Fiction logo

Love Grows

Chapter Four

By Jade RenteriaPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
1
Love Grows
Photo by Dan Meyers on Unsplash

Chapter Four “The Announcement”

I stood there and I have no words. I was speechless. I didn’t know what to say. He said, “Well?” I said, “I don’t know what to say.” He said, “Say yes. I love you. I always have.” I smiled and nodded. He hugged me and gave me the most passionate kiss. I couldn’t describe how I was feeling. I have everything I ever wanted. I don’t need anything else. I’m marrying the man who I love. I’m overjoyed. Tears begin to form in my eyes. Willie loves me. He is so considerate of me and other people. That is one of things that made me fall in love with him. He said, “Now, I am the happiest man in the world. You complete my world. Now, let go and tell your parents the good news.” I smiled. He held my hands as we walk to my house.

I shouted my mother. She came out and saw us. She came running. We told her the news. She was overjoyed then she starts crying. She said, “My Lizzie is getting married. We will have a beautiful wedding. Lizzie, go tell your father the news.” Willie got caught up with my mother. I went in the house and went to see my father. My father is sitting and reading the morning paper. I sat down and we start talking. I told him the good news. He said, “I can see he love you. But does you love him and will be happy with the life you will have?” I nodded and said, “Yes. I love him very much. We won’t live luxurious life, but we will have enough to live. He is more than enough for me. He completes my life. He is all I ever need.” He smiled and allowed our marriage. He loves me so much. He is willing to let me go. But at the same time, I can see that he misses his Lizzie. I remember spending time in his office with him when I was a little girl. He would recite poetry from his favorite poet. I miss those days. I wish those days would last longer. I look up to him when I was growing up. I love being with my father. We could spend whole day reading and writing novels and poetry in his office. My mother would call both of us to dine together. Sometimes we wanted to miss supper to continue writing or reading. We both are intelligent. He didn’t say much but he uses words from his favorite poets. I knew what he meant. He didn’t need to say much. I can see it all through all the things he did. All I care was the time with him. That was enough for me. He took care of us for years. I didn’t care about the money. He misses those days as well. I could see it on his face sometime.

As few days passed, the whole town knew about our news. My mother loves to tell people about me. I know she loves me. Willie came and we were discussing about our wedding. We just have it simple and nothing big. He left and had to go back to his father for business. He kisses me. I smiled. I cannot wait to have children and grow old with him. He is a good man. Few days passed, mother and I went shopping for a wedding dress. I looked at wedding dresses and there was nothing that I like. There are a few that I liked but it is expensive. We couldn’t afford it. So, I decided to use my mother’s wedding dress. It is simple but elegant. I know she will love it if I use her wedding dress. My wedding is only a few weeks away. I won’t see Willie until the wedding. I already miss him. Can’t wait to see him.

As my mother and I planned for the wedding, time has passed. It is my wedding day. My mother helped me to put the wedding dress on. I had a simple pearl necklace that I inherit from my grandmother. I had sunflowers as my flower bouquet. I had my best friend Heather as my maid of honor. We gather together to get on the carriage. As we are riding, I can see the wedding. It is set at Willie’s father house. He allows us to have the privilege to have a wedding on his land. We got off and my father took me aside. He whispers, “I love you, Lizzie. I know Willie will take care of you. He is a good man. Now, my little girl is getting married. I won’t see you much. I miss those days when you were a little girl.” He starts to cry. I said, “Father, I may be married but I will always be your little girl. I will always be your Lizzie. I will always be your poetry girl.” I smiled as I kiss his cheeks. I love him. He is a good husband and a father. He provided as much he could. He did more than he could. That’s one of the things that I love about him.

