’t want to, but my father commands me. It is for family title and inheritance. I’m supposed to marry her end of this month.” I said, “That is less than a month from now.” He said, “I know. I wish I could leave but I will lose everything if I leave.” I felt bad for him. We talked and the sun is setting down. We didn’t realize how fast the day goes. He brought me home. I thanked him. As time goes, I went to bed. I dream about Willie again. I just want to see him again. Even if it was once. Next few days, I got other telegram from William. The letter said…

Dear Elizabeth,

I really enjoy our luncheon recent. I would love to chat more with you. There is something that I need to talk to you about. Please meet me at the lake today. It is urgent. I will be there at three o’clock. Please come.

William

I got dressed and ate my lunch. I went outside and ran to the lake. When I got to the lake, I saw William. He looks sad. His eyes are puffy as he was crying. I said, “What’s wrong? Are you okay?” He looks up and said, “My mother just passes away last night. We are having a funeral tomorrow.” I gasped and hugged him. He holds me tight as he cried silently. He breathes heavily as he cried. I said, “Is there something else?” He said as his voice begin to shake, “Would you come with me to the funeral? It’s mean so much if you can come. I would like if you can come. I know you will care. She passed away unexpectedly. I thought she would get better.” I hugged him again. Then he walked me home. It was quiet all the way. He didn’t talk. I got to my house. He bowed and wave goodbye. He looks so sad. He must really love his mother. I felt really bad for him. It’s look like he lost everything and there was nothing left for him.

Next morning, I got dressed. William sent a carriage to my house. I got on. Arrived at the funeral, few people were there. I saw William. His head was bowing down and I can see his tears coming down. I walk over and stood next to him. I held his hand. He held my hand tight. The funeral was over, and I walked with William. He pulled me aside. He said, “I was thinking past few days. I need to talk to you. What I’m about to say is important.” I nodded. He looks so serious. He said, “My mind is not thinking clear past few days. I need to tell you something. I love you. I always have. I don’t want to lose you.” I stammered, “William, you are not thinking clear. I know your mother just died. You are grieving.” He stopped me, “NO! I love you, Lizzie. I always have.” I gasped. I said, “William.....No one called me that except my parents and Willie.” He said, “I’m Willie. I know you ever since I was young boy. I always loved you. I never stop loving you. I don’t want to lose you again.” Tears starts to form in my eyes. All of the memories of him came into my mind. I was speechless. No words came out of my mouth. I was trying to take it all in. Then I said, “Willie? But I thought you were dead! It’s can’t be. You are not Willie.” He said, “No, I’m alive. I’m here.” He took off his jacket. He starts to roll up his sleeve. I gasped as I saw something. The scar he got when he was a child. I sobbed. He held me. He said, “Remember this? I got this when we were playing as a child. Believe me now? I’m Willie.” I was loss at words. All the memories came back. I sobbed and trying to find my words. I couldn’t breathe. He kept holding me. I said, “Why didn’t you tell me earlier?” He said, “I was gone for few years. I wasn’t sure if you would wait for me.” I shouted, “I still do. Always loves you, no matter what!” He leaned and kissed me. His lips met my lips. I remember the feeling of his soft lip against mine. Sparks appear in my heart. I remember all of the feelings that I felt with him. I felt safe with him.

We held each other. I ask him what happen to him. He explained, “I got hurt and my mate brought me to the nearest town. Everyone thought I was dead. They send a telegram that stating that I’m dead. But when I got back, I told them everything. They apologized. Now I’m here with you. That’s all matters to me. I love you, Lizzie.” I said, “I love you too, Willie.” I was overjoyed. I can picture our future together. Suddenly when my mind became clear, I remember that he is engaged to his cousin. I said, “Willie, we can’t. You are getting married. We can’t do this.” He said, “I have to. I love you. I never loved anyone else except you.” I whispered, “But you will lose everything.” He whispered, “But I will have you. I will work. You are my treasure. I couldn’t bear losing you. Nothing will ever replace you, Lizzie.” I look and he starts to kneel down. I cried as he proposed to me. He said, “Lizzie, will you marry me?” I shouted, “YES!! Thousand time, I will.” We kissed. We embraced each other. He said, “I have to go. But I will see you tomorrow.” He kisses me. Tears begin to form in my eyes. Happy thoughts ran through me. I can’t believe Willie is alive.

