Fiction logo

Lost in the City

I felt around and realized I was in a trunk...

By TwylaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
3
Lost in the City
Photo by Sam Loyd on Unsplash

I don’t remember how I ended up here or even where here was. I knew my head was throbbing in pain, pitch black, and my mind was foggy. I tried to move, but I was stuck.

I felt around and realized I was in a trunk. Fear shot through me; I screamed for a few minutes, and no one responded. I rolled over, felt around the trunk, and found the taillights. I pushed at them, but they didn’t budge.

“I’m trapped in here. Can anyone hear me?” I yelled.

Panic washed over me, but I realized the car wasn’t moving. There was no noise while I sat in silence. No one came to the car.

I kicked the roof of the trunks and the lights. After what felt like an eternity, it popped open. I didn’t move to get out of the trunk. I waited, and nothing happened.

Not even the sound of wind hit my ears.

I pushed it open, jumped out, and took in my surroundings. It’s nighttime. I’m in a parking lot, with no other cars, no people, nothing. Everything is still. Tall and short buildings surrounded me, most made of glass. I’m in a city, but where is everyone? Cities are full of people no matter when it is.

Where am I?

Without thinking, I took off towards the road. There were empty cars all over the road. I realized this city was pitch black, with no lights anywhere. The only light I had was the moon.

I don’t know who I am or what happened in the city.

I patted my pockets; I found a piece of gum, two quarters, and some lint. Well, that’s just great—nothing of use.

I searched for more people. I popped the gum in my mouth after hours of walking, and the taste of cherry hit my tongue. The flavor seemed familiar.

All I found were empty buildings. I always enjoyed the quiet, but this silence was eerie. I wasn't too fond of it. I want out.

A figure shifted to my left as I turned down a new road. I swung around to see what it was, but it was gone. I sprinted off in the direction I saw the figure.

“Hello! Anyone here?” I yelled out.

Nothing…

I ended up in a parking garage. The wind has blown trash everywhere. Abandoned cars filled the parking lot, popped trunks, and opened the door. Silence.

I walked around, peering into cars to find anything of value. The sound of a glass bottle hit the ground, echoing through the parking garage. A glass bottle rolled out toward me from behind a dumpster.

I turned in the dumpster’s direction, and a girl who wasn’t any older than ten was staring at me. She had uncombed hair, worn-out clothes, and a raggedy bunny in her right hand.

“Are you okay?” I asked her, looking around.

We sat in silence for a few moments. Neither of us moved. We just stared at each other.

“Are you lost in the city of the dark, too?” She spoke.

“The city of the dark? Are you alone here?”

Without another word, she sprinted off, leaving me alone.

“Hey, wait! Don’t leave me alone!”

I sprinted after her. I could hear her footsteps, but I couldn’t see her. As I ended up in an alleyway, that dead-ended. No door. Nothing. Where could she have gone?

After walking around for a few more hours, the little girl never appeared. The sun had peaked over the buildings, hitting my face.

I looked for the tallest building in the city and headed toward it. Even in broad daylight, the city felt eerie. As I arrived at the tallest building, I climbed to the rooftop. Looking over the city, it had no end in sight. I’m lost in the city of the dark, alone.

Short Story
3

About the Creator

Twyla

Creative Writer | Currently writing my debut novel | Single mom of one handsome son | Full-time employee | Full-time college student | Love writing horror and fantasy | I write for myself and share with you guys! Hope you enjoy it. 🖤

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.