Fiction logo

LONG THAW

PENFRIEND STORY

By kayhan egeliPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like

I am really excited to meet my 'penfriend' at last. I came to know her by writing letters. She had been my paper friend last two years. It was through the Instagram. Afterwards, we wanted to be more confidential and never used any other media. Her name is PinYin, which means Rose in Chinese. She lives in Singapore with her parents. Her mother is Chinese but her father is English. She is just graduated from her University and coming over to see me in England. "It is a treat from my family," she wrote. She is also travelling with her dog Huan, meaning happiness. We only know each other from the pictures. This is the first rendezvous will be in London. Christmas is in two weeks time. Everywhere covered with Christmas illuminations, very impressive pictures all around the city. I shall be meeting her at the Pub, in Hyde Park. I arrived at the Red Lion, an hour earlier. It is on a little hill looking at the beautiful frozen pond. I could see a few people ice skating and kids are playing snowballs and one mighty big snowman in the middle of it. I am really excited about meeting with someone never met before in person. It is a freezing day and snowing. I came early to get a seat next to the fireplace.Pub has got a very big log fireplace. It is the main attraction of the place. Old fashion one, can hear the sound of wood cracking and see the flames dancing in the air while it's warming up the room. Two, Georgian style leather chairs next to the fireplace were available. I just put my coat and scarf on them to own it. I just wanted to be romantic in our first gathering. First impressions are very important, I wanted her to have an unforgettable memory. I already had two pints of beer. I can't help checking my watch, every second. I am staring at the door in case she walks in. Penfriendship may sound old fashion which it is. It is posting letters to each other. You wait for at least two weeks to hear from. She, living in the far east, sometimes it took longer. I wanted to use email first. She did not want it. I got used to waiting for letters at the end. I got the habit of looking out to the postman in case he had a letter for me. Now it was time to meet, talk, and touch her. I had a feeling, I already knew her from the things we had written to each other.

She was already late more than half an hour. I started worrying, my sixth sense telling me something was wrong. I decided to go out and have a smoke to calm me down. I left my scarf and gloves on the chairs to signal other punters, they are taken. Sharp, the cold air hit my face. I started looking around, realized the frozen pond had more people now. I saw a young girl with a dog playing around the snowman. " Is it her or my imagination? wearing a red coat and bright yellow scarf and holding a lead with the brownish dog. She looked like PinYin at her pictures," I thought. maybe the effect of the few pints of beer, I ran down the hill. When I was closed to her, put a big smile on my face and said "Hello Pin Yin, It's me, have been waiting for you in the Pub,"

She turned around slowly, had a big surprised look on her face," I am sorry, but you must have been mistaken. I am not, Hmm, what was the name you mentioned? It isn't me anyway," She said. I was shocked. It took me few minutes to pull myself together. I had made a fool of myself. In the meantime just noticed how beautiful she was. Panicking, I had to come up with something, What is your dog name, is it Huan? I said. She smiled again and had a very quick remark " What are these strange names you come up with, my dog is called Bouncy," after a little pause," I tell you what, it is a very unusual way of trying to make friends with me, I never had an experience of this kind," She said. " Well, it is simply an identity mistake, which I can explain you. Would you like to have a drink with me at the Pub?" I asked. " Red Lion is my regular, I don't mind. I am freezing, I and Bouncy can do with a little bit of warmth," she said.

When we got to the pub, " Hi Joe, had a beautiful time on the pond, great snowman I wonder who made it ?" She said. I could see, she was very well known. " You want the regular? anything for you pal! " Landlord asked. We walked to the fire. There was a lady sitting in one of the chairs with her dog laying on the floor. " Hi, can I help you? These are my seat already taken," I said. She stood up, smiling " I am Pin Yin and the Huan, Gentleman at the bar told me you have been waiting for me!"

This was the moment I felt like my world is collapsed. I didn't know what to say or do. I just stared at her and whispered," Hi, nice to meet with you at last," I said. " Come on now, pull the other chair and let's sit down, my name is Rose," said, my new friend. I pulled the chair and sat down. I had a large sip of the lager, " I am Alex, Rose, this is my penfriend PinYin and Huan her dog," I said and turn to PinYin, "I just met Rose at the pond. I thought it was you, and came back to the pub to warm up". " Well, It's a very awkward situation, let's just make the best of it. Where are you from Pin,?" Rose asked. "I am from Singapore. It took thirteen hours to arrive in England. We delayed nearly two hours. I could not find the Pub easily. Alex most probably thought I was not coming. I understand," she said. " What you mean you understand, nothing happened," I said. " I shall be honest with you, Alex's introduction of himself was so unsual, I decide to flirt with him. Now, It looks like it was a mistake but you do not need an excuse to have a good time, what are you drinking Pin I shall get the second round? asked Rose and placed the order with Joe. " My name's meaning is 'Rose' in English. My father being English chose that name for me. At least we got something common," said PinYin." I can also see, you have a dog What's its name? " " It is Bouncy," Rose said." " Your name and Bouncy are enough to make Alex confused," PinYin said. Rose stared at her "What is your occupation?" " I graduated from Law school, will start practising on my return," PinYin said. " It is another coincidence, I also practise law, " said Rose. I was listening to the conversation of these two lovely ladies.

" I always wanted to have a penfriend since my childhood but never manage to find somebody," "Did you like it, you two, I wonder. We have all these media facilities Facebook, Twitter, WhatsUp of course Instagram. You could be called Old Fashion," Rose questioned us. "Okay, I shall put it this way, the way people deal with technology is up to each individual. If you want your friendship to be shared internationally, have other people's comments on your messages, sometimes teased or bullied, be my guess. I will rather be old- fashion than futuristic. Alex and I created a very special friendship that could not happen with the present media." Pin Yin said.

I had been very quiet all the time and did not want to interfere but I could feel the tension between them. "Last two years, had been lovely the way we shared our problems, happiness and lives of our loved ones. I can highly recommend to you Rose, the pen friendship. Between the letters, you have time to think and collect more news. In the end, meeting with a person to personally get to know them, is invaluable" I said to Rose. She looked at me and stared at the Pin Yin and stood and pull up the Bouncy. "It has been lovely to meet you. Take care of yourselves," "Pin, have a nice holiday, I shall leave my address with the landlord, drop me a line sometimes. I like to get the experience of what you two had. Alex, my mobile number will be with Joe. Call me. You are a very unusual man, I like you. I hope Pin does not mind," Rose walked away.

There was a silence between me and PinYin. I did not know what to say " It must have been a long journey for Huan . You think he is okay?" just made up ." Don't worry he is okay but I am not. I think I had a big surprise last couple of hours" Pin Yin said," I need to leave soon, it has been an odd meeting between us. What I had in mind, prepared to say, or talk to you, had not happened. Maybe next time, if you travel to Singapore, we might have a better time.

She got up, went to the bar and got Rose's address and walk out with Huan. I ordered another pint to make any sense of the last two hours. I got Roses's mobile from Joe and left.

I noticed the snowman's head was broken and was resting on the frozen pond. I had a very bad day in the end.

I called Rose a few days later. " Hi nice to hear from you Alex, listen I shall be going to see Pin Yin at the end of the month. I have a penfriend now, I hope you don't mind,". I just put the mobile down.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

kayhan egeli

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.