Finally, the moment was here and I stood at the altar. On the other side is the man I going to marry. He looks so handsome. I could see his beautiful eyes that he is nervous but happy at the same time. Heather walks down the alter. It’s came to this day when I will turn to a wife from a daughter. I look at my father and smiled. He held my arms. We walked down the alter. Many people were crying and smiling as we walked. We are at the end. My eyes met with Willie’s eyes. We smiled at each other. My father let my hands go. He has tears in his eyes. I smiled. He kisses my cheek and sits down next to my mother. As the pastor speak, I didn’t remember anything except Willie’s face. His dimples begin to appear, it’s so adorable. He looks so happy. We said our vows. As the pastor announced, “Man and wife. You may kiss the bride.” Willie leans and kisses me. I felt everything. He said, “I waited my whole life for this.”

We had wedding reception after. We ate and dance around. It was so enjoyable. We talk with our families and friends. Heather came and told me good news. She told me that she met a gentleman at the ball, and they have been talking. He just proposes to her. She said yes. I’m happy for her. Willie’s father came and started talking with me. He said, “I know we didn’t meet in good terms. I’m apologizing. Now I can see you love my son very much. He loves you too. I didn’t know if he told you this or not. When he was in the army, he told me that when he almost died, the last thing he remembers is you. He lost a lot of blood and he got a high fever. We all prayed that he would overcome the fever. He thought of you. You save his life. He really loves you. I thank you for my son. I know you will take care of him. If you ever need anything, send me a telegram. I will support you in any way I can.” I smiled and said, “Thank you. We are family now. Thank you for letting us to have our wedding here. I really appreciate it.” He smiled and said, “It is my pleasure.” As the party ended; Willie brought me to our new carriage. It was a gift from his father.

As our carriage travel, we stopped at a small cottage. I looked at Willie. I was confused. He smiled and said, “Well, when I came back from the army. I got a promotion and a sum of income. So, I brought this cottage and I fix it up. I know how you like to live near your family. It is small but big enough to have a family.” I smiled. I couldn’t believe it. He picks me up. He carried me to our new house. It has white shutter in the front. Has red front door. There are roses and daisies around the front. It’s looks so adorable. He brought me in. We went upstairs. There are few bedrooms include an office downstairs. I can picture Willie working in his office and I will be in the drawing room with my children. He is so considerate. I couldn’t believe it. I got everything I wanted. We kiss. We head to bed and we hugged. I could smell him. He smells so good. We cuddled and I love how his arms wrapped around me. I felt so safe. I’m happy with everything. I wouldn’t change a thing. Our lives are wonderful. I love it.

Few months later, I felt so different. Been feeling nauseous for past few days. Sometimes, I go to the bathroom. I even slept in sometime. So, I decided to see a doctor. I explain the doctor about my symptoms. I thought there is something wrong with me. He smiled and said, “You are not sick. You simply are carrying a child in you. Congratulations.” I was overjoyed. I thank him and leave. I couldn’t wait to tell Willie. He will be so excited. I walked home. I saw Willie outside. He was working in the front. He looks so handsome with his messy black hair. He has a dirt smudge on his cheeks. He looks so tough. I smiled and ran to him. He looks shocked. He said, “Whoa, there. You okay, Lizzie?” I smiled and nodded. I said, “I have some news. I went to the doctor.” He looks worried. I laughed. “It is good news. I swear,” I said. “I’m pregnant. You will be a father, Willie. I’m carrying a child. It is your child,” I said. He smiled as his dimples begin to appear upon his face. He picked me up. We kiss. He laughed and shouted, “I will be a father. We will have to tell our parents. I have to start setting up the baby’s room. I have to…” I interrupted him, “Willie, there are time. Take little step at a time.” He put his hands on my stomach. He said, “I can’t wait to meet her or him.” We smiled. We cannot wait to meet her or him. I couldn’t think any more that I possible want. I got everything I ever wanted. I was happy.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Jade Renteria

”ART is something that makes you breathe with a different kind of happiness.” - Anni Albers

“Writing is hard work. But if you want to become a writer you will become one. Nothing will stop you.” - Dorothy Day

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.