Fiction logo

Little Brown Box

An Amazon Romance

By BriMichelle Published 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

I woke up to the chime of my phone.

There is a package for you downstairs.

I searched my mind for what I must of bought and forgot about. I mean 2020 has been a rough year and I handled it by indulging in the occasional bout of retail therapy. Okay occasional is an understatement, it's more like habitual but for the life of me I couldn't remember what I ordered. I checked my Amazon account and my last purchase was delivered last week. Umm, what did I buy?

I throw on some clothes and head downstairs to get my package. It was much smaller than the packages I usually receive. Much smaller. This tiny box wrapped in brown paper fit perfectly in the palm of my hand. I thanked the doorman and headed back up to my place staring at this little brown box, racking my mind thinking about what I could have bought that would be this tiny.

Did I buy that key chain I saw on the Tiffany's website? The Heart Tag Key Ring was a super cute sterling silver key ring that had Return to Tiffany's & Co New York engraved on it. Wait, I didn't get that! I remember Justin, my boyfriend, saying I don't need a new key chain because I was stuck in the house and couldn't go anywhere anyway. Instead I opted for the Fleur de Lis Key Pendant which was 4x the cost but totally gorgeous and totally worth it!

My thoughts about my pendent were interrupted by Justin walking up behind me. "Good Morning baby, I see you got another package" he said emphasizing the word 'another'. He always teases me about my new found covid shopping addiction. He wrapped his arms around my waist and pulled me closer leaning in to give me a good morning kiss. "I swear I didn't buy anything new" I said smiling up at him. "Before you open that why don't you join me upstairs on the roof" he said looking down at me dropping his arm to hold my hand and lead me outside.

I love our rooftop! I swear we have the best view in the city. It was the main reason we chose this apartment. We both love outside spaces and that can be hard to find in the city. Since we have to live here for Justin's work we knew we wouldn't find anything better than this unit. It's been two years and we still utilize this rooftop almost daily.

As Justin opened the door that led to the roof I was taken aback by the sight before me. Sunflowers. There had to be at least a few hundred of them. Sunflowers are my favorite flower and there are plenty of times Justin bought them for me just because but never to this level. I remember when we went for drinks, precovid of course, at PHD Terrace at Dream Midtown. I had completely fallen in love with their sunflower flower entrance way. Somehow Justin has transported their terrace to our rooftop. In the center of all the sunflowers was a beautiful table set for 2. A full spread filled with all my favorite breakfast foods had my empty stomach eagerly awaiting the first delicious morsels. With a beautiful orange and yellow glow illuminating the background as the sun kissed the morning sky, the scenery was truly something to behold.

"Wait..wh what is all of this?" I said. I know it's not our anniversary and it's not his birthday. Is it my birthday? Seriously the days have all meshed together since covid. I'm pretty sure I would have bought myself something extra nice if it was my birthday. Wait, was that what the brown box was? A gift I bought myself for my birthday?

"Is it my birthday?" I asked him. "What is today?"

"It's not your birthday. Can't a man do something nice for his lady?" He replied with that gorgeous smile of his that made me melt like putty in hands.

"How did I become this lucky? This all looks amazing" I said as I stopped to truly take in all the beauty before me.

"I'm the lucky one" he said as he led me to the table and pulled out the little brown box.

I looked at him with confused eyes.

"Open it"

I give him a sly look and take the little brown box from his hand. Unwrapping the paper to reveal a black box with a note inside. Feeling even more confused I looked at him with questioning eyes.

"Read it" he said with a nervous grin.

I take out the folded piece of paper and realize it was Amazon gift message.

If you say yes I promise you'll never have to hide a package from me and your Amazon prime membership will never be canceled. Let's work hard, have fun and make history together forever. Will you marry me?

I look from the paper to Justin who is now kneeling before me holding the most gorgeous ring a girl could ask for. And trust me, I asked for it! A 4 carat fancy light canary crushed ice cushion hybrid with a large halo and a yellow gold cup, to enhance the color.

"You used the Amazon slogan" I said between tears "only true Primers know that"

"Baby, we are one so I guess that makes me a true Primer too! So what do you say? Will you change the name on all of those packages to Mrs. Victoria Denise Long?

"Our Amazon registry is about to be lit" I smiled as more moisture escaped my eyes. "I can't wait to be Mrs. Justin Bentley Long"

Best. Package. Ever!

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

BriMichelle

Start writing... I'm a just girl who loves writing ✍🏾 hopefully you enjoy reading my work

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.