Next morning, I went downstairs. I ate breakfast with my parents. I start humming. I was so happy, and I couldn’t control my happy self. My father said, “Lizzie, are you all, right?” I said in my dreamy voice, “Yes, Father. Oh, I can’t wait to see Willie again.” My mother gasped and said, “Lizzie, is that the young boy who died in the war?” I said, “Yes, he got injured. But he is alive now. He is Captain William Wellington. He proposed to me yesterday. I accepted.” My father looks serious and said, “Does he love you? Do you love him?” I smiled and said, “We love each other very dearly.” My father smiled. He handed me a telegram. I got other telegram from Willie.

My dear Lizzie,

I want you to come with me to meet my father. I will talk to him about our engagement. I would love to have you to meet my father. I will pick you up tomorrow at five o’clock. I love you.

Love, Willie

I said, “Willie wants me to meet his father tomorrow. Can I go, Father?” My father nodded. He kisses my forehead and heads to his office. I went upstairs and start packing. Times has pass by; Willie has come to pick me up. I carried my bags out. Willie picks them and carries it to the carriage. We got in the carriage. We held hands. Few hours later, we got passed by a big house. It is gigantic and look luxurious. Has lot of windows. The land is huge and goes for miles. There are footmen outside. There are a stable for horses and a greenhouse. I ask Willie, “How did you get rich?” He said, “My father died when I was a little. I didn’t remember him. My mother is poor, and she got remarried to my stepfather Edward Wellington. He inherits a bank and sum of income from his father. They got married when I was older. I call him my father. I took his name. My name was used to be William Charles, but I took his name since he took care of my mother. She was happy with him. My father made my general to promote me. I got injured and came back as a hero. He made me a Captain which means I have higher income than a solider.”

We got off the carriage. We walked into the house. The butler took my coat and welcomes us. Willie’s father walked in the best suit you can buy in Bath. He has many gold rings. He looks like someone important. Willie introduces me to his father. He said, “Father, this is Elizabeth Parker, my fiancée. Elizabeth, this is my father, James Wellington.” His father stood there and nodded. He doesn’t look happy. He lifts his head up and looks down at me. Willie kisses me and told me that he needs to check on something. I smiled. His father stared at me and said, “If you truly love my son then break off the engagement. He will suffer if he married you. Do you want that, do you?” Then he smirked as he walked away. I can feel tears coming out of my eyes. I can feel lumps in my throat. I couldn’t breathe. My stomach tightens. I didn’t feel so good. It’s breaking my heart. Was I wrong to marry Willie? Willie came back and looks at me, worrying. He said, “Are you all right, my dear?” I smiled and said, “Just homesick but I will be all right.” I cover the tears because I couldn’t bear to hurt Willie. I just stood there quietly. All of the thoughts and the fears ran through my head. Should I follow my heart? Should I let him go?

We gather together to dine. I was sitting across from Willie. Everything in the room is luxurious. There are many crystals glasses and gold candlesticks. There are butlers in every corner. There were so many foods in the table. Must be nice to live in an environment like this. I couldn’t remember what we were discussing about. It is a blur. All I remember was what Willie’s father said to me. Those words keep repeating in my mind. I kept thinking if I should follow my heart. I really love him, but I don’t want him to suffer because of me. Supper was done and we all went to our room to settle in. Willie kisses me good night. He whispers, “I love you, Lizzie. Forever and always. Have a good night sleep. I will see you in the morning.” I choked at his words and held my tears back. I couldn’t say anything, so I just smiled. I went in my room and shut the door. I ran to the bed and cried until I fell asleep.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Jade Renteria

”ART is something that makes you breathe with a different kind of happiness.” - Anni Albers

“Writing is hard work. But if you want to become a writer you will become one. Nothing will stop you.” - Dorothy Day

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.